We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in Kinlochleven at the Macdonald hotel the staff were friendly and always happy to help. Walking distance from the Ice Factor and many great walks to choose from around the Mamore hills for view of Loch Leven.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxx06_09_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks James - we're glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Macdonald Hotel while walking the West Highland Way in November. Macdonald had an excellent quiet location, amiable staff and great breakfast options. I want to give a special thank you to the owners for dropping off my phone charger at Fort William when I had so foolishly left it in my room! They certainly did not have to do that, but that goes to show you what sort of people run this place! An attached bar and dinner service were provided, which I did not take advantage of (I'm a poor drinker at best), but I imagine many would enjoy it. Very good value for money here and I recommend it to travelers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I visited the Macdonald Hotel in March and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located just next to Loch Leven, and is surrounded by mountains which are both stunning and easily accessible on foot. The atmosphere is relaxed - a much needed breather from London. I set off to walk in the mountain range behind the hotel alone but the hotel owners were genuinely concerned that I was heading up without a map (a little foolishly) and offered me theirs for the day. A very nice touch which goes to show their genuine interest in their guests' stay. The room I stayed in was very comfortable, and I definitely slept well. I'd recommend a stay here, and intend to go back in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks Niall, we hope to see you back here soon - and thanks for sending the link to your photographs which are stunning!
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was walking the West Highland way last week. Rooms are warm and there is plenty of hot water which is key after a day on the hills. New owners are super friendly, nothing is a problem. I think it's the only place to be in Kinlochleven. I will definitely be back. Comfortable beds, delicious dinner breakfast and packed lunch. A gem along the West Highland Way. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are warm clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks Will, it was our pleasure and we hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights this weekend during our walking trip and had a really great stay. The rooms were warm and comfortable, with plenty of hot water after a days walking. The new owners were very hospitable, we had a good chat about what to see & do in the local area as we sampled a wee dram (or two) from the selection of whiskies in the well stocked bar. Couldn't fault the hearty breakfasts with generous portions all cooked to order. The views from the bar looking down the loch were stunning, shame about the weather, not that it spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks Graham, we look forward to having you back to sample a few more drams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Me and my partner ate here a number of weeks ago, we were the only ones in, we both ordered the chicken which came out uncooked in the middle,(not good with chicken!) we had to send back, Nice view from bar area, Stuart behind bar kept us entertained, owners were there but didn't seem to care and avoided us about the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GGUKracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

You and your partner ate here last week, the week after New Year. You both had chicken and your partner's was pink in the middle. Stuart took it back to the kitchen immediately where it was remedied - freshly plated. Of course it shouldn't be pink but there was no question about making it right.
I popped into the bar as Stuart was removing the plate.. You know Stuart as you used to be the barman here and now work in a hotel about 7 miles away;. As you were chatting in a familiar manner, I did not need to interrupt. I knew you were well taken care of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been walking in the mountains here for 20 years and always use the Macdonald (we refer to it as big Macs) We called in today and were delighted to find new owners and a new chef.The food has always been value for money, but the food from the new chef is superb and ,needs to be experienced. try the Chicken and broccoli in a parmesan sauce served in a crepe or the cajun chicken which was moist and full of flavour with just enough spice for me, served with the house sauvignon blanc at 12.90 a bottle the whole meal was excellent. We found the owners and the staff friendly and attentive and would heartily recommend this very nice traditional Scottish Hotel, we have enough stainless steel and glass hotels elsewhere, Keep up the good work

Room Tip: The views from here are all good but ask for South and West facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janneke L, Owner at The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much! You are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
8.5 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
178 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
9.3 mi away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
685 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins

Address: Fort William Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochleven
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MacDonald Hotel and Cabins in Kinlochleven is at the head of Loch Leven with breathtaking views. Ideally situated for those walking the West Highland Way, along with other walks in the area. Mark and I took the hotel over on 17th January 2014 and appreciate all of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but look forward to receiving our own. We have seen the feedback on Breakfast times and this will be addressed! Thanks and we look forward to welcoming you. Helen & Mark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel Kinlochleven
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing