We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome wedding”
Review of Kilfinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilfinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome wedding”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Went to a friend's wedding which was held in the local chappel (75metres away). It was a lovely weekend centred around the authentic (back) bar. Had two fantastic meals in the restuarant- the hosts couldn't have done enough for us. We had the family room which was very well appointed. Loved the stuffed bear on the landing!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skygotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the course of the last two years leading to our wedding being held here in September of this year.
I had no intention of reviewing the hotel as we quite like the idea that we had found somewhere that was both peaceful and perfect the way it is so the thought of returning to find "tourists" here was off putting.
The beauty of Trip advisor is that all reviews are only one persons opinion until something is written that does not appear to give a balanced view, so here are our experinces of what to expect exactly as it is.
The hotel is run by Helen and Andrew with their family and Madelon, they are attentive to the guests needs and their local knowledge is worth seeking as you travel around the area during your stay.
The hotel is old and the rooms are individually decorated so that on each visit staying in a different room can be like staying in a different hotel. The rooms are all comfortable and clean and retain the character that is fitting of a property which is hundreds of years old.
The choice of food for breakfast is excellent and caters for all tastes and sets you up for the day.
I would highly recommend eating in the hotel during your stay and do not be put off if some of the menu has sold out. All the dishes are prepared to order so if your favourite has run out on one day then Helen and Andrew will be pleased to pre-book your meal for you the following day. To ensure the food is fresh and where ever possible locally produced it would be impossible to have all items at all times.
If your idea of a "nice hotel" is one of the larger multi national chains then you may want to try somewhere different like this hotel where your custom will never be taken for granted and the enjoyment of your stay will matter as much to your hosts as yourself.
If you have any queries about this hotel or the facilities please contact me and I will help the best I can.
Enjoy your stay half as much as we do and you will return time after time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank garethandjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had a recent stay here for several nights, and it was excellent, from the very warm welcome and attention to all our requirements to the very comfortable and well appointed rooms, and excellent food and bar.
The setting is a delight and the peace and tranquility recommended it was great to "switch off" for a while and really relax. There is plenty to do with lovely walks and stunning scenery all round. Madelon was wonderful and really made us feel at home, she is so caring and helpful and ensured our stay was perfect.
The friendly dogs jess and her daughter were a delight, as were the hens which provided wonderful eggs for the delicious breakfasts, one even had chickens duringour stay.
I will certainly make a return visit to this shangri la and would have no hesitation in recommending it as a first class place to Tay for those wanting a real retreat from the hustle and bustle. Well done to Helen and Andrew whose hard work and dedication make the Kilfinan a really special place.

Room Tip: We chose the "haunted" room but sadly no ghostly appearances!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_lee093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked a night here for our anniversary via late rooms. What a find. A lovely cosy hotel with excellent food. The staff were so helpful and friendly and made the stay special. The hotel is "old-fashioned" in a good way - tartan carpet on the stairs, bear on the landing(!) and hens in the back garden.
We booked a standard room but would definitely upgrade this for a loch view room next time. Plus we had a room over the kitchen or dining room so some noise filtered up (we were in room no 7)
If you are looking for ultra modern and high tech then this isn't for you but if you are after peace, quiet and relaxation then go.
No TV or wifi (or mobile reception) but plenty of fresh air, whisky and good food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippytoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Excellent welcome, excellent rooms We enjoyed our stay here but if we had one reservation it would be on the food. We chose the continental breakfast which was 1 croissant, and very small portions fruit juice and tiny pots of jam & marmalade. There was no mention of the cheese & ham or fresh yogurt. I feel there are two sides to every coin, one being the accomodation and the other the food, sorry but you let the hotel down by your miserly attitude to the food.
It's the little things which make the difference.
We had dinner both nights and on both occasions many of the items on the menu were unavailable which was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kemp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We chose the Kilfinan Hotel from the Trip Advisor reviews and were delighted with our experience. We selected their best room (the Tignabruaich) which was a good size, with a huge and comfortable bed and lots of creature comforts. The food was consistently good over the three days of our stay and everyone was very pleasant. We didn't know the Cowal peninsula beforehand but would certainly recommend it as a good get away from it all (including your mobile and e-mails) location. Now if they could control the weather as well......

Room Tip: The Tignabruaich is worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastLothianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This 'off the beaten track' hotel is well worth the journey just to experience the unique ambience and to quickly forget the urban grind and recharge the batteries
Nothing is too much for Madelon who will go out of her way to ensure that your visit is something very special.
Dinner was excellent and the rest of the evening spent in the bar with fellow guests and owners Andrew and Helen was what Scottish hospitality should aspire to.
Well done, Kilfinan. We promise to return............................soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ealasaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfinan
4.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
475 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
282 reviews
20.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,453 reviews
6.7 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilfinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilfinan Hotel

Property: Kilfinan Hotel
Address: | on the Otter Estate, Kilfinan PA21 2AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilfinan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilfinan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilfinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilfinan Hotel Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing