We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, peaceful retreat, food and hospitality of the highest quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roineabhal Country House
Ranked #2 of 4 Kilchrenan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We first visited Roineabhal in June 07 on honeymoon, arriving tired but excited. This time around, our first trip without young family, was the same experience. Roger and Maria have a great family house in a tucked away corner of Scotland. It is set in idyllic and peaceful grounds. Both Maria and Roger were extremely welcoming and hospitable to us throughout both of our stays. Maria's cooking is superb and we enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners. Local walks and attractions filled the days and relaxed us from our usually hectic lives. We will definitely return whenever we can for some more essential R&R.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Roineabhal Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

Roineabhal is tucked away about 6 miles from the main 'A' road and is excellent for a relaxed trip sightseeing around Argyll.

The rooms were lovely, Maria & roger clearly pride themselves in providing a quality service and this is reflected in the rooms. Spotlessly clean, high quality bedding and acessories, and fantastic bathroom products.

We had booked a meal for the first evening and weren't dissappointed, I have eaten out in many great hotels and restaurants and Maria's food would not be out of place in any of them. Perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned and generous portions.
Then the opportunity to retire by the open fire and relax, you couldn't get much better.
Breakfast was fantastic a good selection of ceral, fruit / yoghurt and the cooked breakfast is a must - again the quality of produce was plain to see.

We had no fixed agenda for our time in Argyll but Maria was very helpful and provided lots of advice and suggestions for what we could do - especially important when the weather wasn't being particularly kind - we ended up on a bit of a road trip and took the opportunity to try the food at the George as Maria had suggested which did not dissappoint either.

All in all a great stay in a lovely house with great hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifeDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stumbled on Roineabhal by accident and whow what a find! Set in the most beautiful location we couldn't have asked for a more perfect break from the stress of city life. The house was wonderful, Maria's food was as good as any restaurant and she made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Roger spent ages with us planning a route for an accent of our first Monro - spectacular!
My husband spends much of his working life travelling the globe but says that Roineabhal will now be one of his favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IncaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

For my boyfriends birthday I booked a 2 night stay at Roineabhal Country House (summer 2009) hoping for a relaxing break where we could enjoy each others company and a little luxury in beautiful surroundings. The place itself was indeed in a lovely spot, wonderfully cosy, beautiful garden with a running stream and cosy bedrooms. We also loved the dog, Macduff and the cat Conrad (wonderful characters) who made us feel welcome and provided lots of entertainment. On the other hand we found Maria quite rude at times and on a number of occassions she made us feel like we were putting her out simply by being there.

An example would be on arrival / on booking we had not booked in for dinner and we had asked early evening on the day of arrival (around 5pm) if it would be possible to book in for dinner later that evening explaining that if this was too late to book we would happily find a bar meal or a restaurant else where. This was met with a stroppy response from Maria who said we could of mentioned this sooner and how it would cause her a huge hassle to add us in. A simple "sorry - it's too late to book dinner for this evening" would of been fine but we were made to feel inconsiderate and really putting her out. Unfortunately from then on we felt pretty uncomfortable in the place.

While we were there another couple had arrived to stay but after encountering Maria had left a couple of hours later without staying the night.

I will admit the food was great and the house itself was lovely but I wouldnt go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hmcphail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My wife and I with our two dogs spent 6 nights with Maria and Roger in their relaxing and cosy country home. We were aiming to get away from it all and we did just that. We had a wonderful time.

We were made to feel at home. Each morning we had a great breakfast and Maria gave us some excellent ideas on where to visit. Wonderful walks for the dogs. Delicious food - the oysters at Loch Leven Seafood Cafe were very special!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We can't put our finger on why we found this a bit dissappointing. We should probably add that we had just got married in the Lake District and had 70 guests with us for 5 days. This was the start of our honeymoon and our first 2 nights effectively on our own as a married couple. We were elated, very emotional, and very tired by the time we arrived. From previous reviews we had read, and for the price we paid this was the one place we were possibly looking forward to staying at most on our honeymoon. Unfortunately it turned out to be the most disappointing. Firstly because we were the only ones there and felt like we were imposing, but it was also a dramatic come down from the amazing 5 days we had just had.

Good points - Lovely, very secluded location. Fantastic breakfast but portions way too big, and felt Roger was a little condescending if we didn't finish it all. Maria very welcoming and is a fountain of knowledge when it comes to recommending where to go, what to and weather etc. Conan and McDuff (resident cat and dog) very welcoming. Rooms very clean and well presented. Lovely sound of the stream as you go to sleep. Lovely fire in the common lounge. Great base to explore Argyll and Bute.

Bad points - Maria was very friendly, but she had a very bad cold when we arrived and by her own admission wasn't her usual self. Roger we felt was less friendly and made us feel like we were imposing as his wife was ill, and we were the only guests staying. We booked dinner for 2 nights when we made our original booking, the night we arrived and the next night. However, on our 1st morning Roger asked us to find somewhere else to eat due to Maria being ill, and us being the only couple there. This is easier said than done when you are not given much notice and you are in such a secluded location. We spent most of the day sight seeing, looking for somewhere to eat and ended up in a fairly grotty cafe, instead of the luxurious meal we had booked for. There was no sign of the whisky by the fire that was promised on their website and mentioned in other reviews, and the "friendly hospitality" was lacking somewhat in our experience. The one evening meal we did have was delicious, but again we had the same experience with the portion sizes and being made to feel guily when we didn't finish it all. Also my wife has a copy of an email sent saying she had a nut allergy, but all courses contained nuts!! Fortunately it is not a severe allergy and she was able to pick them out.

Overall, we would love to say this is a fantastic place to stay because in a lot of respects it is and could have been. But unfortunately for us it was a big let down, and certain aspects as mentioned above made us feel unwelcome, as though we were imposing and that we were more of an inconvenience to them. Considering this is one of the more expensive B+B's you will find in Scotland, we felt that was just unacceptable. The place itself, the location and the rooms we could not fault, it was just the overall atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TimandLucyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Beautiful house and our room was lovely. Nice toiletries, tea (incl. tea pot!), comfortable bed etc. Some really great touches, e.g. fresh flowers in the room, homebaked shortbread (best I've ever tasted).
Breakfast was superb with a choice of full Scottish, eggs, fantastic porridge or locally smoked kippers (yum!). We had dinner one night and it was one of the best we had during our whole honeymoon - although there was too much of it for us, but you can't please everyone when it come to quantity.
Lovely garden with lots of fresh produce and a gorgeous stream running by.
The people who run it are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Macduff, the resident dog and the cat are charming. Log fires on chilly nights, lots of board games.
It's a beautiful area, there are some great walks nearby. I would highly recomment a boat trip on Loch Etive, the mountain views were spectacular as was the wildlife (seals, sea otters, birds of prey, etc)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlythirtieslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilchrenan
1.3 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
377 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,476 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
12.1 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
12.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roineabhal Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roineabhal Country House

Address: Kilchrenan | Taynuilt, Kilchrenan PA35 1HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilchrenan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilchrenan
Price Range: £102 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Roineabhal Country House - a luxurious retreat of original character set in the magical Glens of West Argyll. Situated on the scenic shores of Loch Awe. Offering much more than bed and breakfast in superior guest house accommodation and the best of Scottish/Continental fare. Roger, Maria & family will ensure a unique short break experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roineabhal Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roineabhal Country House Kilchrenan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing