We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding At Kilfinan”
Review of Kilfinan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilfinan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
scotland
1 review
“Wedding At Kilfinan”
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We got married in March, 2008 at Kilfinan having returned to the hotel as it was the setting for our first date. Andrew and Helen literally did everything possible to make it perfect and it was. The setting is romantic and isolated and all of our guests were thrilled by it. A few of them have made their way back which says it all. The food is out of this world (try the languoustines) and the atmosphere v. different. Definitely worth getting off the beaten track to find this place. For anyone who wants a wedding with a difference and a personal touch this is it. It feels as if you have taken over a country house for the weekend, we just wish we had been snowed in. Even although it is quite far from civilization the hotel were able to provide all we needed fora wedding i.e. hairdressers, beauticians, florists etc, all top class. Will never forget it.

Fiona and Kenny Craig
Married at Kilfinan Church on 8.3.08

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank kennyandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    20
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I attended a wedding at the Kilfinan Hotel with my wife and two young children in August.

The Hotel and setting is idyllic, standing next to the small 13th Century Kilfinan Church where the service took place, it really couldn't have been better situated.

The whole experience was superb, the fine cuisine, impressive marquee, friendly and efficient service, they seemed to get everything right.

We stayed in the Hotel for an extra couple of nights following the wedding, and experienced the same high standards throughout our stay.

Following our evening meal we enjoyed relaxing by the open fire in the cosy hotel bar, ready for the long morning walks we enjoyed in the surrounding area.

We will certainly be going back!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliver40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

If you want to disappear from the rat race, this is the place to stay. No mobile phone signal & TV reception is poor. But what you get in return sure makes up for it. We couldn't find any faults during our stay & would highly recommend a break here. Genuine warm welcome from Madelon. A, spacious room which was immaculate & tastefully decorated. (Superior No. 11) & the little touches made the difference. The food was very tasty & well presented. The location is perfect for any itinerary & the scenery is beautiful. All of the staff were very helpful & freindly. If your lucky, there is evening entertainment provided by the two "English Locals" Bodgit & Scarper, who also provide a range of services, see notice board!!!!!! Andrew (the owner) is a Hartlepool supporter, but don't let this put you off. We hope to visit again next year. Andrew & Helen deserve an award for the high standards provided.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2007

It is difficult not to over enthuse. We stayed at the Kilfinan for three nights in early November. The hotel is situated in a natural dip and surrounded by trees, a stream running along the back of the Hotel through a small wooded valley with views to Lough Fyne beyond.

It does take some getting to as it is very remote. DO NOT let that put you off. If it is peace, quiet, long quiet walks and good service you are after then the journey will be worth it.

The hotel is well maintained, spotlessly clean with a delightfully intimate dining room and two small, cosy bars. Breakfast is not to be missed and I recommend you have a go at the Kilfinan Breakfast, although it is not for the light eater. Dinner is at what ever time you like and I have yet to recover from the Lough Fyne Scallops. I have never had the like and would have no problems travelling back just for them. The Fillet comes a very close second.

There is a refreshingly relaxed atmosphere and dogs are welcomed, which is always a good sign.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank inf0rmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Used Trip Advisor to locate this small traditional hotel. Very very quiet location in a tremendously attractive area. Comfortable hotel, nice cosy bars and good food. Well located to explore both the Cowal Peninsula and Kintyre (via the Portavadie / Tarbert Ferry). Although the roads are narrow, they're very quiet and take you through some fantastic scenery. Well worth a stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing Really
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

My Husband and I stayed at the Kilfinan Hotel for 4 days over New Year 2006/2007. We met up with some friends here and had a wonderful time. We received a warm welcome from the owners Andrew & Helen and will definately be returning in the summer.

The rooms were very clean and well equiped (hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities etc) and are all en suite.

We enjoyed some excellent meals over the course of our stay and i was very plesantly suprised at the amount of choice and the variation on the menu with Vegetarians also being well catered for.

They have a lovely bar with a real fire and a huge selection of Whisky and on New Years Eve they had a ceilidh which everyone joined in with. At midnight we headed out to the small church next door to hear the bells ring as Andrew & Helen handed out a choice of Whisky or Champagne, & Haggis, Neeps and Tatties to us all!

The hotel is in a remote setting which has beautiful scenery and its only a short car journey to the shops if you really need one. I only wish the weather had been slightly better so that we could have got out and done a little more walking but we'll cover that part in our summer trip.

This place is well worth a visit and i can honestly say i had one of the best New Years i've ever had here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2007

We spent 3 days over New Year with kids, to include New Year's Eve. Nothing about our time spent there could be faulted. The hotel is a fantastic retreat for anyone wanting to unwind. The hospitality shown by the hosts, Andrew, Helen and family, who took over the hotel 6 months ago, was simply superb. Nothing was too much effort and the food, in particular, was excellent, particularly the fresh oysters and scallops from nearby Loch Fyne.

New Year's Eve itself was a superb night, which included an excellent evening meal followed by a Ceilidh with the locals and then champagne, haggis, neeps and tatties at midnight.

We will definitely return and as soon as we possibly can.

  • Liked — The owners' hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Book now!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilfinan
4.9 mi away
The Royal an Lochan
The Royal an Lochan
#1 of 2 in Tighnabruaich
472 reviews
6.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.7 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
317 reviews
6.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
137 reviews
20.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilfinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilfinan Hotel

Property: Kilfinan Hotel
Address: | on the Otter Estate, Kilfinan PA21 2AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilfinan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilfinan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilfinan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilfinan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilfinan Hotel Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing