We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After spending 4 nights self catering on the Isle of Skye, I was looking forward to having a two night hotel break to end my Scottish holiday. I was greeted with a shabby dated hotel. The manageress was nice. Very attentive but the hotel itself needs a total revamp. It's not a 3 star I'm afraid. The room was dirty, full of cobwebs and the shower was useless. Hot then cold or not at all! Room service non existent. Better more luxurious hotel in Glencoe for the same nightly rate. Won't be staying here again. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

This comment has been left by the fiancee of Delwyn, who left a comment on January 3rd.
We have responded to those comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I don't know if this hotel is under new management or what, but it probably ranks as one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. The Hotel is tired and dated, and needs a bit of TLC. This could have been looked past and might have been seen as Character, had the rest of it been any good. The room we had was OK at first glance, with the exception of the hanging cobwebs and the plumbing for the shower going from scalding hot to freezing cold to turning off all on its own. The location is great for exploring the hills around Glencoe. This, I'm afraid, is the only positive. The maid service never happened. We left our wet towels on the bathroom floor; we were out all day walking on the West Highland Way, only to find the same wet towels on the floor when we got back in the evening. The quilt was in a heap on the bed where we had left it, and it was obvious that no one had been near the room in our absence. The food was terrible, both me and my fiancé left early the second morning avoiding breakfast and paying for one at the Green Welly because the previous mornings offering was so bad. The hotel has potential to be great, but sadly it currently isn't. The tariff is comparable to several other hotels in the area, that’s where the comparison ends. What we got for the money was probably worth less than half of the cost we were charged. I will certainly never stay there again, and could not recommend it to anyone else. There's a campsite up the road, you'd be better off there.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Delwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Had you raised any of the issues with us at the time, we could have made our best efforts to correct them. The first inkling I had to your discontent was your trip advisor review.

You stayed with us on New Year's Eve. The next day when I did see you, I explained that the housekeeper did not clean your room because, according to her, someone appeared to be sleeping in the bed when she went in. She did not want to disturb you.

On the final morning, you came in to the dining room and had orange juice. I asked you if you wanted breakfast. You told me you didn't have time for breakfast. At no point did you tell me that you hadn't enjoyed the breakfast or that you were having trouble with the shower.

We pride ourselves in attending to our guests needs wherever possible. We regret not having the opportunity to address these issues while you were in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked our stay via a wow her deal for 1 night with breakfast and an ice factor experience! Had an amazing weekend and a really warm,friendly reception when we arrived! Hotel has a stunning location and was pretty reluctant to leave on the Sunday!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sopher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed in 1 of the cabins for 2 nights one of them being the stormiest night in the last decade!! We have enjoyed 2 extremely cosy and comfortable nights here!! The hosts made us feel very welcome and were accomodating with our dog!! We enjoyed 2 nights in the bar with great food and beers!! Thanks for having us
Matt and Andy

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank andrewinman1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I spent 4 days here in November on my own and felt very welcome indeed. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable, and above all were very friendly. The place itself is well located at the head of the loch with great views looking along it to mountains on either side. I ate here every morning and night and felt no desire to go and try anywhere else in town. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: the bothies offer unrivalled value for money if you are looking for cheap private accommodation.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeride_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thanks for your comments. It was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff excellent facilities the breackfast is exactly what you need before you set off again not a bad word to say against this place would highly reccomend staying in this fine establishment

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thanks very much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent venue to visit the local area, Bar food is good and well stocked bar
Biker friendly and some great roads nearby .
Sleeping bags can rented cheap which is handy saves carrying them with you
Camping and rooms available also

Room Tip: The cabins are a little small for 4 large adults best to rent 2
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigralphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
314 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Nevis Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: £82 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing