We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the West Highland Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinlochleven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Ives
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect for the West Highland Way”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in September while walking the West Highland Way. Great welcome, Good clean rooms, Great facitlies and a wonderful Breakfast. Nice touch with the Sweet when we arrived. The decor is a bit overpowering.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyVdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings all the way to St Ives and thank you for your first class review. We try our hardest to ensure that all of our walkers have a warm welcome, spotlessly clean room and a hearty breakfast so thanks for saying so, it really is very much appreciated. Kind regards. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    51
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
129
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Warm friendly welcome with fresh cream pavlovas on arrival from Elsie, Room was warm and very comfortable with a great choice of beverages and shortie. Beautiful accommodation, a must whilst on the west highland way. Thanks again Elsie, blisters are getting better now :) Raymie

Room Tip: Attic room has been best for me for the last 5 years
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hello Fred, thank you for your review and must I firstly say that I am so glad that these blisters are getting better now – your poor feet were in tatters! Your comments are so much appreciated and I hope you manage to visit us again, hopefully when you are not in so much pain! All the best to you and yours in Dundee. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a few times now, most recently September 5th 2013 while walking the WHW. We've done a number of the long distance walks in Scotland, some more than once and have stayed in countless B&B's over the years. I can honestly say that Edencoille is right up there for cleanliness, comfort and the quality/amount of food served at breakfast. Many previous reviewers have commented on the "welcome cake" and the amount of toiletries and sweets in the rooms and it's all true. The first thing Elsie said to us on arrival about a large bowl of fruit in the lounge area was "This fruits for eating, not decoration". And she meant it. A wonderful place to stay that should be the first one booked by anyone contemplating doing the WHW.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaptorBoy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings to Newcastle-upon-Tyne! Drew and I were so happy to see you and your wife return to Edencoille yet again. Your comments are lovely and it was so kind of you to say that we should be the first place to be booked by anyone contemplating doing the WHW. I really do hope that you manage to come back and see us again when we would, of course, be delighted to offer the same hospitality. Warm regards. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had chosen to make this our long day on the West Highland Way, so after almost 20 miles we arrived in Kinlochleven. Edencoille is on the far-side of the town and a little uphill which almost finished us off !!
The welcome was warm and the unexpected offer of a fruit meringue was a nice touch.
The bathroom was large but every available surface was filled with shower gel, shampoo etc which left no room for our stuff. The room was small with no space for our two cases and again many of the surfaces were covered - more biscuits, tea, coffee, milk than you would use in a month !!
Breakfast, however, more than made up for those minor quibbles. We sat at one of two large tables which makes it so much easier to talk to the other guests - many of whom we had stayed with or met on other parts of the walk. The food was incredible - you could order almost anything you could imagine and at this stage we went for the continental. Lots of fresh fruit, cold meats cheese, wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you kindly to the Nomadic Teachers for taking the time to submit your review and mentioning the warm welcome. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our set up for breakfast so that you could engage with the other walkers with whom you had met during your walk. The West Highland Way is an extremely sociable walk and we are glad that you enjoyed it so much. With regard to the rooms, we do try to offer all of our walkers every single comfort since walkers do not always have room in their bags for all of the little bits and pieces. We certainly hope that you and your friends can make it to Kinlochleven and visit us again. Kind regards to all. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Elsie and Drew are wonderful hosts that are passionate about their home, their business and they fully understand what going the extre mile to ensure that a perfect stay is all about. We are a family of 5, 3 girls 10, 8 and 5. We travelled all over Scotland and can honestly say that this stay was the highlight of all the accomodations stayed. We stayed at BB's, Country Inns, Golf resorts, 4&5 star hotels and Beachfront homes. The girls loved their princess beds, and the fresh creme meringue cakes that wait for all travellers on arrival each day. The breakfast was a highlight delaying our travels each day due to the abundance of choice. Our room was spacious and the bathroom facillities were excellent. Beds were vey comfortable, they only sligt issue was a double bed which my wife and I were not used to the size so we slept in two of the girls beds the following night, placed the two youngest together and both had wonderful sleeps.
Kinlochleven is down a twisty scenic road from the town of Glencoe featuring majestic look outs and unspoilt views. Add the extra time (15 mins ) to your trip you will not regret nor forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Drew and I are over the moon to receive such an absolutely wonderful review. You are indeed correct David, we are both passionate about our home and do try to go the extra mile to ensure that everyone has a wonderful stay. It was a real pleasure to provide you and your family with our hospitality and it was a treat in itself to meet you. All the very best to you, your wife and your three adorable girls. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A great place to stay! We felt really welcome and were given some very nice homemade cookies and beer when we arrived. Probably our very best stay along the West Highland Way.
We had a small, but very good room. The breakfast was indeed very good, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esbenwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Greetings to Viborg in Denmark and thank you for your review which is very much appreciated indeed. Drew and I are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the cookies and beer and our breakfast. Kind regards. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a lovely B&B! On arrival we got given a 'welcome cake' of meringue, raspberries and cream - totally needed after the long walk we had just done for the West Highland Way.

Our room was lovely; lots of biscuits, mints and teabags, and in the bathroom were loads and loads of toiletries including fancy bath foams, shower gels, soaps etc. Wonderful bathroom with bath and separate shower. Really good beds, at first I was sceptical as the bed creaked a lot but actually it was incredibly comfortable.

Breakfast was great, big selection of hams, cheeses, yogurts and fruit as well as the usual things.

For West Highland Wayers - the B&B is a little out the way; you leave the walk at Kinlochleven bridge and it's about 10 more minutes through the village. Well worth staying here though; B&Bs at their finest!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Sarah and thanks for taking the time to send in your enthusiastic review. Your comments are lovely since we aim to please every guest and ensure that you have everything that you can possibly need after a days walking on the West Highland Way. All the very best to the fantastic capital city of Edinburgh. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochleven
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
464 reviews
10.6 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Kinlochleven
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencoille Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Property: Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Address: Edencoille Garbhein Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsie and Drew Robertson extend you a warm Highland Welcome when you visit Edencoille Guest House. Edencoille is a charming, family run, 4 Star guest house in an elevated position in Kinlochleven overlooking Loch Leven and set among the dramatic peaks of Glencoe and the Mamores. Elsie & Drew assure you of their personal service and attention at all times.Kinlochleven is situated on the West Highland Way and the accommodation is ideal for walkers on the Way and hill climbers alike. Edencoille has free drying facilities for outdoor gear and we offer a laundry service at a reasonable charge.Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu. Free Wi-Fi available and clients are welcome to relax and unwind in our well appointed lounge. Please note that Edencoille is a non-smoking establishment.The rooms have comfortable beds, a fabulous range of toiletries along with a foot spa, hairdryer, bathrobes and power showers. Our rooms also have LCD TVs and DVD players. There is a good choice of restaurants for an evening meal within easy walking distance of Edencoille.Kinlochleven is near stunning Glencoe, Fort William (the Outdoor Capital of the UK) and is an ideal base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland and the famous Isle of Skye. The area is perfect for hill walking, Munro bagging, fishing, climbing and wildlife watching, being the haunt of the Golden Eagle, Peregrine falcon, Red Deer, Otter and Pine Marten.We hope you stay at Edencoille when visiting Scotland and we will be pleased to help you plan your holiday.Sláinte, Elsie & Drew. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing