We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“salads made in heaven”
Review of The Smiddy Bistro

The Smiddy Bistro
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
tarbert
Level Contributor
207 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“salads made in heaven”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This has been a great food stop for many years but this was the first visit for some time.The trout and prawn marie rose and prawn and egg salad were fantastic.The range of tastes on the plate from potato salad,to strawberries to kiwi fruit and coleslaw are a brilliant addition to the main elements of the dishes.
if your in the area try this restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    44
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Being vegan means I often have problems eating out. So coming off the ferry from Islay and making our way south we were thinking we'd have difficulty finding food. So we decided to revisit the Smiddy, where there were no problems at all. All of the staff understand what veganism is.
I had a jacket potato with veg chilli, and the salad accompanying it was vegan too.
Hubby had a venison burger and said it was delicious.
This is the second time this year we've been to the Smiddy, and if ever we are in the area again it will be our first choice for eating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micthemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabtabulous!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Beautifully presented food, scrummy salads and garnishes, lovely atmosphere too. A rainy day brightened up no end. Don't pass it by.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myrddin_emrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Salads to die for!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fab café - shame they don't do carry out too Service, food and coffee the best! Tucked away down the lane - hidden gem!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caranderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

A small inviting restaurant well worth a visit. Lunch was homemade soup with delicious brown bread followed by carrot cake and coffee. The service was efficient, fast and friendly. This is our second visit here and will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smiddy Bistro also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Smiddy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing