We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - should be 5 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Collaig House Luxury B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Irvine, Ayrshire
1 review
“Highly recommended - should be 5 stars!”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Only stayed with Julie and Jamie for 1 night but were made to feel very welcome, like going from home to home. The house is fantastic, very modern, clean and all I can say is that I wish I had the same welcome in every place that I stayed.
Only small downside is the distance they are off the beaten track, but the view and location more than makes up for this once you get there.

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerr_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Spent 3 nights at Collaig House. The views are Scotland at its best. Julie and Jamie are perfect hosts- warm, friendly and welcoming. The work they have done on the house is beautiful. Everything is of the highest quality. Lovely bedroom with view to the loch, high quality linen and the most comfortable bed. Our bathroom was seperate but totally private. Again, beautiful and with underfloor heating (very welcome in Scotland in the rain!), quality toiletries and big towels. Excellent breakfasts with the best black pudding, locally smoked salmon and eggs from their chickens. Maps and dvd s to borrow, advice about where to go. Jamie showed us round the adjacent lodge which sleeps 6 and is almost finished. Stunning. It's 5 * all the way. Collaig House is a winner. Thanks to you both for a lovely 3 nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gc_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

What a lovely relaxing place. We were welcomed very warmly by Julie on our arrival. Enjoyed her cooking . Homemade bread mmmmmmmmm! Fresh eggs with that golden color that only comes from free range eggs. A very peaceful quiet place to let the world pass you by. Room was immaculate and airy, with views to die for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Collaig House has been expertly modernized by Jamie and Julie. Rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms well-appointed and breakfasts delicious. Our hosts were very friendly and flexible. Our only nit pick would be the lack of a sitting area since we rented both rooms and would have liked to have a place to relax with our friends.

Location is somewhat remote, a few miles down a single-track road, but there are great views over Loch Awe. There are very few eating options nearby, so be prepared to drive some distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Jamie and Julie make you feel part of the family from the moment you arrive. This B&B has clearly been recently re-furbished from top to bottom and no expense has been spared. The rooms and decor are contemporary and are in stark comparison to some really basic places that I've stayed in other parts of Scotland for the same price. Julie is also an accomplished Cook. We stayed for 4 nights with the kids who loved playing with the dog, feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs for breakfast! Unfortunately we were just too early for the lambing, and missed the piglets which were due to arrive any day! Julie was never short of ideas for things to do. The best of which was a Sea-Fari from the Isle of Siel. Without her local knowledge we'd have missed some of the best outings in the area. Having said that, couples without children would also love the place. I expect as more people discover this gem, you will need to book well in advance. We'll almost certainly return again soon. Thank you Jamie and Julie for being such excellent hosts and providing us all with a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshire_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilchrenan Inn
Kilchrenan Inn
#1 of 4 in Kilchrenan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roineabhal Country House
Roineabhal Country House
#3 of 4 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collaig House Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaig House Luxury B&B

Property: Collaig House Luxury B&B
Address: Kilchrenan PA35 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for luxury accommodation in Scotland, and the warmest of welcomes, then come to Collaig House. Whilst absorbing the peace & tranquility you can enjoy the views of Ben Cruachan and Loch Awe from our garden terraces. This is a perfect base for activities such as walking, biking, canoeing & fishing. There are endless opportunities for the wild life enthusiast to spot Ospreys & Eagles and a paradise for photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Collaig House Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaig House Luxury B&B Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing