We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of The Tayvallich Inn

The Tayvallich Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the picturesque village of Tayvallich on the shores of Loch Sween, the Inn overlooks the beautiful natural harbour of Tayvallich bay. At the heart of this small and vibrant community, the Tayvallich Inn has always been a popular meeting place for sailors, holidaymakers, more recently kayakers and all who enjoy our warm hospitality and good food. Established over 30 years ago, the Tayvallich Inn specialises in fresh, locally caught seafood, much of which is landed on our doorstep from the cold, pristine waters of the sound of Jura. Along with seafood we serve other fresh produce, sourcing locally where ever possible.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were staying at Castle Sween and drove round to Tayvallich for lunch. Had to have a seat at the bar for 10-15 minutes until a table became available but we weren't in any rush. The staff were pleasant, service was very efficient and the food was great. The Inn specialises in seafood but there plenty of alternatives available. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieFGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    60
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This is a truly hidden gem, way off the beaten track and if you don't know about it you are unlikely to go there, one road in and the same road out. A stunning view across the loch with many small boat in the harbour, we were fortunate to visit on a sunny evening and enjoyed the sunset as well. Wonderful fish and chips, but lots more on the menu which was mainly fish courses butall seemed to be very enjoyable and cooked to perfection.
Well worth the trip there but you need to book in advance to ensure a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Perfect place to shelter from the driving Scottish rain (or to come in from the sunshine which we're told they do get as well).

After a long morning walking the Crinan Canal, this is a great place to sit down either at the bar (with some good ales including Loch Ness Red) or at the tables inside (the ones outside were being rained on today).

Excellent food, friendly & interested service, generous proportions, interesting (and happy to argue!) locals, good choice of music.

Hope we can return to sit on the terrace overlooking the harbour in the hot sun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

You have to know that this is there otherwise it isoff the beaten track. Getting there is pleasant as the scenery is quite stunning. We were the second couple in and the place soon filled up. We actually did not read the menu only the daily board and opted for half a lobster, fresh would not really be the right word, mornings catch and super as were the trimmings. Fantastic meal only spoilt by the fact that I could not have a glass(s) of white wine, though my partner made up for me.
The other plates coming out all looked super as were the other diners comments, fabulous, and a steal at the price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stopped off at Tayvallich on our way back from Crinan. It is a very pretty wee place, well worth the 6 mile drive off the main road. It was busy, but we timed it right and managed to get a table. We were served very promptly by the waiting staff, and waited barely 15 minutes for our fish and chips. The portions were very generous, and the fish was beautiful.

The view from the Inn across the bay is stunning, and I can imagine that sitting outside in the summer is lovely. This place is a must if you are a seafood lover.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pimmscass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tayvallich Inn also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Tayvallich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing