We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is located at the end of the road and exudes a wonderful feeling of remoteness. The view onto Loch Awe is inspiring, especially offering spectacular sunset. It is a vintage hotel with all the flair and charm and some drawbacks. The room (Suite) was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom (one thing we are sensitive about) was clean and well cared for. The water pressure was just about adequate. One of the features of Taychreggan is the excellent cooking. Wifi in the common areas worked well (important for the kids) although this is maybe not what you would be looking for in such a location. Service is professional and friendly. Good value for money activities. We had been guests at the hotel in 2006 and had a great experience, although we can understand some of the mixed reviews. Seven years on, 2013, the hotel is much more welcoming. We would go again.

Room Tip: Great views from the restaurant and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cravalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for one night in a Junior Suite and it was lovely. A loch view from each window, a large comfortable bed and a decanter of Sherry at hand. Each room is individual. We stayed in the old part of the hotel but the new parts seemed to be equally lovely. It really is a stunning hotel, with large candle vases lighting your way down the main entrance at night. It would make a lovely place to get married as you are right on the Loch side. DInner was superb and although you have no choice, the staff make a supreme effort on booking to ask what foods you don't like. It was stunning. You have to travel down a long single track road to reach it was worth it. It is sometimes difficult to find a member of staff but when you do they are very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely place !!

Room Tip: Invest in a Junior Suite with a Loch View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Recently returned from this hotel after three lovely days in a Junior Suite (Loch Awe Suite) aptly named. The room has a wonderful view of the loch and mountains. The room is spacious and well appointed with two chairs right by your window where you can sit and take in the memorable view with a glass of sherry, supplied in its own decanter by the hotel, a nice touch. The bathroom is huge, two sinks a huge stand-alone roll top bath and walk-in rain shower. Moulton and Brown toiletries abound. Although we ate in the hotel on each evening we only had the six course dinner on the first night, believe me it is enough, although not huge portions you felt as though you had eaten enough and of course a bottle of wine helps to wash it down. Its nice when the staff look for you to give you your own personal menu designed for the evening with your name on it, just another nice thought. We had a high tea second night as we had lunch earlier in Oban, soup (delicious) sandwiches and scones with cream and jam - heaven.The hotel serves up "bar meals" as an alternative to the fine dining and this was equally as good, we were served Rump of Beef with vegetables and fries, a sweet and cheese and biscuits and coffee if required at a reasonable price again excellent. The staff were all very friendly, Natalie who looked after us the first night and the rest highly efficient at what they do best - look after you. The general manager Fiona was always around for a friendly chat and runs the whole place very well. The hotel was very quiet when we were there most of the rooms available which was nice for us as felt pampered even more! Only downside I have to report was a problem we found with the shower ie no hot water on a couple of occasions, resulting in me having to shower in another room quite a distance from our room, inconvenient and irritating. The pipes were also making some strange noises early in morning, I reported this to Fiona who promised to have it looked at.I would report however, that because of the inconvenience to us we were offered a free drink that evening which was much appreciated. Several people mention the 7mile single track road, it is a bit daunting first time you use it and yes the locals who know it well do race along but just get into a passing place and they are happy to whip past you. Do watch out however, for the HGV's carrying logs and the local bus, we seemed to meet one of them every time we used the road! Its good fun when you get used to it. All in all the hotel is an excellent experience which I thoroughly recommend, its a remote place but tranquil with wonderful scenery to go with it, yes a bit expensive but hey you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go for a loch room if you can afford it the views are more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had been staying on Loch Awe at the Portsonachan Hotel and saw this Hotel on the opposite side of the Loch. Some other guests all of whom were like us not exactly happy with our Hotel mentioned they had driven round to inspect this Hotel and from their description it did seem like worth making a visit both to inspect , compare and be able to get a photo of our Hotel from across the Loch.

To reach the Hotel be prepared for a long drive off the main road and allow at least half an hour to get there as it is really in a very remote place. The roads are in the main well made up.

We reached the Hotel and did not see any signs of life or vehicles and the car park was empty. We were able to enter the Hotel from the Car Park and it did seem to be luxurious and all the lights were on but not a soul in sight. The tale of the Marie Celeste (The ship that sailed into harbour years ago with nobody on board).

All the Hotel rooms were open and nobody was at the reception area but finally we found a member of staf cleaning in the restaurant area and enquired whether or not afternoon tea could be provided. We were asked what we would like and he offered to see what could be done and my wife anted a specialty tea and I wanted ordinary breakfast tea and this was provided.

We then met another member of staff who must have been a duty manager or person i charge and he suggested we might prefer to take tea in he lounge and offered to light a fire for us. We declined as the room was warm enough as it was a sunny day.

We had a delightful English tea with scones and jam of course.

We asked if the Hotel was open as no other staff or guests were seen and were informed "Things are a bit quiet at the moment" Well they certainly were as we were the only people in the Hotel and it must cost a bomb to keep open.

We inquired if we could have an evening meal but informed that as they were very remote they normally needed 24 hours notice so the chef could prepare a meal. The restaurant has 2 AA rosettes so must be good. They phoned around and advised they could get us a table at another nearby Hotel for an evening meal and also recommended some other alter natives if we were heading out in the Oban direction.

We asked if we could inspect the rooms and were told to help ourselves as alkl the room doors were open. The rooms were superb, spacious and very well appointed with every luxury one would expect from a top rated hotel. They even had decanters in each room with sherry and 2 glasses (a nice touch).

We inspected all of the Hotel and spent time in the grounds and found it was very peaceful and one could almost hear a pin drop.

What a shame we were not staying here. If coming to this paert of Scotland again we would certainly want to stay here.

It is so remote that I guess this would be a place where celebrities may want to stay to get away from the crowds.

We cannot comment on sleep quality as we did not stay for a night and we did not see a swimming pool.

The other thing is getting a signal on your mobile phone may be a problme and the best place seemed to be by the Jetty alongside the Loch side itself.

Room Tip: Loch views are best and spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel last week in miserable weather. The hotel was really warm and cosy; luxurious without being pretentious. We had a great welcome from the friendly manager. Our room (a junior suite with a loch view) was lovely. Junior suite didn't mean an extra room in this instance but our room was large with the biggest super king size bed we have ever seen and a table and chairs by the window. Amazingly, waiting for us on the table was a decanter of sherry and two glasses! We had a huge bathroom with his and hers Heritage basins and a beautiful stand alone period bath plus a modern shower. Our room was spotless and was serviced twice a day. The turn down service in the evening included a good tidy up and the glasses and cups were all washed. We ate in the hotel on our second night which was quite an experience. The hotel boasts two rosettes so we expected good food but it surpassed our expectations. We were invited to the bar for delicious finger foods first and then enjoyed a five course meal followed by sweet treats and coffee in the lounge. The food was original, imaginative and perfectly cooked and delightfully served. Dinner is not cheap at £45 a head but well worth the expense. We will go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is a choice of loch view, side loch view and garden view. Rooms are in both the old part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First of all I would like to say we came across this hotel searching for wedding venues in Scotland. We live in Sydney Australia however i am Scottish and my new wife is English so we kind of knew what we wanted. So this was always going to be a gamble booking on-line without seeing it.

We put all our trust in pictures we seen and also the lengthy conversations on the phone to Fiona the Manager and David the Assistant Manager. We were quite confident that the Taychreggan Hotel - Taynuilt could deliver and provide us with the day we were looking for. We were not let down at all.

There was great communication from the team with changes we were making and suggestions from Fiona. Bearing in mind we where 9 to 11 hrs in front of the UK but somehow we always managed to speak to Fiona or David to confirm things.(take a day off :p) Fiona sent us spreadsheets weekly with changes to the day that were happening and the costs involved.

We booked out 10 rooms for our guests as it was only a small wedding. Everyone of our guests whether they were staying for 2 nights or 3 could not believe the service that was given from all members of staff and the quality of the rooms. These were ranging from Standard rooms right up to the suite that my wife and I had. (It has a massive jacuzzi which could fit a family but fortunately it was only my wife and I and our wee boy)

So I would like to personally thank all the staff at the hotel who made our wedding day very special. Fiona the manager and David were outstanding on the day as well as the friendly staff. The food was a class above the rest, a 5 course meal that could blow away any of the top chefs in the UK the taste and presentation and that's why they have the well deserved 2 rosettes on their wall from 1999 to date.

The area and the remoteness was outstanding. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone that is looking for a relaxing or romantic weekend away or even to get married in the west coast of Scotland in a serene and peaceful surrounding. The scenery and backdrop this place can offer is second to none.

Thanks again to all of you!!! we had a fantastic and memorable few days and nights!!

AMAZING!!

Yunis, Faye & Mason Lombard

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a loch facing room, beautiful rooms and also the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Found a postcard of this hotel in my Dad's affairs and he spoke of fishing on Loch Awe.
Was returning to the UK with his ashes and a visit here was part of my journey.
Very beautiful site, even with intermittent rain.
Stables on the postcard now the dining room.
David was kind enough to bring out old registers but I was unable to find my parents/Dad in them.
Food was out of this world and the presentation was amazing - artistry with food.
Comfortable room and bed.
Enjoyed meeting other guests in the bar and lounge after dinner.
Single track road in, would not want to drive this at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13margm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,555 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
669 reviews
5 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
449 reviews
17.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £90 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of Loch Awe, The Taychreggan Hotel is over 300 year old former Drovers Inn, with two AA rosettes the food is just as good as the view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing