We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in a Country Estate”
Review of Kirnan House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirnan House B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb stay in a Country Estate”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently had the pleasure of being guests at Kirnan House. We originally planned on staying two nights and stayed three. That should give a quick idea of how much we enjoyed our time there. This country estate is set high on a wooded hill among gardens, stream, and fields. Your host, Ross will take you for walks through the gardens, past ancient pines, up a path to cup and ring marks in the stones, and to the fields where his pigs, sheep and horses live their pleasant lives, not to mention the ducks and chickens- and a time challenged rooster- who wander about. If fishing is your passion, Ross has salmon streams for the offer. Our room was lovely with chandelier, warm duvet and scenic watercolors of locally inspired vistas. All of the breakfasts we ate in Scotland were good, but this was by far the best. Ross must take his cooking seriously and serves a full range of fresh eggs, bacon, sausages, freshly baked bread, tomatoes, mushrooms and all the morning cold foods. The coffee and tea are both excellent. Oh right, there are tea and real coffee in the rooms as well.
Ross knows the Lochgilphead area thoroughly and his recommendations of restaurants, pubs, cruises and other attractions kept us in the area an extra day.

Room Tip: The four poster room is so cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 874Britt007874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossappleyard, Owner at Kirnan House B&B, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Glad you liked the breakfast. We make our own bacon and sausages from pigs and venison from the estate and our chickens and ducks provide the eggs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
52
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful for a few nights away and Kirnan House fitted the bill perfectly. The house is comfortable and you feel like you're staying in a home rather than just another b&b. There are lovely walks around the estate and also further afield. Food was good: we had dinner in-house one evening prepared by host Ross, breakfasts were just right and there were tea, coffee and biscuits in the bedroom (very comfy and cosy). The lounge was very comfortable and if you just wanted to relax inside there was a huge choice of books to read plus DVD player in the bedroom. There's no mobile phone signal at the house (Vodafone and Orange) but there is free wifi if you need to keep in contact with the world. The cats, dogs, sheep, donkeys and pigs are all very sociable and add to the overall lovely ambience of the place. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainewUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rossappleyard, Owner at Kirnan House B&B, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. One small update though, we now have a mobile phone signal for Vodafone and 02 although it can be variable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After a lovely drive through the beautiful Argyll countryside we arrived at Kirnan House. We were delighted by the beautiful gardens and uniquely fascinating Kirnan House. My husband and I had a lovely walk round the gardens meeting and chatting with other guests. Ross welcomed us warmly and later prepared us the best 'Botanist' Gin and Tonic I have tasted - very welcome after a tiring week. We then had a beautifully cooked four course meal cooked using very fresh fish, duck and vegetables (from the garden). We had a very enjoyable and relaxing evening with another couple and later when Ross joined us for more interesting conversation. The sitting room was a marvellous wood panelled room full of atmosphere. The four poster bed we had was very comfortable and we had an excellent sleep. In the morning I we had possibly the best tasting bacon eggs am mushrooms I have tasted. Unfortunately, I couldn't share the very freshly baked bread that my husband enjoyed - as I have a gluten intolerance. We enjoyed our visit so much that we booked a second visit a week later. It didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in Chapel cottage in May to celebrate a triple 50th. All six of us and our respective dogs were given a warm welcome by Ross and his assorted dogs, chickens and cockerel! The cottage was huge! Much roomier than we expected with a lovely warm and comfortable feel.

On Saturday we booked a meal with Ross which was delicious, local produce and beautifully prepared, it was a great evening with much wine and song enjoyed!

Kirnan is a beautiful sport with lovely walks, a great place for dogs! Ross and Diana are wonderful hosts, we would highly recommend it for any type of stay, family, friends or that quiet getaway!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

After a long but pleasant journey through outstanding scenery we arrived at Kirnan House in lovely late afternoon sunshine. We were initially welcomed by Ross and Di's daughter Beth along with a variety of friendly Spaniels and several chickens. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with tea and fresh ground coffee available, along with a nearby fridge containing milk. We soon met Di and Ross and dinner was arranged for 7pm, but we were invited to go down at 6.30 for drinks. To our surprise we were shown into the sitting room by Ross who in spite of being in the middle of cooking dinner had time to prepare us the most delicious gin and tonic. We had taken our own wine which was waiting on the table for us, and then treated to a 4 course dinner worthy of a 2 star restaurant. The cheese course, a baked Brie with oat cakes was served back in the sitting room, followed by coffee, where we were once again joined by our host for a glass of wine.
After a refreshing night's sleep in an extremely comfortable bed, it was back to the dinning room for fresh fruit salad followed by another delicious meal of bacon, home made sausage and eggs from the chickens clucking round the garden. After breakfast Ross took time to show us round the garden and introduced us to the rest of the family, consisting of lambs, pigs and donkeys. Ross and Di have taken on the enormous task of restoring the 26 acres of garden to their former glory, and if what they have done so far is anything to go by it will be truly magnificent. Our only disappointment was that we were only staying one night, as this lovely relaxing place with its delightful hosts deserves longer. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Both my husband and I had a lovely stay at Kirnan House. It was the perfect getaway from the city. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Ross Appleyard, our host and owner. He offered us coffee and then gave us a tour of the house and estate. We were accompanied by his 5 (?) dogs and 2 lambs whilst enjoying the beautiful countryside! The rest of our stay was just as warm as the welcome. Delicious farm style breakfast each morning, comfy beds, relaxing spa bath. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diddi4re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
4.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
277 reviews
15.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
7.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
137 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirnan House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirnan House B&B

Property: Kirnan House B&B
Address: Kilmichael Glen, Lochgilphead PA31 8QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirnan House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small but exclusive bed and breakfast business situated in the historic Kilmartin Glen area. We concentrate on providing luxurious accomodation and meals made from produce off our own estate including our own home made bacon and sausage with eggs from our free range chickens and ducks. The estate has 500 acres to roam around in full of deer and pine martens as well as six miles of private salmon fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Kirnan House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirnan House B&B Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing