We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Taychreggan Hotel(Kilchrenan)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilchrenan Inn(Kilchrenan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
419
135
73
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
135
73
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomloch awesingle track roadtasting menuboat houserose cottagedining roomoff the beaten trackromantic hotelhot water bottlesfaded grandeurloch viewwalled gardenhand held showercountry housepassing placespublic rooms
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a good hotel in a scenic location. It is remote and it has a single track road to it which adds to the charm. The owners clearly have no idea about interior design. First thing you see at the hotel is gold painted doors leading into a Rangers blue hall with a bizarre reception desk arrangement. Corridors are painted one colour with some interesting art none of the period features such as skirtings', facings , cornicing and dado rails etc. are picked out in white as you would expect. Our room was very comfortable with a fairly basic bathroom for a suite.

The building has a very strange layout with no signs for directions to rooms or reception you need to follow the marks in the walls from previous guests cases .

Overall the hotel pays little attention to detail and serves the kind of breakfast you would get a Faulty Towers in the 70 s. Again the dining room is painted one colour to look as dull as possible.

I think the hotel should make a small investment in an interior designer or at least a Farrow and Ball paint chart as most of the builings charm has been obscured.

This could be a magical place !

Room Tip: check pictures first or you might not get much sleep
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thetruuuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having read glowing reviews we booked a one night stay there Septrmber 2012.
What a disappointment! Poor reception from whom we supposed to be the manager. Showed us to our room, spoke very little and made us feel like unwelcome guests to a house party!
Comfortable if somewhat dilapidated room, nice view. Dinner was tasting menu with just about enough to taste. Very very disappointing though staff were very helpful and friendly.
The gentleman who received us never appeared again though he was not much missed!
Hotel in beautiful setting but not worth the long journey up 4th rate road.
Definitely once bitten twice shy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I received a midweek booking as a gift from the family and on trying to confirm a date I encountered an entirely disinterested answering service that I had to contact twice to try and find out whether the date we wanted was free. No doubt the location is the major attraction of this hotel, as while reviews I read indicated a " Luxury Hotel" I found it fell short of the mark. The room was very nice and comfortable however, the garden view we expected was one window looking into a grassed area and the other a not very attractive courtyard. The set non-negotiable gourmet meal costing £50 was an event we did not take advantage of however, I did have a bottle of beer which at a cost £5.50 was certainly taking advantage of the remote location. I found this a very pretentious hotel and considering the cost not good value for money. Very disappointing visit which we will not elaborate on to the family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has managed to combine a very clever balance between providing the quality and setting that you would expect from a five star hotel - but really making the experience relaxing, friendly and informal. The staff are all excellent, the food sumptuous and the attention to detail is to a very high standard. There is a friendly atmosphere, you feel genuinely welcome and the hotel is dog friendly.
We have stayed in more luxurious rooms in other hotels but this experience was one of the most memorable. We hope to return one day and hope that James and his colleagues in the dining room are all still there.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms have a fabulous view but they come at a £50 per night supplement
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

this is a fantastic place to go and hide from all. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff is very polite and helpful. The grounds and gardens around the hotel are well maintained and if you stay for long enough there you may feel you are in a different era. The only down side is that the room and bathroom we stayed in needed a bit of updating. other than that a great hotel if you dont mind driving for about 30 minutes in a single lane road :)

Room Tip: The Nevis room was good but needed some updating in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bourbouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews