We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it”

The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Been in this hotel a few times, never fails on the service, especially from Shirley. Never a bother with anything, very friendly, lovely food. Just a lovely wee hotel. Just a pity the walls are too thick for the wifi! Will defo be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
13
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Like the last reviewer said this place has according to my aunt who is a local, undergone a massive renovation and is a credit to the present owners. We had dinner without a reservation and chef made pasta for me because I didn't fancy the other vegetarian options. Desserts were lovely and there was a nice homely atmosphere. We were invited to see the new beer garden which is gorgeous - water features and gazebos etc. lunch out there or a drink on a warm evening is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My car tyre blew out and I had to spend the night is Lochgiphead at the last minute. This hotel has been entirely redone and is really very stunning now. Helpful staff, lovely clean room/bathroom, had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and made lots of friends sitting on the outdoor patio. What could have been a dark spot on my vacation was a lovely find. Would definitely refer this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bswuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonny Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stopped there for lunch, were given a higher priced menu than the one on the door and had to ask for the lunch one. Service was a bit slow but ok as was the food. This is a old building and had been painted not long ago it still shows its age.The toilets were very confusing as there was no cubical in the gents and male and female had to share the disabled.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pettuddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

when arriving to the bar for drinks we asked for a vodka and coke and was given the cheapest coke ever!! we asked for the music to be on and the bar staff said no because football was on but there was no one else in the bar and i am pretty sure ive been short changed in here several times . also when we asked for a drink we where given reall small glasses even though we asked for long glasses . one thing that was nice though was the food in the restaurant .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silent9assasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lochgilphead hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here for one night on 2nd January having broken down nearby and needing a bed for the night til we got moving again. The room was £70 bed and breakfast, reasonable fir a last minute walk-in. However, room was extremely basic - I have stayed in nicer Travelodges - bedclothes were torn in places and the ensuite bathroom had no bath, a shower only and felt a bit like a disabled toilet you might find in a train station.

That said, we weren't there for luxury and it was a bed for the night and not too expensive considering it wasn't an advance booking.

Saving grace was the food in the bar - we had steak pie which was absolutely delicious (steak pie is my absolute favourite food in the world though and I was starving so perhaps a little biased!) Breakfast the following morning was also nice.

All in all if you're broken down in the area and your car's brought to the garage next door then you could do worse for a bed for the night, but if you are coming to the area for a break then there's probably nicer places to stay - incidentally we were on our way back from a New Year's break at the Killean Estate in Tarbert about 40 mins away from Lochgilphead which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlinzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Spent four nights here and could not fault this hotel. Staff excellent. Food very good. Rooms a little basic but comfortable and very clean. Good laughs and jukebox in the bar. Am happy to recommend it to others and the location is excellent

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookoutmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.4 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Stag Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Argyll Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Stag Hotel And Restaurant
Stag Hotel Lochgilphead
The Stag Hotel & Restaurant Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing