We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
101
21
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
21
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace and quiet off the beaten track genuine hospitality cowal peninsula separate rooms owners and staff base for touring single track tartan carpet lovely lunch secret place charming hotel birthday treat local seafood log fire following morning family room
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

We have just come back from three nights at this lovely hotel. Loved everthing about it: Location, rooms, staff, breakfast all fantastic. Madaline has to be the hardest working woman I have ever met! Nothing was too much trouble for her and she had the most infectious smile. Our room (no. 1) was very comfortable and very clean. Lovely walks nearby and although the road is single track we loved the challenge of driving! Plenty of lovely restaurants nearby to try out local seafood. We will definitely be back .... soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The staff at the hotel are warm and friendly. Rooms were spacious clean and comfortable. We stayed to do the trek out to the site were once stood our Clan Castle and the Hotel was the nearest point to start and very helpful with some history and directions.
They do seem to allow pets so be careful of small yapping dogs in the room next door.
Food was average and on the whole the hotel is expensive in comparison to others around Scotland but this is probably because there is no other choice in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure no little dogs in the room next door
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scotjo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights in this very friendly and comfortable hotel. Simple room with no TV (bliss). Great breakfasts and very good dinners. All staff were very welcoming, and helpful with local information and suggestions for things to do. A great base for scenic walks on the Argyll coast.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank anonguest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This hotel is a retreat from city life where my friends and I were warmly welcomed by Madelon.

The rooms are so quaint, comfortable and spotless and the food is delicious.

If you're looking for somewhere to unwind with no mobile reception and only bird song
to listen to this is the perfect place for you.

Congratulations to granny Madelon on the birth of her first granddaughter.

Room Tip: All rooms are on first floor
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxylady830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Welcomed most graciously by owner, who met us at the door and assisted with luggage. She identified early on that I suffered from LI. The room and main rooms were comfortable and welcoming. Dinner was a mostpleasant experience because the owner provided me with Lactose free butter. Fir that she gets 11/10!
The bed was Scottish large and the mattress exarcibated my back issues. It was beautifully quiet. There are no TVs and that aspect was a great feature . The dinner was very tasty and the breakfast was exceptional. Car parking immediately opposite. Driving there, don't take either if the two signposts for Kilfinan. Follow the road to Tignabruich and drive from there to Kilfinan. You will meet single track roads there but they are much less scary than either of the two signposted routes as above. Those two also utilise single track systems but the number of passing places are less frequent than the Tugnabruich recommended route. I would recommend this hotel as base for touring the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandonbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews