We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing & peaceful retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roineabhal Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roineabhal Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A relaxing & peaceful retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I with our two dogs spent 6 nights with Maria and Roger in their relaxing and cosy country home. We were aiming to get away from it all and we did just that. We had a wonderful time.

We were made to feel at home. Each morning we had a great breakfast and Maria gave us some excellent ideas on where to visit. Wonderful walks for the dogs. Delicious food - the oysters at Loch Leven Seafood Cafe were very special!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    6
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
41
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We can't put our finger on why we found this a bit dissappointing. We should probably add that we had just got married in the Lake District and had 70 guests with us for 5 days. This was the start of our honeymoon and our first 2 nights effectively on our own as a married couple. We were elated, very emotional, and very tired by the time we arrived. From previous reviews we had read, and for the price we paid this was the one place we were possibly looking forward to staying at most on our honeymoon. Unfortunately it turned out to be the most disappointing. Firstly because we were the only ones there and felt like we were imposing, but it was also a dramatic come down from the amazing 5 days we had just had.

Good points - Lovely, very secluded location. Fantastic breakfast but portions way too big, and felt Roger was a little condescending if we didn't finish it all. Maria very welcoming and is a fountain of knowledge when it comes to recommending where to go, what to and weather etc. Conan and McDuff (resident cat and dog) very welcoming. Rooms very clean and well presented. Lovely sound of the stream as you go to sleep. Lovely fire in the common lounge. Great base to explore Argyll and Bute.

Bad points - Maria was very friendly, but she had a very bad cold when we arrived and by her own admission wasn't her usual self. Roger we felt was less friendly and made us feel like we were imposing as his wife was ill, and we were the only guests staying. We booked dinner for 2 nights when we made our original booking, the night we arrived and the next night. However, on our 1st morning Roger asked us to find somewhere else to eat due to Maria being ill, and us being the only couple there. This is easier said than done when you are not given much notice and you are in such a secluded location. We spent most of the day sight seeing, looking for somewhere to eat and ended up in a fairly grotty cafe, instead of the luxurious meal we had booked for. There was no sign of the whisky by the fire that was promised on their website and mentioned in other reviews, and the "friendly hospitality" was lacking somewhat in our experience. The one evening meal we did have was delicious, but again we had the same experience with the portion sizes and being made to feel guily when we didn't finish it all. Also my wife has a copy of an email sent saying she had a nut allergy, but all courses contained nuts!! Fortunately it is not a severe allergy and she was able to pick them out.

Overall, we would love to say this is a fantastic place to stay because in a lot of respects it is and could have been. But unfortunately for us it was a big let down, and certain aspects as mentioned above made us feel unwelcome, as though we were imposing and that we were more of an inconvenience to them. Considering this is one of the more expensive B+B's you will find in Scotland, we felt that was just unacceptable. The place itself, the location and the rooms we could not fault, it was just the overall atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimandLucyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful house and our room was lovely. Nice toiletries, tea (incl. tea pot!), comfortable bed etc. Some really great touches, e.g. fresh flowers in the room, homebaked shortbread (best I've ever tasted).
Breakfast was superb with a choice of full Scottish, eggs, fantastic porridge or locally smoked kippers (yum!). We had dinner one night and it was one of the best we had during our whole honeymoon - although there was too much of it for us, but you can't please everyone when it come to quantity.
Lovely garden with lots of fresh produce and a gorgeous stream running by.
The people who run it are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Macduff, the resident dog and the cat are charming. Log fires on chilly nights, lots of board games.
It's a beautiful area, there are some great walks nearby. I would highly recomment a boat trip on Loch Etive, the mountain views were spectacular as was the wildlife (seals, sea otters, birds of prey, etc)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earlythirtieslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

After 2,5 hours drive from Edinburgh on a rainy Sunday we arrived at Roineabhal B&B and felt at home from the first moment on.
The country house offers a feeling of well-being and comfort. Roger and Maria seem to be well-known relatives of the kind one always loves to visit. We guess, they send McDuff (an 18 months old Italian Spinone) and Conan, their Burmese tomcat first to check whether the new guests are acceptable or not. This procedure warrants that only nice guests stay at Roineabhal for longer.
Maria is an excellent cook (you should arrange at least one dinner during your stay), full of good ideas for day trips and she knows how to cure a bad cold over night with a secret whisky recipe - you cannot imagine a better host.
Magda, who was giving her a hand at the time of our stay, served a delicious breakfast every morning and was a perfect match for the team. Maria's homemade porridge even convinced my girl-friend (before, she did not even want to taste it!)
Seemingly located in the middle of nowhere, Kilchrenan emerges to be a good basis to discover Oban, Kilmartin, Glencoe, the Mull of Kintyre and many other places of interest. Should you plan any trips, ask Maria whether your plans will match with the wheather of the day - she knows better than TV or radio!
For us, it was the best way to discover the Highlands for the first time and should we one day return we will definitely stay with the Soep's. After 7 days at Roineabhal it is quite difficult to leave.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph_und_Isa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

We were welcomed with tea and home cooked fruit cake was delicious.Made to feel very welcome by all, hosts Maria and Roger, Magda who worked for them and MacDuff and Coldin their lovely pets.Our room was spotless, with the sound of the burn to send you to sleep in the comfy bed.
Breakfast was vast and delicious as was our evening meal, we are now converted to fish stew and will request it the next time we stay!!
We where given lots of ideas of places to visit and walks to take which were all appreciated.
We loved the location, and got used to the windy road by the end of the weekend!!
The best bit was the deer that our hosts arranged to visit the garden whilst we were having breakfast on our last morning!!
Overall we had a lovely weekend and felt like we had made been treated as though we were friends staying and not paying guests, we would highly recommend Roineabhal House to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrowcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Our stay at Roineabhal was a present, and designed to provide accomodation while we went to the Loch Visions photography Course nearby.As beginners we were apprehensive, and so after a long wet drive from Edinburgh, we were delighted to be given a warm and friendly welcome to Maria and Roger's relaxed family home.The decor,both antique and contemporary, combined with personalities Conan and Macduff,told us that this visit would be more than ok.
Our bedroom was cosy,containing all we needed,and we slept to the accompaniment of the sounds of the river rushing full spate through the garden.
The meals were perfect;gracefully served,and thoughtfully presented in the charming fireside dining room.
As for the photography,we highly recommend the experience, especially the picnic lunch.
We really hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

We found this treasure while travelling round Argyll. Such a welcoming house, with the lovely aroma of home-made bread when we arrived - (tasted as good as it smelled!). It's the perfect place for relaxing in front of a log fire with a glass of whisky after a splendid dinner. We'll be back in the summer to do the many beautiful walks. The scenery from the bedroom windows is absolutely stunning - especialy in the snow. Maria's cooking is amazing - great ingredients - vegetables from her garden - and beautifully put-together menus. But the breakfasts! After you swear that you won't eat again, we tucked into the full Scottish - with the wonderful toast. Great place and lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
3.4 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
10.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
5.3 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
12.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roineabhal Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roineabhal Country House

Property: Roineabhal Country House
Address: Kilchrenan | Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roineabhal Country House - a luxurious retreat of original character set in the magical Glens of West Argyll. Situated on the scenic shores of Loch Awe. Offering much more than bed and breakfast in superior guest house accommodation and the best of Scottish/Continental fare. Roger, Maria & family will ensure a unique short break experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roineabhal Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roineabhal Country House Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing