We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent secluded B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Collaig House Luxury B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Excellent B&B with friendly hosts providing high quality service and accommodation. Secluded setting providing beautiful surroundings and spectacular views of nearby Loch Awe. Takes approximately 30 minutes to get to Oban but was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Collaig House Luxury B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

We booked one night b&b last minute and Julie and Jamie very kindly let us stay in the Byre which was perfect for us! Their hospitality was outstanding, the house is stunning in every aspect, beautiful breakfast, homemade cake, gorgeous dog, lovely views - one of the best places we have ever stayed and we have incredibly high expectations! We wished we had been able to stay longer, and look forward to going back again. It's high praise to say that it was faultless, but it genuinely was. Thanks both, for a wonderful stay. Catherine and Stephen

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We travelled to Kilchrenan for a family wedding and stumbled upon this little gem. Even in the bleak weather experienced the week end before Christmas - Collaig House exuded warmth and hospitality. There are two hotels nearby, which are high priced and supposedly 4/5 star. Trust me, this place is THE place to stay. Our room at Collaig was far superior to those that the wedding guests were staying in. Julie and Jamie have it right - the most comfy bed folllwed by an amazing breakfast. We cannot thank you enough for taking us to the Church on the day of the wedding and also driving us back from the hotel later that evening - who else would extend such kindness? A great big thank you and wishing you more many happy guests.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegsSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Our 2 night midweek stay was great from start to finish. collaig house is a ten minute drive from the main road at taynuilt. Sitting on top of a knoll, the house has great views of Loch Awe. We arrived at 7pm and were warmly greeted by julie with a pot of tea. We stayed in the double room with en-suite. A warm house and comfy bed with quality linen meant a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good. We took the option to have a meal cooked on our second night which meant once we got back to the house after our day out we were in for the night. As expected dinner was excellent! If you need an excuse to visit, there is a wildlife photography experience day run just 20 minutes walk from collaig house. Google 'loch visions' and you should find it. Great fun and no SLR experience required! In summary, collaig house provides a perfect stay in this secluded and beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culzean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I certainly agree with all of the other reviewers so far - Collaig House is to be highly recomended if you are coming to this part of Scotland.

Julie and Jamie are fantastic hosts and the standard of accommodation and breakfast was absolutely superb. We only planned to stay one night, but decided to stay a second it was so impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Only stayed with Julie and Jamie for 1 night but were made to feel very welcome, like going from home to home. The house is fantastic, very modern, clean and all I can say is that I wish I had the same welcome in every place that I stayed.
Only small downside is the distance they are off the beaten track, but the view and location more than makes up for this once you get there.

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerr_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Spent 3 nights at Collaig House. The views are Scotland at its best. Julie and Jamie are perfect hosts- warm, friendly and welcoming. The work they have done on the house is beautiful. Everything is of the highest quality. Lovely bedroom with view to the loch, high quality linen and the most comfortable bed. Our bathroom was seperate but totally private. Again, beautiful and with underfloor heating (very welcome in Scotland in the rain!), quality toiletries and big towels. Excellent breakfasts with the best black pudding, locally smoked salmon and eggs from their chickens. Maps and dvd s to borrow, advice about where to go. Jamie showed us round the adjacent lodge which sleeps 6 and is almost finished. Stunning. It's 5 * all the way. Collaig House is a winner. Thanks to you both for a lovely 3 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gc_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilchrenan hotels
0.0 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roineabhal Country House
Roineabhal Country House
#2 of 4 in Kilchrenan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cladich House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Collaig House Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collaig House Luxury B&B

Address: Kilchrenan PA35 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for luxury accommodation in Scotland, and the warmest of welcomes, then come to Collaig House. Whilst absorbing the peace & tranquility you can enjoy the views of Ben Cruachan and Loch Awe from our garden terraces. This is a perfect base for activities such as walking, biking, canoeing & fishing. There are endless opportunities for the wild life enthusiast to spot Ospreys & Eagles and a paradise for photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Collaig House Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collaig House Luxury B&B Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing