We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautifully presented lunch!”
Review of The Smiddy Bistro

The Smiddy Bistro
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Liversedge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautifully presented lunch!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Like most others found just passing through. Thought we would have a light bite. ... left stuffed! The salads are huge and beautifully presented garnished with fruits, nice warm bread for sandwiches and a great choice of cakes! Warming atmosphere very nice staff would definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crat791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    46
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent salad”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only had a simple lunch (baked potatoes etc), but they were accompanied by the best salad ever - really tasty fruit and veg combo. Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Excellent refreshment stop on the road to the Isles.”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Driving to Oban we stopped at Lochgilphead for a morning coffee and a snack. Enquiring at a local bookshop what was the best place for coffee we were directed to The Smiddy Bistro, which would otherwise have been difficult to find as it’s tucked away in a lane behind the main street.

The Bistro is in a fairly small lime-washed cottage with a pleasant ambiance and appears to do a busy trade with local residents - always a good sign. There’s a good selection of hot and cold home-made food, excellent coffee and a selection of teas. It also serves that retro-classic, the toasted tea cake. Wine is available. Had we been staying in Lochgilphead we would've returned to try something other than the delicious mid-morning snack we enjoyed. Give it a try.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and super desserts”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Liked everything we tried! Soups, sandwiches, and especially pastries--cream scones, mmmmm. The stone interior is inviting and the staff very friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great place for a stop over. Lunch time we had great salads with coffee and fresh scones. Friendly staff in a historic old building. Seek it out if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oldgreyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smiddy Bistro also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Cairnbaan, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Ardrishaig, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Smiddy Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing