We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Taychreggan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taychreggan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in the Taychreggan Hotel on a Groupon deal - excellent value for money for £159 for two nights this included breakfast, the room was beautiful - 4 poster bed with canopy, the bathroom was huge with a victorian bath tub, lovely shower and molten and brown toiletries. view from our window Loch Awe, perfect to wake up too. We ate from the bar menu one night and the meal was lovely too and ordered room service.
The staff were very helpful and catered to our every needs. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite with a fourposter bed with a Loch Awe view perfect for waking up too. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

After having read previous reviews my boyfriend and I were really excited about our stay here. However, we felt a little disappointed as we didn't feel like it met our expectations. Despite having had an issue before hand (confirmation email of a stay of one night instead of two) we were not concerned, but on arrival we found another mistake....they had booked us in for dinner on a different night to what we had asked....

Our room however was a stunning junior suite with amazing views, lovely bathroom and huge really comfortable bed. We weren't disappointed with the room until we noticed toe nail clippings on the carpet by the bed.

Later that evening we went down to dinner and were greeted in the bar, which compared to the lovely lounge, was an ugly room. Later we went through to the restaurant. Although the food was superb the restaurant itself lacked character and charm...another disappointing room!

The following day at breakfast we waited at least 10-15mins for anyone to arrive to take our order, although lovely and friendly once she arrived it would have been nice not to have waited so long. Luckily, following on from this we went on the target shooting activity which we could not fault, the man in charge was extremely friendly and experienced and the activity was great value for money as both my boyfriend and I took part.

That evening we ate somewhere else. On return to the hotel we wanted to get some drinks but could not find any staff to serve us...the ONE and only member of staff who seemed to be there was busy serving dinner for the other guests. We eventually gave up and went to our room.

The next morning we had the same experience at breakfast and then finally on check out found that they had not discounted us like they had said they would for pre-booking dinner and were not very apologetic for this!

On leaving we realised that all these little 'mistakes' had actually added up and made for a disappointing stay....it wasn't terrible of course, but we would not stay here again as we did not feel it was value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Taycreggan Hotel last year. We were immediately made to feel welcome and shown to our room which far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were immaculately furnished and came complete with Victorian bathtub and Molton Brown toiletries. A decanter of sherry and personalised menus were waiting for us too. The staff had previously consulted us regarding the menu to ascertain our preferences. We were given pre dinner drinks in the bar and hot home made hors d'oeuvre. Meal was fantastic and after this we retired to a drawing room complete with roaring fire, coffee and chocolates. Full sized pool table was also available. Hotel is in a fabulous peaceful setting. Will definitely go back when we can. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: loch views were definitely a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bindyandscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I booked a two night break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were treated like royalty by Fiona, Nathalie, David and the rest of the staff. Our room with the loch view was magnificent and it really is a wonderful location (even in the torrential rain) We had dinner both nights in the resteraunt which was a real treat and well worth the money! The only downside of our stay was that we had to leave early as my wife took unwell (flu!!!) However Nathalie gave her a wonderful Cinnamon and rum drink (family remedy I believe?) Which took the edge off! We will certainly 're-visit Taychreggan if not for the wonderful location or food but for the fantastic warm service we received.

Room Tip: Room 17 Great views, luxury bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Really enjoyed a weekend at this lovely hotel. We had a warm welcome from Fiona, Nathalie and David and the room was lovely, really nice bathroom too with luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. A small problem with the hot water in the shower was eventually resolved. Didn't have the tasting menu meal but had a bar supper which was one starter, one main course and one sweet from the main menu (no choice), felt the bar menu could have offered more but we enjoyed what we had nonetheless. There are plenty of things to do at the hotel, but as we just wanted to relax we opted just to sight-see and what a treat that was, some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, and the view from the hotel right down Loch Awe was stunning. Our weekend was relaxing and comfortable, the bed was adequate although I noticed that other junior suites had king size beds whilst ours was only a double bed. Breakfast was very good,, the porridge was nice and creamy and on the second morning we had smoked haddock with a poached egg which was delicious and beautifully cooked and presented All in all it was an enjoyable weekend and the hotel would be a fantastic venue for a wedding - very romantic!

Room Tip: Junior suites at the front of the hotel have a gorgeous view over Loch Awe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkerswelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend this hotel for location, service, food and comfort. It was the most peaceful and relaxing stay we've ever had in a hotel. The set evening restaurant menu was fantastic. A real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked for the Christmas special at this inn by the side of Loch Awe. Weather was appalling on Christmas Eve, the day we arrived, which put a lot of guests off the journey. As a result, there were only four couples staying. Nonetheless, the very friendly and attentive staff treated us superbly and made our stay something special. The bedroom was great, with a great loch view and the most amazing bathroom en suite - his & hers basins, huge roll-top bathtub, separate big rose shower. Despite having had boiler problems, the hotel managed to keep us cosy and warm. The real delight was the food. Young chef Ondrej Kasan produces beautifully presented food with a wide range of subtle flavours and very interesting combinations. After each five-course repast, we rose from the table fully satisfied but never overfed, repairing to the lounge for coffee and more home-made delights. Boxing day, thankfully, was a lovely day and we enjoyed the walk along to Ardenaisaig, with spectacular views of Cruachan and the mountains round Glen Orchy. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The loch view rooms in the new wing are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
8.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,555 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
669 reviews
11.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
12.1 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
449 reviews
17.3 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taychreggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taychreggan Hotel

Address: By Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £90 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taychreggan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of Loch Awe, The Taychreggan Hotel is over 300 year old former Drovers Inn, with two AA rosettes the food is just as good as the view! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taychreggan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taychreggan Hotel Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing