We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B par excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roineabhal Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

One word sums it up - superb. The hosts were like old friends and the staff kind and chatty. It was just like a home-from-home. Set in a fantastic location - wish I lived there - with the burn flowing beside the house. Oh and lovely dog and cat, MacDuff and Murphy, to complete the picture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have recently returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful guest house.From the moment I arrived I was treated more like a familly visitor than a paying guest.The welcome was so friendly,firstly from Lord Macduff ,the owners familly dog,an Italian spinone, and then the owners Maria and Roger.
Roineabhal is set in beautiful gardens with a little stream,burn ,running at the bottom of the garden.My room was spotless and the en-suite facilities were superb.
The next morning came my first breakfast.Not only was the choice immense but the standard of the food and the size of the portions puts most hotels to shame.The two young ladies who work for Maria are very good.Like the owners ,nothing was too much trouble for them and everything is done with a smile.
If I was to give Roineabhal a mark out of ten then I would probably give it "eleven" as I enjoyed it so much.The only criticism I have is I had to leave to return home.Seriously though would be happy to recommend this fine establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I think Roineabhal is one of those places that you wont ever forget. The location is convenient and marvellous if you are thinking about relaxing and enjoying the nature and peacefull. Just three cosy bedthrooms furnished with a very good taste, a lot of details that make you feel like at home. A vey warm atmosphere and excellent food. All you need to spend some unforgetable days in one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland, near of one of the largest lochs in Scotland (Loch Awe) Ovan, just from ten minutes by car or bus, is a nice town on the west coast, where you can enjoy sightseeing and eating good fish! It is also a perfect place to visit the west coast and Isles Hibrides, one of the most remothic ans spectacular places I have never been.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criscampillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at Rioneabhal for 4 nights and we were very satisfied. The country house is beautiful, furnished with taste. Maria and Roger were very nice, and there were 2 girls helping them, also very nice persons. The breakfast was exquisite! Best salmon we ever had! And the porridge was just as great as described.
The rooms are rather small, but they are cozy and very nicely furnished. The bed linen was of very good quality and the bed was really comfortable.
There are lots of nice places you can visit in the surroundings. The locations is good, but it is quite some journey to get there. The roads are pretty narrow and after it gets dars, it can be quite a challange to get there. But the area is really nice, so if you don't mind driving, it is worth to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Although it was a brief stay of only 1 night, I was made very welcome by the lovely hosts that are Roger & Maria. Lovely accommodation in an amazing part of Scotland made all the better with their warm hospitality and cracking smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast!!! Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannaethinkofaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Maria and Roger made us feel like part of their family, nothing was too much trouble. A wonderful stay and delicious food in a lovely part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hove1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Wonderful place and wonderful hosts

What more can you ask?

We shall return!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blandorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilchrenan hotels
1.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
669 reviews
0 mi away
Collaig House Luxury B&B
Collaig House Luxury B&B
#4 of 4 in Kilchrenan
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilchrenan Inn
Kilchrenan Inn
#1 of 4 in Kilchrenan
72 reviews
0 mi away
Cladich House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roineabhal Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roineabhal Country House

Address: Kilchrenan | Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £106 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roineabhal Country House - a luxurious retreat of original character set in the magical Glens of West Argyll. Situated on the scenic shores of Loch Awe. Offering much more than bed and breakfast in superior guest house accommodation and the best of Scottish/Continental fare. Roger, Maria & family will ensure a unique short break experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roineabhal Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roineabhal Country House Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing