We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous ....Superb. 1st Class.”
Review of Highland Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Getaway
Ranked #5 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lous ....Superb. 1st Class.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spotlessly clean, extremely friendly staff, great food, beautiful rooms, hot water +++ and a view from the Balcony bar to die for. Superb breakfasts and everybody so helpful & friendly. Very good beer. Try the chocolate sponge .....it's heavenly! Seafood was yummy.

I just loved this place. 5 stars from me ....excellent ...well, apart from the midgies :)

Local supermarket across the street for supplies.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nicely decorated so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfoub13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland G, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Brilliant review thank you so glad you enjoyed your stay.
One thing outwith our control is the midgies ,hope they did not spoil your visit to much. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    50
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
69
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here while walking the West Highland Way and the room was very comfortable with an absolutely awesome shower!!! The room was large and nicely decorated with a shower that was hot and sprayed hard, this was much needed after a long day!!
The bar/restaurant has outdoor seating with a beautiful view. The food is decent, nothing special, although the mussels were quite good.
The Getaway is nicely located near a Co-op, so we were able to get some supplies we needed for the next day.
The staff were kind, with one waitress whose name I wish I knew, that went out of her way to be friendly. You are suppose to go downstairs to get your drinks but she was kind enough to do it for us!!!
Not a bad place to stay while walking the WHW!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donjenks35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland G, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we are very pleased you were comfortable.
I have noted your point re the member of staff who you found so helpful and will look into getting name badges which will identify them more easily. It is always nice for the staff members to get this fed back.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times this week for breakfast and also for dinner and the occasional drink. A great atmosphere and a unique open air balcony bar looking over the mountains. Friendly staff and good food well worth a visit.

They do good b&b but I didn't stay there, will do next time!! Watch the midgies on the balcony at night though....


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland G, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visits to our restaurant and that you will visit again and stay with us next time. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The staff at this restaurant/pub and guesthouse were all hardworking, friendly, kind and hospitable. After a long day's walk, with sore feet, we were shown to a comfortable room in a house nearby, and a delicious and well served meal awaited us. The atmosphere in the pub, both downstairs for our meal, and upstairs afterwards, for a night cap, looking over the river, was friendly and convivial.
The tray of goodies with tea and coffee were delicious too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland G, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Magic review thanks loads. Glad your stay was comfortable and enjoyable after your long walk and enjoyed all the goodies on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Highland Getaway in Kinlochleven soaking wet after a difficult day hiking the West Highland Way. We were warmly greeted by a staff member in the pub who showed us to our room #9.

This room along with room #10 is located steps from the pub. It was only one month old, everything brand new, modern decorations, clean and a fabulous shower with plenty of hot water. One of the nicest rooms we had stayed in on the West Highland Way.

We had drinks and dinner at the pub. The food was very good, I had salmon. Make sure you have the sticky toffee with ice cream for dessert. Breakfast the next day was also good. The pub was a very friendly place where you could relax. We had a lovely conversation with a local gentleman who had his dog with him and he told us the history of the Aluminum Plant and Kinlochleven.

There is also a lovely lounge with bar on the second floor with a view of the beautiful scenery. My only complaint was with the WiFi. It is not available in the bedrooms. It is apparently available in the bar, however, when I tried was unable to connect.

This Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located in the village close to everything including the Co-op supermarket, Aluminum Story Visitor Center and the Ice Factor. It is also easy to exit and enter the West Highland Way trail. I would certainly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I would recommend room #9, modern and brand new, fabulous shower.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyLeeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your awesome review, we are very pleased you were comfortable in our newest addition to our property we have tried very hard to get things just right for our guests. As you mentioned wifi was not available in the room but we are working on resolving this issue. I can only apologise for not being able to connect in the restaurant this is unusual.
We are very glad you enjoyed your meals with us and will pass this on to our chef.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good rooms, very clean. Everything you need, except WIFI. The rooms we stayed in are in a different house, 30m from the pub. So you don't have to worry about the noise when you want to go to bed early (or you have kids like we do).
Food was tasting and served quickly.
All the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 895Bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was quiet enough for you to get some rest. After a long day of walking I am sure you needed it. Thank you for staying with us. Sorry about Wifi and we are resolving this issue .Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in a number of very good B&B's on The WHW but The Highland Getaway stood out as being one of the best. A very comfortable, spacious and clean room, a comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. We had a fine meal in the Balcony Bar and an excellent breakfast the following morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this place if you are walking the WHW or are even staying in Kinlochleven for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 173RobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh D, Guest Relations Manager at Highland Getaway, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your glowing review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We try very hard to make our visitors stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.4 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
8.8 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.2 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Getaway

Property: Highland Getaway
Address: 28 Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4RP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highland Getaway 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the picturesque village of Kinlochleven, all of our rooms are warm, comfortable and boast gorgeous views of the Scottish Highland. Whether you want to enjoy a spring, summer, autumn or winter break, the Highland Getaway is the perfect place to base yourself while you take in the striking surrounding scenery and abundance of outdoor activities, including the well known West Highland Way and the newly created Via Ferrata. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highland Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Getaway Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing