We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Collaig House Luxury B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2011

From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome. We were shown the beautifully scenic breakfast room. Our bedroom was ultra comfortable, large and well equipped and next door was a stunning bathroom. Breakfast was truly 5 star. Altogether the best b and b we have stayed in. Julie is an excellent hostess and we very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashfordh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

A fantastic B&B. The bedroom and facilities are great. Probably the most comfortable bed we stayed in on our two week tour. Julie provided a warm welcome and a great breakfast. A superb location. Thanks Julie & Jamie

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at Collaige House on the Monday and Tuesday of the high winds and rain, we eventually arrived at the front door soaking wet and miserable, Julie opened the door and invited us in soaking wet as we were, relieved us of our wet things and announced that the lovely smell was our dinner. After we rececovered with a shower and dry cloths, we went down for our dinner which was superb, three delicous courses, cooked by Julie.

Our very comfortable room overlooked the loch and mountains, will will certainly return, hopefully in the dry weather. Thank you Julie and Jamie for making us so very welcome. We will return.
Janice and Howard Peacock

Room Tip: Good views from both bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Thanks for the warm welcome, lovely breakfast, Collaig house is a splendid base to tour the area. I may be back to put an offer in when I win the lottery.

Regards Karen / David / Katie

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed at Collaig house while on photographic course (loch Vision).
The quality of accomadation was super but what made the break memorable was the lovely owners and the fabulous food, both breakfast and evening meal. The extra mile was given with tea and scones on arrival and extra early breakfasts to fit in with our course.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellewirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a sensational B&B - I have stayed in four star hotels where the service was no where near as good! It is in a beautiful location, with wonderful facilities. Strongly recommend that you book an evening meal with them at least for the first night, as it is at least a half hour drive to find somewhere to eat......also the evening meals that are provided are absolutely superb! I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent with valley views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfcaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We cannot praise Julie and Jamie enough for their care, hospitality and friendliness!!! They made us feel SO very welcome even inviting us to the "Hog Roast" they were hosting the week-end we were there, and what lovely people we met! So very friendly.

They are both 101% percent committed to providing extra-special accommodation and food and knowledge about all that can be done in the area! Breakfast was served in a wonderful airy bright room with wonderful views and lots of wild birds..oh and don't forget the resident woodpecker! Lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal oh and don't forget the home cured bacon and sausages from organic happy home grown pigs...also the free range chickens! A real feast for the senses in every way.

The en suite bedroom was quite luxurious, with lovely soft towels, organic toiletries and crisp clean bedding....oh and you get a very good night's sleep too thrown in! Lovely view of the Loch from the bedroom with terraced garden ...The whole place is testimony to the skill and talents of them both!

If you are looking for peace and quiet and tranquility then this is the place to come! You couldn't wish for better hosts!

If you favour the great outdoors like we do then there is lots to do and see in the area...i.e.,climbing in Glen Coe...or maybe just walking, visiting the Island of Seil with Easdale, the latter is most interesting: no cars on Easdale! Also the Island of Kerrera, just off the coast near Oban is a gem, totally unspoilt, no roads just a track around the Island, with magnificent views across to Mull!

This is a real treasure...you have to see it and experience it to believe it! The perfect honeymoon place if you like to be outdoors with lots of peace and quiet thrown in!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krystynakorsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
0.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roineabhal Country House
Roineabhal Country House
#2 of 4 in Kilchrenan
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardtorna B&B
Ardtorna B&B
#1 of 3 in Barcaldine
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cladich House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collaig House Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaig House Luxury B&B

Address: Kilchrenan PA35 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £93 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for luxury accommodation in Scotland, and the warmest of welcomes, then come to Collaig House. Whilst absorbing the peace & tranquility you can enjoy the views of Ben Cruachan and Loch Awe from our garden terraces. This is a perfect base for activities such as walking, biking, canoeing & fishing. There are endless opportunities for the wild life enthusiast to spot Ospreys & Eagles and a paradise for photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Collaig House Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaig House Luxury B&B Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing