We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny day, fancied a drive.”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked Saturday morning for Saturday night, arrived just before sunset to stunning views across Loch awe.
checked in, taken to a cosy but not small room, lovely large bathroom, really comfortable bed.
had a couple of drinks in the bar then dressed for dinner, was told drinks canapes would be served at seven and there would be a pre dinner speaker.drinks and canapes arrived very nice start, but the speaker spoke for an hour+ far to technical and far too long especially if your last meal was a late brunch.
Dinner, six course's was fantastic, no choice's but that really didn't matter. Coffee and petit four's served in the lounge.
time for bed.
in the morning woken by the sound of water pumps a bit annoying but not unduly early but we were up and dressed and down to breakfast by 9-30, nicely cooked, plenty of hot tea and coffe at a tabl overlooking the loch.
will be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 27 if you want a long lie.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaddyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Taychreggan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a fantastic stay from the moment we arrived until we left we had a ball. We were met by Fiona who made us feel so welcome. All staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for us. Food was brilliant. This is said to be a romantic hotel and would have to agree candles and fairy light were beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for looking after us xx

Room Tip: Loch facing rooms were beautiful
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were staying locally and just wanted to have a small(ish) dinner. I rang to book and discovered that out of season they, understandably, wanted to have some warning that non residents wanted to eat. The chef offered us a quite incredible slow roasted ox cheek along with a small rib eye steak with kale. Wow! It was quite incredible! Totally unexpected! It melted in the mouth and quite honestly I could have eaten the whole thing again (not because it wasn't generous I hasten to add) I am just greedy.

I knew Taychreggan in a previous incarnation and remember it as being incredibly warm and inviting. The staff were. The interior of the bar and the dining room isn't, which is why I have not given it 5 dots ... But frankly, with food like this - who cares?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tiggeronoverdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a great destination hotel, with a wonderful restaurant and impeccable personalized service. The staff is well trained, attentive and engaged in their work. Even the housekeeping crew was delightfully friendly. There are lots of places nearby to hike: be prepared for long drives on very narrow, winding roads... All worth it for the views. Although the older rooms could use some refurbishing, the inn is well kept. The newer wing has brighter, better heated rooms, while the original building has charming rooms with iffy plumbing systems. All the decoration is very tasteful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mag921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday near the hotel.I telephoned before if we could order a meal and collect to reheat at the cottage.As a huge favour they agreed as they do not usually provide this service.The food was Michelin star quality even with instructions from chef Andrew how to re-heat as he wanted the food to be of as much as a high quality as possible .Many thanks to Fiona,Natalie as well as Andrew.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank francophileScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The loch side position is gorgeous, and our loch view room was lovely. The restaurant serves a 5 course set menu - the food was outstanding, really delicious and beautifully prepared. The staff team were really friendly and their service very good. We enjoyed some walks around the area (ask reception for some ideas) and were lucky enough to have fabulousness weather to sit by the loch with a drink or two.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTAY, General Manager at Taychreggan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

.Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for your kind words, I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought your meal was outstanding
I have passed your comments onto the chef & his team.
I’m glad that you had wonderful weather in order to take in the lovely walks we have in the surrounding areas and enjoy a drink or two by the loch side, our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed on a deal one night and paid for another night. We were in junior suite which was lovely and views from room to loch awe were simply stunning. Gorgeous weather helped no doubt. No issues with driving up single track, plenty passing places. Staff were helpful and it was an absolute pleasure to stay here. It is as close to heaven as can be. No children so very quiet. We will definitely return. Loved it. Done waterfall walk and drove around area which is well worth seeing. Food was lovely. Thankyou once again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTAY, General Manager at Taychreggan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

The Team here at Taychreggan thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments, and so glad you where able to do the waterfall walk which is very lovely at this time of year. I have passed on all your comments to all the staff.
We look forward to your return.
Many Thanks
Fiona & Team Taychreggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
661 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
13.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,791 reviews
11.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £88 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing