We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skookum House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Argyll Inn(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grey Gull Inn(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allt-Na-Craig(Ardrishaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairnbaan Hotel(Cairnbaan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lochgair Hotel(Lochgilphead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kilfinan Hotel(Kilfinan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle(Stonefield)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Royal an Lochan(Tighnabruaich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
22
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I could not have wished for a better base to visit the Kilmartin Glen. The location is great as it's close to the sights and not far from the main road but still very quiet.
A brand new building with a rather unusual but nice 'Canadian' flair, a well-appointed and spotlessly clean room which also was large enough for me to comfortably handle my luggage (which can be a pain in the frequently small single rooms). Breakfast was very good and ample.

The price was at the top end of what I am generally willing to spend in a b&b, but probably higher due to my staying for only one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalzburgLaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

First night of island hopping on bicycles we stopped at Skookum House. Very spacious well decorated room with ensuite . Full hearty Scottish breakfast made to order and when required. Only 4 miles from Lochgilphead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Two nights in Skookum House Lochgilphead was to be the first stop in our exploration of the West Coast of Scotland.After one night in our beautiful room (double, ground floor) with quality furniture and furnishings, generous hostess tray, TV and DVD, fantastic bed and large bathroom we were very tempted to stay longer. Our breakfast next morning, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (from the owners' free range hens )was the deciding factor and we rebooked for another 7 days. The proprieters Cath and Stuart are the most friendly generous people anyone could meet. Fewer than 15 minutes from town the house is secluded in glorious woodland where we were able to enjoy the beautiful weather sitting in the garden in perfect peace. We have already made plans to return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris-hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Immaculate room with en suite. Good website, email directions to rural location, friendly welcome and excellent meal. If you require to stop over in the Lochgilphead/Kilmartin area of Argyll, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This is a good b&b with clean rooms and modern facilities all round. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic, the room has excellent facilities and the en-suite is top-notch with a great mixer type shower. However the TV provided is useless as you can only get a good picture if you stand directly in front of it. The wireless is patchy and I frequently had to wave my phone around at the room door trying to 'catch' a signal & eventually just gave up if I couldn't get one. There is a problem with the floorboards of the room above and it's a bit like sleeping in a drum, as the noise wakes you up in the morning and keeps you awake at night time. The wall between my room and another guests room was wafer thin and I could hear every word he said to his wife and hear his snoring throughout the night. Other than these minor problems it is a very good b&b.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frsrgrdn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews