We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable accommodation”
Review of Highland Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Getaway
Ranked #3 of 9 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Everything a walker could want: Modern bathroom, including a hot shower with good pressure. Large bed with a good mattress. Plenty of space to hang wet clothes and spread out. Good view out the window.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We are very pleased you found our accommodation comfortable after your long walk. It is a great area to live in and as you said great views to see. Hopefully you will call this way again. Thank you for you great review much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here on our last night of West Highland Way. We booked 4 double en-suites and got 3 with 2 single rooms which shared a bathroom. The rooms were very cosy and had two radiators we could control ourselves - great for drying clothes. Sky TV and a hot shower too. Pub/restaurant also good food for tea (nice views upstairs too). Breakfast was similar to other BnBs, chef started 15 mins early for us to let us get away earlier which we were grateful for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

It was great having you all stay with us and am so pleased you got everything you needed. Chef is very helpful and was glad to help you on your way with a good breakfast. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was a very comfortable stop over on the west highland way. There is a welcoming bar serving bar meals and where breakfast is served(there's a beautiful balcony bar looking directly onto the rapid flowing river. The accommodation is in refurbished previous houses/shops, a lovely re-invention of use. They were warm, comfortable, great shower, good views, and right beside a welcome well stocked co-op. This was a very successful, comfortable stop, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We were very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms and other facilities comfortable. Its been a long process getting to this stage but it is worthwhile when we get comments like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were up for a few days skiing in Glencoe and this was the perfect base to come back to after a day on a cold snowy mountain - warm, welcoming bar and restaurant with great food (breakfast and dinner) with beautifully appointed large rooms (double for us and twin for kids) with fantastic en suites - views to die for and the upstairs terrace bar overlooking the river will be a wonderful place to relax in the warmer months - also nothing was too much trouble for Hugh and the team - will be returning soon.

Room Tip: En Suite rooms are fantastic and there are great views from all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HughMcGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Great to hear you all had a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is as you say a good base for the area so much to do. Looking forward to seeing you and the family again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have had some good accommodation whilst walking the W.H.W. but I believe this was the best. I was walking solo and the room I had was a twin. It was absolutely lovely with a fantastic en suite. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. There is an upstairs bar with wide glass windows overlooking the river, which is fished for salmon. I asked if I could have my meal provided in this room, which the hosts where pleased to do. I had a steak which was cooked to perfection and exactly as requested. Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant/bar, it was a good quality breakfast. If passing through Kinlochleven, don't miss it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnWilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We are delighted to see your review and all the kind comments you gave us. We work very hard to get things right for our guests and it makes it all worthwhile when we see they have enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you hopefully you will call this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed on WHW walk nice reception , nice clean room with good shower, has a great upstairs outside terrace area if weather is good. Food was good , would stay again no problem only downside is rooms are a couple of doors along from restaurant.

Room Tip: try to get room on back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Glad to receive your kind review and the comments about our balcony bar and your are right it is lovely when the weather is good to sit out and relax hopefully we will have plenty days this year to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This had to be the best stay of our WHW experience. In August 2012, we had stopped here for brunch while cycling round Loch Leven from Glencoe Village so selecting this place for an overnight stay over the other accommodation available in Kinlochleven was a no-brainer. Also, it doesn't have a rating below very good on Tripadvisor which speaks volumes. One of the bar staff immediately came over to us on arrival to take us to our room. The room was the largest of the trip, bright, very clean, tidy and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed and plenty hot water to soothe our sore and tired muscles. Service for the evening meal and breakfast was very good. I tried the Chicken Curry mentioned by other reviewers which was a tad hot for me but thoroughly enjoyable. Prices were excellent as well. It’s also just across the road from the village supermarket if you need to stock up on supplies. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StravaigingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Sorry for not replying sooner but we have been so busy preparing for the coming season I have neglected my responses. Thank you for your great review and am glad you found your room comfortable we do aim to get everything just right. Hopefully you will call in this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinlochleven hotels
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
502 reviews
0 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 9 in Kinlochleven
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tailrace Inn
Tailrace Inn
#9 of 9 in Kinlochleven
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 9 in Kinlochleven
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 9 in Kinlochleven
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
#5 of 9 in Kinlochleven
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Getaway

Address: 28 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range: £115 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Getaway 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the picturesque village of Kinlochleven, all of our rooms are warm, comfortable and boast gorgeous views of the Scottish Highland. Whether you want to enjoy a spring, summer, autumn or winter break, the Highland Getaway is the perfect place to base yourself while you take in the striking surrounding scenery and abundance of outdoor activities, including the well known West Highland Way and the newly created Via Ferrata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highland Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Getaway Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing