We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet's delight”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Duns, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet's delight”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked for the Christmas special at this inn by the side of Loch Awe. Weather was appalling on Christmas Eve, the day we arrived, which put a lot of guests off the journey. As a result, there were only four couples staying. Nonetheless, the very friendly and attentive staff treated us superbly and made our stay something special. The bedroom was great, with a great loch view and the most amazing bathroom en suite - his & hers basins, huge roll-top bathtub, separate big rose shower. Despite having had boiler problems, the hotel managed to keep us cosy and warm. The real delight was the food. Young chef Ondrej Kasan produces beautifully presented food with a wide range of subtle flavours and very interesting combinations. After each five-course repast, we rose from the table fully satisfied but never overfed, repairing to the lounge for coffee and more home-made delights. Boxing day, thankfully, was a lovely day and we enjoyed the walk along to Ardenaisaig, with spectacular views of Cruachan and the mountains round Glen Orchy. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The loch view rooms in the new wing are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    75
    35
    24
    11
See reviews for
36
262
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked Saturday morning for Saturday night, arrived just before sunset to stunning views across Loch awe.
checked in, taken to a cosy but not small room, lovely large bathroom, really comfortable bed.
had a couple of drinks in the bar then dressed for dinner, was told drinks canapes would be served at seven and there would be a pre dinner speaker.drinks and canapes arrived very nice start, but the speaker spoke for an hour+ far to technical and far too long especially if your last meal was a late brunch.
Dinner, six course's was fantastic, no choice's but that really didn't matter. Coffee and petit four's served in the lounge.
time for bed.
in the morning woken by the sound of water pumps a bit annoying but not unduly early but we were up and dressed and down to breakfast by 9-30, nicely cooked, plenty of hot tea and coffe at a tabl overlooking the loch.
will be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 27 if you want a long lie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a fantastic stay from the moment we arrived until we left we had a ball. We were met by Fiona who made us feel so welcome. All staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for us. Food was brilliant. This is said to be a romantic hotel and would have to agree candles and fairy light were beautiful. Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much for looking after us xx

Room Tip: Loch facing rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were staying locally and just wanted to have a small(ish) dinner. I rang to book and discovered that out of season they, understandably, wanted to have some warning that non residents wanted to eat. The chef offered us a quite incredible slow roasted ox cheek along with a small rib eye steak with kale. Wow! It was quite incredible! Totally unexpected! It melted in the mouth and quite honestly I could have eaten the whole thing again (not because it wasn't generous I hasten to add) I am just greedy.

I knew Taychreggan in a previous incarnation and remember it as being incredibly warm and inviting. The staff were. The interior of the bar and the dining room isn't, which is why I have not given it 5 dots ... But frankly, with food like this - who cares?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggeronoverdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washingt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This is a great destination hotel, with a wonderful restaurant and impeccable personalized service. The staff is well trained, attentive and engaged in their work. Even the housekeeping crew was delightfully friendly. There are lots of places nearby to hike: be prepared for long drives on very narrow, winding roads... All worth it for the views. Although the older rooms could use some refurbishing, the inn is well kept. The newer wing has brighter, better heated rooms, while the original building has charming rooms with iffy plumbing systems. All the decoration is very tasteful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mag921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday near the hotel.I telephoned before if we could order a meal and collect to reheat at the cottage.As a huge favour they agreed as they do not usually provide this service.The food was Michelin star quality even with instructions from chef Andrew how to re-heat as he wanted the food to be of as much as a high quality as possible .Many thanks to Fiona,Natalie as well as Andrew.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophileScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The loch side position is gorgeous, and our loch view room was lovely. The restaurant serves a 5 course set menu - the food was outstanding, really delicious and beautifully prepared. The staff team were really friendly and their service very good. We enjoyed some walks around the area (ask reception for some ideas) and were lucky enough to have fabulousness weather to sit by the loch with a drink or two.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTAY, General Manager at Taychreggan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
.Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for your kind words, I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought your meal was outstanding
I have passed your comments onto the chef & his team.
I’m glad that you had wonderful weather in order to take in the lovely walks we have in the surrounding areas and enjoy a drink or two by the loch side, our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
641 reviews
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
16.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
6.6 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Property: Taychreggan Hotel
Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing