We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Name change in order, should be called - 'The Extra Mile'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Kinlochleven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Name change in order, should be called - 'The Extra Mile'”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I absolutely agree with every word that people have written about Edencoille and Elsie & Drew.
We stopped here on our first night of our walk on the West Highland Way going from Fort William to Milngavie. After a particularly difficult first day, and soaked through we arrived in Kinlochleven. With no idea where we were going, we phoned Drew at the B & B and explained where we were, and without hesitation he told us to stay put and that he would come and pick us up, 5 minutes later he arrived in his beautiful Land Rover, helped us with our rucksacks and took us to Edencoille. On the way he explained that they had a dry room where we could get out of all our wet clothes, and leave our boots, bags, and anything else that was wet to dry overnight, he also offered to dry anything else in the tumble dryer. As time was getting on and we were in danger of missing our evening meal, he told us to give him a shout when we were ready to go and that he would take us down to the village pub/restaurant and to phone him when we were finished and he would pick us back up; which he duly did. Now quite apart from this outstanding piece of service, which was well above the call of duty; the premises are outstanding with everything you could want, and to top it off they have the most extensive range of breakfast items I have ever witnessed (even in a 5 start hotel) my wife had a whole grilled trout with trimmings for breakfast and my daughter and me had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; as well as all of the other usual items, they also had fresh raspberries, strawberries, pineapple and so much more. If I am every back up that way I will without a doubt be staying with this delightful couple and the most impressive B & B I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geofrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Well, what can we say! What an absolutely fantastic review and thank you so much for all of your comments. It was Drew's pleasure to pick you up and also to take you for your evening meal and back. We really do try to offer outstanding customer service and thank you for saying so. To read such comments really does make us very happy bunnies indeed! We would love to welcome you back to Edencoille at some point in the future. All the very best to you and yours in Glasgow. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    46
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
124
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our last night of doing the west highland way. What a lovely place!! The owners clearly take huge pride in what they do and the small touches are just delightful-we had walked over 20 miles in the wet and windy weather and were greeted on arrival with a strawberry meringue. The rooms are also thoroughly stocked with sweets,biscuits,plenty of tea and coffee and lovely Milton brown products to pamper yourself with. It's also in an idyllic location above kinlochleven in the trees. Would absolutely come back for a return visit. Just lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Amy, greetings to the lovely Galway and thank you for your kind comments. We do indeed take huge pride in making sure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay at Edencoille so thank you for saying so. Please do come back again for a return visit. Warm regards, Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I used to snort at the phrase "giving it 110%" but after staying at Edencoille I now understand that it's absolutely possible. Elsie and Drew did everything perfectly, everything that would get a five star rating, and then went that little bit further and put in some extra touches.

White fluffy bathrobes, a foot spa, and more luxury toiletries than you can shake a stick at. Add to that the massive bowl of biccies and two wee bowls of chocolates sitting in our room and you can see why I'm impressed. When we arrived we were also given a meringue, packed with fresh berries and whipped cream. Oh, and those heaving fruit bowls in the lounge? You can help yourself! There was also a wee tuck shop selling Scottish and American sweeties, just in case those sugar kicks weren't enough.

Oh and breakfast... don't even get me started on breakfast! People throw around the phrase "enough food to feed an army" a lot but I honestly reckon if the Black Watch had marched through the breakfast room they'd have left completely satiated. Lovely porridge, a whopping great trout, and loads of lovely fresh bread, fruit, jam, cheese, yoghurt, eggs....

This is honestly the best place I have ever stayed in. Ever. Everything about it was absolutely perfect! I only found out afterwards that Elsie and Drew offer pick ups and drop offs at the Kingshouse hotel, so WHW walkers can stay for two nights instead of one. Next time I do this 96 mile stroll, I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemmaEatWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Well what can we say? Drew and I are over the moon to read such a comprehensive and glowing review. Thank you so much for taking the time to mention all of the various bits and pieces and I love the bit about the Black Watch! As you will probably guess, we would do our very best to feed them to if need be!! Please do come back and stay with us if you walk the WHW again or even for a relaxing visit up north! Kindest regards and thanks again, Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed one night here while walking the West Highland Way. Definitely deserves it's 4 stars. We had strawberry cream meringues waiting for us in our room. Elsie, the owner has thought of everything to make you comfortable and welcome. Spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 403kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello Kate, many thanks for your review. We really do try to think of everything to ensure that everyone has a fantastic stay so it is kind of you to say so. All the best to Glasgow, Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If there's a better bed and breakfast accommodation in Scotland I'd like to know where it is!!

It's just amazing here, we've now spent four nights in the last two years at Edencoille
and the service has been wonderful.
Elsie and Drew are a wonderful, helpful and very generous couple, who really can't do enough for you.
From Drew picking us up at the Kingshouse hotel and driving us back there the next morning and everything in between, was faultless.
The new drying room for wet boots and clothing is extremely well finished and a great addition to their welcoming home.
I'll not spoil the surprise you'll have at breakfast time, when you see the choice of foods available.

Needless to say we'll be back again soon.

Marlene and Archie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Marlene & Archie, well what can we say? Your opening line is wonderful, thanks so much! It goes without saying that we love to welcome new guests and returning guests alike but the fact that guests like your good selves keep on coming back does speak volumes and makes it all worthwhile. We cannot wait to see you appear at our doorstep again when we will welcome you both with open arms. All the very best, Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as my husband was walking the West Highland Way and I joined him for the last day. The lady was very welcoming and gave us lovely cakes to have with a cup of tea. Edencoille is a very homely house, just like arriving at your aunties! Lots of extras in the bedroom from chocolates beside the bed to a lovely wee pack of toiletries. The breakfast table was amazing, from fresh fruit to scones and everything in between! If you are staying in Kinlochleven this is the B&B to book.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tonyrose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your husband to Edencoille and to say that we are the B&B to book in Kinlochleven is high praise indeed, thanks so much! You are welcome to come back to Auntie Elsie's and Uncle Drew's anytime!! Warm regards, Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

5th time I have stayed at reconcile with Elsie and drew and have taken to stay for two nights as drew can pick you up from kingshouse and drop you back next morning. Every year seems better than the last. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a mini fresh fruit Pavlova...so even suits those requiring gluten free diet. The rooms have many special extras.... a little gift bag of toiletries to take away and the en-suite bedrooms have plenty of lovely Milton Brown toiletries and all the little extras you might need and great comfy beds. With lots of fresh fruit you can help yourself to and amazing choice at breakfast....its well worth treating yourself to edencoille.

Room Tip: All rooms en-suite but a terrific large family room if travelling with a few friends or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBusiness, Owner at Edencoille Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Janis! It is always fantastic to welcome back guests time and time again, there really is no better accolade. Thanks so much for your review and all of the wonderful comments. Drew and I really do hope that you manage to come back yet again since it is always such a pleasure and we will do our very best to keep up the good work! I hope the sponsored walk went well! Very best wishes. Elsie & Drew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinlochleven hotels
0.3 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#2 of 10 in Kinlochleven
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
Allengrange Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 10 in Kinlochleven
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allt-na-Leven
Allt-na-Leven
#1 of 10 in Kinlochleven
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
Tigh Na Cheo Guest House
#3 of 10 in Kinlochleven
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edencoille Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edencoille Bed & Breakfast

Property: Edencoille Bed & Breakfast
Address: Edencoille Garbhein Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Kinlochleven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinlochleven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elsie and Drew Robertson extend you a warm Highland Welcome when you visit Edencoille Guest House. Edencoille is a charming, family run, 4 Star guest house in an elevated position in Kinlochleven overlooking Loch Leven and set among the dramatic peaks of Glencoe and the Mamores. Elsie & Drew assure you of their personal service and attention at all times.Kinlochleven is situated on the West Highland Way and the accommodation is ideal for walkers on the Way and hill climbers alike. Edencoille has free drying facilities for outdoor gear and we offer a laundry service at a reasonable charge.Our packed lunches are renowned among the walking community along with our varied and hearty breakfast menu. Free Wi-Fi available and clients are welcome to relax and unwind in our well appointed lounge. Please note that Edencoille is a non-smoking establishment.The rooms have comfortable beds, a fabulous range of toiletries along with a foot spa, hairdryer, bathrobes and power showers. Our rooms also have LCD TVs and DVD players. There is a good choice of restaurants for an evening meal within easy walking distance of Edencoille.Kinlochleven is near stunning Glencoe, Fort William (the Outdoor Capital of the UK) and is an ideal base for exploring the West Coast of Scotland and the famous Isle of Skye. The area is perfect for hill walking, Munro bagging, fishing, climbing and wildlife watching, being the haunt of the Golden Eagle, Peregrine falcon, Red Deer, Otter and Pine Marten.We hope you stay at Edencoille when visiting Scotland and we will be pleased to help you plan your holiday.Sláinte, Elsie & Drew. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edencoille Bed & Breakfast Kinlochleven, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing