We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful 2 night stay in this hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are comfortable, and we had one with a wonderful loch view. Food at the restaurant is excellent, and the whole hotel is very welcoming, with a lot of free space on ground floor to relax. There is even a good snooker table!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiertier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    70
    31
    23
    11
See reviews for
33
252
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Quite simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

The staff are professional, friendly and more importantly pro-active in their approach to customer service which means they always deliver the very best. I have never before felt so relaxed and assured that no matter what happens during my stay it would be taken care of.

The rooms (having stayed twice) are of the highest order in terms of quality and cleanliness. The room views are quite simply spectacular and the photos do not do the location justice. The views alone are worth the room rate.

The 5 course dinner is fantastic, prepared and served to the highest standard in a restaurant that is not stuffy and allows you to eat in, what feels, like the comfort of your own home.

In summary, this hotel must be visited if you come to Scotland. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and none compare to this.

The management and staff are a credit to their profession.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomatoandbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A two night stay as a birthday treat for me on beautiful Loch Awe with wonderful views from various points in the hotel (including the dining room) and surrounding grounds. Friendly efficient staff , with a special mention for Natalie who greeted us on arrival and took us through the reception process so well. Fiona, the manager, also excelled, taking time throughout our stay to have a chat and ensure that we were enjoying our stay. Rooms are well appointed and bed very comfortable. As for the chef, the man is clearly a master of his art. We had the set dinner on both nights and it was nothing short of fabulous. On night one I had possibly the most fantastic lamb I have ever eaten. Portions were manageable and nicely paced throughout the meal with table service efficient but unobtrusive - well done all. Remote it may be but for me that is part of the attraction and this hotel is certainly well worth the effort of getting to. It is an excellent place and I look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is located at the end of the road and exudes a wonderful feeling of remoteness. The view onto Loch Awe is inspiring, especially offering spectacular sunset. It is a vintage hotel with all the flair and charm and some drawbacks. The room (Suite) was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom (one thing we are sensitive about) was clean and well cared for. The water pressure was just about adequate. One of the features of Taychreggan is the excellent cooking. Wifi in the common areas worked well (important for the kids) although this is maybe not what you would be looking for in such a location. Service is professional and friendly. Good value for money activities. We had been guests at the hotel in 2006 and had a great experience, although we can understand some of the mixed reviews. Seven years on, 2013, the hotel is much more welcoming. We would go again.

Room Tip: Great views from the restaurant and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cravalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for one night in a Junior Suite and it was lovely. A loch view from each window, a large comfortable bed and a decanter of Sherry at hand. Each room is individual. We stayed in the old part of the hotel but the new parts seemed to be equally lovely. It really is a stunning hotel, with large candle vases lighting your way down the main entrance at night. It would make a lovely place to get married as you are right on the Loch side. DInner was superb and although you have no choice, the staff make a supreme effort on booking to ask what foods you don't like. It was stunning. You have to travel down a long single track road to reach it was worth it. It is sometimes difficult to find a member of staff but when you do they are very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely place !!

Room Tip: Invest in a Junior Suite with a Loch View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Recently returned from this hotel after three lovely days in a Junior Suite (Loch Awe Suite) aptly named. The room has a wonderful view of the loch and mountains. The room is spacious and well appointed with two chairs right by your window where you can sit and take in the memorable view with a glass of sherry, supplied in its own decanter by the hotel, a nice touch. The bathroom is huge, two sinks a huge stand-alone roll top bath and walk-in rain shower. Moulton and Brown toiletries abound. Although we ate in the hotel on each evening we only had the six course dinner on the first night, believe me it is enough, although not huge portions you felt as though you had eaten enough and of course a bottle of wine helps to wash it down. Its nice when the staff look for you to give you your own personal menu designed for the evening with your name on it, just another nice thought. We had a high tea second night as we had lunch earlier in Oban, soup (delicious) sandwiches and scones with cream and jam - heaven.The hotel serves up "bar meals" as an alternative to the fine dining and this was equally as good, we were served Rump of Beef with vegetables and fries, a sweet and cheese and biscuits and coffee if required at a reasonable price again excellent. The staff were all very friendly, Natalie who looked after us the first night and the rest highly efficient at what they do best - look after you. The general manager Fiona was always around for a friendly chat and runs the whole place very well. The hotel was very quiet when we were there most of the rooms available which was nice for us as felt pampered even more! Only downside I have to report was a problem we found with the shower ie no hot water on a couple of occasions, resulting in me having to shower in another room quite a distance from our room, inconvenient and irritating. The pipes were also making some strange noises early in morning, I reported this to Fiona who promised to have it looked at.I would report however, that because of the inconvenience to us we were offered a free drink that evening which was much appreciated. Several people mention the 7mile single track road, it is a bit daunting first time you use it and yes the locals who know it well do race along but just get into a passing place and they are happy to whip past you. Do watch out however, for the HGV's carrying logs and the local bus, we seemed to meet one of them every time we used the road! Its good fun when you get used to it. All in all the hotel is an excellent experience which I thoroughly recommend, its a remote place but tranquil with wonderful scenery to go with it, yes a bit expensive but hey you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go for a loch room if you can afford it the views are more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had been staying on Loch Awe at the Portsonachan Hotel and saw this Hotel on the opposite side of the Loch. Some other guests all of whom were like us not exactly happy with our Hotel mentioned they had driven round to inspect this Hotel and from their description it did seem like worth making a visit both to inspect , compare and be able to get a photo of our Hotel from across the Loch.

To reach the Hotel be prepared for a long drive off the main road and allow at least half an hour to get there as it is really in a very remote place. The roads are in the main well made up.

We reached the Hotel and did not see any signs of life or vehicles and the car park was empty. We were able to enter the Hotel from the Car Park and it did seem to be luxurious and all the lights were on but not a soul in sight. The tale of the Marie Celeste (The ship that sailed into harbour years ago with nobody on board).

All the Hotel rooms were open and nobody was at the reception area but finally we found a member of staf cleaning in the restaurant area and enquired whether or not afternoon tea could be provided. We were asked what we would like and he offered to see what could be done and my wife anted a specialty tea and I wanted ordinary breakfast tea and this was provided.

We then met another member of staff who must have been a duty manager or person i charge and he suggested we might prefer to take tea in he lounge and offered to light a fire for us. We declined as the room was warm enough as it was a sunny day.

We had a delightful English tea with scones and jam of course.

We asked if the Hotel was open as no other staff or guests were seen and were informed "Things are a bit quiet at the moment" Well they certainly were as we were the only people in the Hotel and it must cost a bomb to keep open.

We inquired if we could have an evening meal but informed that as they were very remote they normally needed 24 hours notice so the chef could prepare a meal. The restaurant has 2 AA rosettes so must be good. They phoned around and advised they could get us a table at another nearby Hotel for an evening meal and also recommended some other alter natives if we were heading out in the Oban direction.

We asked if we could inspect the rooms and were told to help ourselves as alkl the room doors were open. The rooms were superb, spacious and very well appointed with every luxury one would expect from a top rated hotel. They even had decanters in each room with sherry and 2 glasses (a nice touch).

We inspected all of the Hotel and spent time in the grounds and found it was very peaceful and one could almost hear a pin drop.

What a shame we were not staying here. If coming to this paert of Scotland again we would certainly want to stay here.

It is so remote that I guess this would be a place where celebrities may want to stay to get away from the crowds.

We cannot comment on sleep quality as we did not stay for a night and we did not see a swimming pool.

The other thing is getting a signal on your mobile phone may be a problme and the best place seemed to be by the Jetty alongside the Loch side itself.

Room Tip: Loch views are best and spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
13.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
6.6 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing