We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Jacobite train”
Review of Blackwater Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackwater Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location for access to Fort William. Amenities were clean and well thought through for campers, those using the hostel and those hiring a lodge. Lodges were ideal size with kettle, small fridge and microwave. Although it was a roasting hot day when we stayed and getting to sleep was unbearable. The fan helped for some of it however it was a restless night. Would definitely stay there again as great value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Brilliant for a visit to the Scottish highlands. We used this as a stop off on route to Fort William and it was ideal. Good facilities and friendly atmosphere made it a very pleasant stay. I plan to visit again in August.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife, step daughter and me had a fantastic time staying in one of the micro lodges which were well equipped, clean and comfortable. The shower block and toilets are also clean and well maintained. Also the kitchen in the hostel was ideal with plenty of tables. We only used it for breakfast as we ate out at local pubs a short walk away.

We walked a section of the West Highland Way and had a great time.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and we would recommend this site to anyone.

Can't wait to visit again in the near future.

Alasdair.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alasdair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just back from blackwater hostel 18/07/2014 stayed in hobbit for four nights,excellent clean facilities in hobbit it was also very well equipped,hostel warden Callum was very welcoming and very helpful,would highly recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here last week,staff was pleasent enough on checkin,but didnt see any other member of staff in the 2 days. The beds (if you to call it like that) were the most unconfortable beds i ever have to sleep on in my whole life,have to put the duvet under me to been able to have a few hours sleep,and this is not just me but the other people in the room did the same.Location was good though so was value.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were a group of seven trekking along the west highland way.
The hostel was very good. The staff were exceptionally helpful
and courteous. Excellent facilities and great location. Right next to the
westhighland way but also a short walk in town.
my only negative comment is the matresses are too soft - hurt my back.
The Ice factor next door is great - good hiking merchandise - great place to
buy the item you have lost/ forgot plus nice little cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cocagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in a microlodge. Facilities for all campers/lodges were excellent. Pub, chip shop and co-op (open late), within 3 minutes walk. Very pretty by the river, and a pretty little village. All in all a good choice!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.5 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
507 reviews
8.9 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
183 reviews
9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
6.9 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
9.1 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwater Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwater Hostel

Address: Lab Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kinlochleven
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwater Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blackwater Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwater Hostel Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing