We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely remote location”
Review of Kilfinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilfinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Reviewed 23 August 2014

As usual we booked, uh, the day before or later and not much was available till we stumbled on this place. Not really centrally located for day trips it does not matter as it is stunning just the drive to get there.
Hotel is nice, fod is good, the best blood sausage starter I ever had and a nice salad, all tasty.
Rooms are good, enough space, bit basic but for just a night sleep suficient. Don't count on much in the way of internet or tv. The bar is noce though, good selection of drinks, cosy, fireplace!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had a lovely stay here for 3 nights. Very relaxing and a great base to explore the surrounding area. Room was very comfortable and clean. Lack of TV and phone signal gives you a bit of a detox. Dinner on the first night was, if being honest, a bit dry but the breakfast is outstanding and based on this gave dinner another try on our last night, and it was great. The owners are very welcoming and no hotel should be without a Madelon, she does a fantastic job. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bluechilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The friendliest hotel in Scotland. Cosy bar, fire lit to ensure we keep warm, the staff kept us amused with tales of the area and the characters around! Worth seeking out as it is of the beaten track, not far from Tighnabruaich

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A very pleasant surprise to come accross this fine comfy wee hotel with an interesting history on Argyll's secret coast.

A genuinely warm welcome with a smile and an extensive range of whiskies!

Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful break in this area I would really recommend this hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and certainly go that extra mile to make their guests feel welcome. The meals were also excellent and the room was very comfortable. The surrounding area is also extremely pleasant. We really enjoyed our stay and getting away from our everyday lives...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HMThompson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August. We had the family suite, which was 2 rooms with a shared bathroom, for 2 nights, and then 2 separate rooms for 1 night. All the rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. The food was great. What was best about the hotel however was the peaceful location (particularly obvious when sitting on the back terrace looking at the wild garden) and the very friendly welcome from Helen and Madelon. It is a bit of a trek to get to but well worth it. And the history of the place is fascinating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have more light and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in the Kilfinan hotel in August for 3 nights, its a small rural hotel and we were made to feel so welcome by the owner Helen, and Maddie who looks after the front of house. We were meeting up with Family who were staying across the road in Kilfinan House. We had a great family room which was clean, bright and comfortable and recently refurbished. This consisted of 2 spacious rooms with a shared bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic, freshly cooked to order and a pleasant change from the major hotels buffet style breakfast. We had dinner on two nights one of them being a family gathering of 21 people, We were seated in the function room and Helen who does all the cooking, Maddie and young Sophie pulled out all the stops by providing a fantastic meal using locally sourced ingredients. Kilfinan Hotel is an hour from Dunoon on narrow country roads and is somewhere to get away from the rush of modern living. There is limited wi-fi and mobile phone reception so the teens will have withdrawal symptoms but you will receive great hospitality! Thanks for a great break!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tauras50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfinan
4.8 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
478 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
9.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
454 reviews
20.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,499 reviews
6.7 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilfinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilfinan Hotel

Address: | on the Otter Estate, Kilfinan PA21 2AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilfinan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Price Range: £108 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilfinan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilfinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilfinan Hotel Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing