We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring holiday 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seafield Farm Cottages
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Byre Cottage at Seafield Farm proved ideal for our 5 day holiday in late March 2014.
Just the two of us but requiring separate bedrooms as neither of us sleep well, normally.
Not so at the Byre the spacious double room ideal for my wife who has impaired mobility at the moment and the smaller twin room (complete with cot) had us sleeping like logs.
A small point. I like to listen to the radio at night and the reception was excellent in the bedroom on the radio provided for the lounge.
The high quality fittings and accessories throughout were second to none that we have visited. Jane and James could not have been more helpful and the complimentary eggs and lemon cake on arrival made us feel at home instantly. The nearest reasonable shops are at Lochgilphead. We would love to have made use of the custom built barbeque hut and outside area but there was just too much to do for five days. Hopefully another time with the family.
Although we have travelled extensively in the West Coast of Scotland this was the first time staying in the Crinan Canal area. We did many moons ago launch a boat at nearby Ardrishaig to cruise this incredible sailing area. Now our electric folding bikes allowed us to traverse the canal and vicariously enjoy watching others manoeuvring the locks.
This area, well known for its wild life and wonderful walks is, strangely, for the West Coast, also wonderful for cycling with many flat areas and quiet roads.
A memorable day was cycling along the canal to see the cup and ring markings at Cairnbaan in this centre of Celtic and Viking history. Unfortunately there is a steep, on foot, climb involved which proved too much for my wife’s sciatica but this was compensated for by a leisurely and very reasonably priced lunch in the Cairnbaan hotel conservatory overlooking the canal locks. One baguette, chips and salad lunch enough for two, at suggestion of bar staff.
On arrival read the visitors book comments it will tell you the best places to see, otters, beavers and lots more. I wish I had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Many thanks for the review of your holiday in Byre Cottage. We were very impressed with your electric bikes - a great way to get around. You managed to pack a lot into a short stay. Hope you can return sometime with more time to explore and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this accomodation. We had both the Byre and the Stable. They were spacious and well equiped - dishwasher, washing machine, lots of kitchen utensils. The owner was very helpful. There is nothing within walking distance for food or drinks but it isn't a long drive to some nice hotel restuarants. If you are looking for rural accommodation in this area we recommend it. Only one improvement needed - a clothes horse for drying clothes inside!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Blbovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thankyou for your review. We were pleased you enjoyed your holiday with the family - including our youngest ever visitor. Clothes horses will be installed - thanks for the suggestion. We used to have them but failed to replace them when they fell apart - sorry! The covered lines in the barn are usually sufficient but obviously with two small babies, you needed additional drying capacity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Kirkland Lodge. We found it to be very well supplied with pretty much everything we might need for the week, and an excellent location to explore a part of Scotland we hadn't been to before. The lodge is very comfortable, and we spent hours simply watching the wildlife that passed by the picture window. We saw otter, seal, gannet, osprey, red squirrel, roe deer and numerous other birds without really trying. Jane is a very welcoming host who provided a cake for our arrival and although Kirkland is a mile or so from the main farmhouse, we felt we could drop in if we wanted to ask anything. Although we could get no mobile signal, there is free Wi-Fi and a phone which takes incoming calls at the lodge - I guess you pay for outgoing calls but we Skyped when we needed to.
Any negatives? The bedroom is narrow, so don't bring a cat if you need room to swing one. We didn't find this to be a problem, in fact we slept incrediblty well, but if you're the type who demands acres of space next to your bed then you may want to reconsider. If you do reconsider however, you'll be missing a real gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaroldTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

As fully paid up members of the Anti Cat Swinging League, we are committed to providing bedrooms at Kirkland which will prevent such behaviour. Hamster swinging may prove a suitable alternative. We have considered making it a one bedroom lodge by removing the partition wall but this has not been met with enthusiasm from guests who need two rooms. Hopefully the open plan living/dining/kitchen with high ceiling and big windows make the front part of the lodge feel reasonably roomy. In the location vs interior space debate, Kirkland always wins over the cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our first stay in this area of Scotland. The cottage was very well equipped with large airy rooms and is a showcase for Jane's basket weaving. We saw very few people on our rambles, but loads of wildlife. We must have had the best weather so far this year, the views from Castle Dounie were stunning! Jane bakes a wicked lemon drizzle cake, it didn't last long.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Achnamara and the weather was kind to you. It is great when our visitors find that it doesn't always rain in Scotland - and how stunningly beautiful it is here on a clear day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

In September we stayed at The Stable cottage. It was our first family holiday and by April we had returned!
The location is beautiful. No street lights or police sirens keeping you up at night! While we stayed in April we saw wild deer pass by twice a day to get to and from the loch. A fantastic sight. Our 2 yr old girl loves the cottage as it really feels like a home away from home. Jane kindly left some toys out for Ruby which she loved although she spent most of the week outside saying hello to the chickens and exploring. It's a place for kids to be kids safely. The cake on arrival is very welcome and is gone by the third day! The cottage is better equipt than I ever imagined and if you need anything Jane and James are always happy to help.
Only 15 mins from Lochgilphead it's the perfect location for everyone. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else and I can't wait till October when we return!

P.s the chicken eggs were delicious!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for your lovely review - we are lucky to have such delightful, appreciative visitors. I'll be hoping for some October sunshine for you all (but better pack the wellies and waterproofs just in case!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We came back!! exactly 3 months since we came the first time! Bought family this time and they have had the best week ever in the Byre.
Longer days this time and the sunsets, especially tonight, have been awesome along with the best weather we have ever had "up North"! Kayaking in the loch and being followed by seals, climbing to the Arichonan ruins, short walk and well worth it for the fabulous view and history.
Thanks Jane for your little touches of eggs and hot cross buns and see you again very soon no doubt.
I don't know why I review this because I can foresee problems trying to book next time, as everyone will want to come here!! x

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Yours is not the quickest ever repeat visit but very close to it. Glad you enjoyed your second stay and look forward to seeing you again. You are braver than we are - kayaking in March is very impressive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at Kirkland Lodge in March and what a great time we had. The lodge is so comfortable and well prepared and a nice touch was the lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The scenery was amazing over Loch Sween and we saw wildlife in abundance including deer around the lodge and otters in the loch. There is so much to do in the area and information is provided in the lodge, but it was also entertaining watching the birds and red squirrels which visit the garden. The evenings were so quiet and relaxing that this was the perfect place to de stress and we will definitely be returning to Kirkland Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seafield3, Owner at Seafield Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks for your great review. It's fantastic that there is so much wildlife close to Kirkland Lodge and our visitors always enjoy watching the loch. Loch Sween and Achnamara are a little off the beaten track so you don't have to share the area with too many others. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
3.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
4.5 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
141 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
103 reviews
7.7 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 7 in Lochgilphead
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafield Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafield Farm Cottages

Address: Achnamara, Lochgilphead PA31 8PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochgilphead
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafield Farm Cottages are three lovely self catering holiday homes around Loch Sween, Argyll near the village of Achnamara. Byre and Stable Cottages each sleep 2 in two bedrooms and Kirkland Lodge sleeps 2 in one bedroom. All of our accommodation is exceptionally well equipped and comfortable and situated in a beautiful and little known part of the west coast of Scotland. Walking and wildlife in abundance. The perfect place for a relaxing holiday just two hours from Glasgow. We do not accept pets in any of our accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seafield Farm Cottages Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing