We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore Kilmartin Glen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skookum House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skookum House
Ranked #5 of 10 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Salzburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Kilmartin Glen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I could not have wished for a better base to visit the Kilmartin Glen. The location is great as it's close to the sights and not far from the main road but still very quiet.
A brand new building with a rather unusual but nice 'Canadian' flair, a well-appointed and spotlessly clean room which also was large enough for me to comfortably handle my luggage (which can be a pain in the frequently small single rooms). Breakfast was very good and ample.

The price was at the top end of what I am generally willing to spend in a b&b, but probably higher due to my staying for only one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalzburgLaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

First night of island hopping on bicycles we stopped at Skookum House. Very spacious well decorated room with ensuite . Full hearty Scottish breakfast made to order and when required. Only 4 miles from Lochgilphead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erskine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Two nights in Skookum House Lochgilphead was to be the first stop in our exploration of the West Coast of Scotland.After one night in our beautiful room (double, ground floor) with quality furniture and furnishings, generous hostess tray, TV and DVD, fantastic bed and large bathroom we were very tempted to stay longer. Our breakfast next morning, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (from the owners' free range hens )was the deciding factor and we rebooked for another 7 days. The proprieters Cath and Stuart are the most friendly generous people anyone could meet. Fewer than 15 minutes from town the house is secluded in glorious woodland where we were able to enjoy the beautiful weather sitting in the garden in perfect peace. We have already made plans to return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris-hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Immaculate room with en suite. Good website, email directions to rural location, friendly welcome and excellent meal. If you require to stop over in the Lochgilphead/Kilmartin area of Argyll, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a good b&b with clean rooms and modern facilities all round. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic, the room has excellent facilities and the en-suite is top-notch with a great mixer type shower. However the TV provided is useless as you can only get a good picture if you stand directly in front of it. The wireless is patchy and I frequently had to wave my phone around at the room door trying to 'catch' a signal & eventually just gave up if I couldn't get one. There is a problem with the floorboards of the room above and it's a bit like sleeping in a drum, as the noise wakes you up in the morning and keeps you awake at night time. The wall between my room and another guests room was wafer thin and I could hear every word he said to his wife and hear his snoring throughout the night. Other than these minor problems it is a very good b&b.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frsrgrdn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Spent one night here on our way to Crinan. Very warm welcome from Stuart and the house has excellent facilities. Nothing was too much trouble - even digging out the golden syrup for Sara's porridge! Lovely room and great shower; comfortable and quiet at night. Infra red sauna was a real bonus. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ewan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

By far one of the best B&Bs that we have stayed in. Owners are very friendly and helpful. The actual B&B is in a lovely location not far from Kilmartin. The room and bathroom were both clean, modern and tasteful. Breakfast was also excellent, with a good range of choices. We would thoroughly recommend Skookum House.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask for one of the downstairs rooms as this gives easy access outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkevinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lochgilphead hotels
0.0 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 10 in Lochgilphead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 10 in Lochgilphead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skookum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skookum House

Property: Skookum House
Address: Skookum House Ducharnan | Kilmichael Glassary, Lochgilphead PA31 8QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skookum House Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing