We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True highland hospitality”
Review of Highland Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Getaway
Ranked #5 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True highland hospitality”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was by far our best hotel on WHW. Stayed two nights met some nice people, ate great food and enjoyed kinlochleven. Rooms were exceptionally well appointed and clean.
Try the curry, chicken stuffed with haggis and great lentil soup( yes Hugh does it all)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Great review and we are very grateful for your kind comments. We are so pleased when our guest enjoy the whole experience and our beautiful natural surroundings. Hugh continues to do a bit of everything and as you noted it keeps him busy (but he loves it).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    50
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
69
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Pubs tend to be for beer and pub food----not a term of endearment. This restaurant was the best on WHW. Best service and best food. Great rooms. Great price. Herb salmon. Spicy curry. Homemade pastries and desserts. Yes, the beer is cold as well

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wdokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased you were well feed and your accommodation was comfortable and suited your needs we always aim to please. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely peaceful area with plenty to do within a short scenic drive. Good food, good drying facilities, great room and excellent attentive staff. Thanks for making it a wonderful week, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction. We would be more than happy to see you again. Thank you for taking the time to write this review it is very much appreciated, as it is our aim to give all our guest the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stopped in Kinlochleven for a whole day while we did the WHW.
Their breakfast was filling and their lunch was also good. The beer was chilled and the atmosphere was cracking, especially in the evening which was full of locals, as well as fellow walkers of all nationalities.

They have a balcony upstairs which overlooks the swirling River Leven.

A must if you visit Kinlochleven.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are very pleased your found everything to your satisfaction and your experience with us was enjoyable. We do aim to make everyone who visits us feel welcome. Our balcony bar has been very popular and has been a great meeting place for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Day 6 of The West Highland Way.
My room was very nice, large comfy and clean. It looked freshly decorated.
Excellent power shower, just the job after 18 miles in the rain and wind.
The only down side was when I enquired about drying my wet jacket and over trousers, I was told that there were no facilities for that.
Evening meal was served in the pub a few doors up, nothing startling, good hot pub food at a reasonable price.
A tip for packed lunch the next day, The Co Op across the road does a good meal deal (Sandwich, drink, crisps and a choc bar) for £3.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a good review ,despite the fact you were not given the opportunity to use all the facilities. We do have a drying area which I am sorry was not made available to you for some unknown reason which we will look into. We also do packed lunches on request. We will address these issues with our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent stop on WHW. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable, with lovely views over the River Leven. We were welcomed warmly and the breakfast was excellent. The weather was fabulous when we were there and there's a great spot to swim above the bridge before you come into the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Your review was very kind and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather was brilliant when you visited and that you made use of the wonderful natural amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asseret israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Rooms are large and clean. Shower and toilet cleans and larges. The view from the room is the waterfall and the river. If you open the window you can hear the water running. Good smell in the stairs. Breakfasts are good and rich. The hotel has excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose the back rooms with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Having travelled such a long way it was a pleasure having you as guests. We are so pleased you found everything to your satisfaction and hope the rest of your holiday was enjoyable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Getaway

Property: Highland Getaway
Address: 28 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Getaway 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the picturesque village of Kinlochleven, all of our rooms are warm, comfortable and boast gorgeous views of the Scottish Highland. Whether you want to enjoy a spring, summer, autumn or winter break, the Highland Getaway is the perfect place to base yourself while you take in the striking surrounding scenery and abundance of outdoor activities, including the well known West Highland Way and the newly created Via Ferrata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highland Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Getaway Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing