We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilmory Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Felt owner was a bit rude to my colleague who had gone to the wrong house door, due to not seeing the entrance sign in a hedge. However the situation improved and we had excellent breakfast. Rooms were well equipped, though mine was a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Just stayed one night to break a journey. As a solo traveller, it's nice to get a decent price for a double room when there are no singles available. En-suite room was comfortable, clean and pleasant, breakfast was tasty, well cooked and plentiful. All in all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cullenskink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Four geriatric cyclists visited in August. The rooms are clean, comfy and well equipped. Breakfast was very good and the host responded to a special request. A bit of a contra temps at the start as we went to the wrong door and got off on the wrong foot. I can understand that visitors to Lochgilphead would fine this a very good guest house to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We needed to make the long trip to Scotland from Yorkshire (6 hours) for a family funeral and arrived very late (sorry Rob) Rob was there to meet us and showed us to our number 6 room. Nice room on the top floor, bed was comfy, en-suite was huge, both rooms were well furnished & clean with everything we needed especially the tea/coffee tray which was most welcome after our lengthy trip. Breakfast was delicious & well cooked by Rob. We had a little time to kill before we had to set off for the funeral and some other family members had met us at the B&B so what to do???? Rob & Babs invited us to have Tea/Coffee in the Dining room, this was totally unexpected and at no charge, their kindness was second to none & we would have no problem recommending this Guest House to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay. I would just like to thank Rob, Babs & Mum for their hospitality & kindness

Room Tip: Number 6 was lovley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannielinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, Owner at Kilmory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

It was really nice seeing you all once again, it was just a shame it was sad circumstances. We hope you hot home safely and if you are in our area again please come and say hello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our last B&B in our tour of Scotland and we got in a little late, straight off the ferry from Islay. Since my brother had stayed at this B&B 8 years ago, we decided to give it another try and we are glad we did. We booked 3 rooms, 2 with en-suite bathroom and one with the bathroom on the same floor. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very clean. The best was the breakfast cooked by Rob. This was the end of our trip and we had the best full Scottish breakfast of the whole trip. Considering the low cost of the B&B I would also say it was the best value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Rob's hospitality and food made up for the quirky building with weird noises in the bathroom. Odd that it's a 200 year old building but tv gets 160 channels. Room was comfortable and medium sized. Not all rooms are en suite. Rob did have great information about the area.

Room Tip: If you want en suite be sure to ask for it. Several rooms are not but I'm sure they are priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misserino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Friendly and welcoming with a delicious Scottish breakfast what more could we want? Well we not only had comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making facilities but we had a wealth of information given to us from our host Rob about the West Coast. Hiring bikes in Lochgilphead we cycled the Crinan Canal, visited the Medieval monastery and Castle at Saddle, explored the beautiful, wild beaches seeing sea-lions, sharks, and had views of deer as we sat picnicking off the Mull of Kintyre. My daughter had the privilege to stay with Rob and Babs for longer on a 6 week placement; they are kind, generous, and genuine people who made her stay a great experience! Well worth the visit and very reasonably priced- you couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lochgilphead hotels
4 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
82 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corran
The Corran
#5 of 7 in Lochgilphead
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 7 in Lochgilphead
66 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kilmory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmory Guest House

Address: Paterson Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kilmory Guest House Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing