We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochgair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lochgair Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Fife
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

I can only assume the previous reviewer was lost and not at the Lochgair hotel at all. During the course of my business I stay in many hotels and guest houses all over the country and abroad. I can tell you from experience that the Lochgair Hotel is is one of the friendliest and cleanest hotels I have been in. The fact I have stayed there on more than one occasion is testament to my statement, as I never go back to places where I have had poor service, food or cleanliness. The fact that these were leasure trips and I was spending my own money also demonstrates my belief in the excellent value for money that this hotel provides. I feel the owner did not need to reply to this unjustified bad review but his reply shows the type of commitmnet that the new owners are making to try to put their stamp on this hotel. I can heartily recommned this hotel to anyone looking for someplace in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    21
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
32
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

when we arrived we were greeted by a guy with no teeth,who claimed to be the manager...but appeared to be needing to take some medication! he also looked like he had just fell out of bed....and didnt have a clue about anything!!!!! the rooms are clean but falling apart and the decor in the hotel is awfull.....umm revamp needed!!!!!
we also were served our starters by a young girl who had the worst body odour we have ever smelt!!!! really disgusting..and put us of our dinner....even though the dinner its self was a disaster...who the hell cooked it?????? a chimp???
now like i said there was one good thing about this place....a lovely young man with a smile to stop you in your tracks,warm freindly and polite....think his name was jamie??? he was our saving grace really....it was very clear that he was the only one that had a clue what was happening!!!! we hope that the owners realise that jamie is the one good thing about the place....althoug we cant undersatan why he is wasting himself there!!!?? so awfull food and awfull rooms and awfull staff apart from the angel jamie!!! keep up the good work boy!!! and young girl....please have a wash!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdavis902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete886, Owner at Lochgair Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Hello, this is a response to your complaint about your stay with us in August, we are sorry your experience was not up to standard and we have taken measures to rectify your experience, the person who you met was not a manager he was a cook from the kitchen who should not have been front of house, and is no longer with us, he was also the chimp who cooked your food while the chef was ill, who is no longer with us either, so we have taken onboard your observations and employed a new chef and with the ongoing refurbishments that are in place for 2010 and 2011 will see a big improvement in the decor of the whole hotel. We have only owned the hotel since november and as you can appreciate to get the hotel to an acceptable standard takes a little time. Jamie is still here and we know how good he is. If you would like to contact us we will sort out a complimentary package suited to your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lochgilphead hotels

Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We only stayed one night on our way further north. The first impression of the decor when you enter reception is one of decaying retro 50s style, but the welcome from the staff is friendly and efficient.

The bedroom was spacious,clean, and comfortable.

The new owners have only been there since November 2009 and are gradually working their way round the decor problems.

The public room's style is not my choice of decor, but it is in keeping with the architecture.

The owners have obviously concentrated on getting the food side of the business to near perfection, as our evening meal was one of the best we have ever had in the West of Scotland, with most if not all of the ingredients having been sourced locally.

The staff were most attentive and helpful and we will certainly return if the opportunity arises.

We found it impossible to reconcile the experience of our stay with that of one of your reviewers who likened the place to that of a back-packing hostel!

Tonythemonk Bonnyrigg

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

this place is like stepping back in time. maybe they should have a sign at reception telling you to put your clocks back 30 years. our room was clean although that was its only saving grace. flaking paint, mouldy metal windows form the fifties i bet, and a pokey bathroom with the cheap lino all bubbling in the middle of the floor. the food was edible although we waited over 30 minutes for our starter and then 20 mins for the main which was smothered in chopped parsley and salad dressing. very friendly if embarrassed waiter who was politeness itself but miserable barman who was away from the bar when we wanted a nightcap. we went to bed without and had a fitful nights sleep in an uncomfortable bed. we had breakfast which tasted like Aldi fare and hastily beat a retreat back to the 21st century. would have stayed the week but not at those prices. maybe they should be a backpackers hostel instead. 1 star at best for the hotel. 2 star food, 5 star waiter-poor lad.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenseninter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Just back from a lovely weekend at The Lochgair. The team there couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and this hotel really has a laid back, relaxed attitude.
There's nothing especially grand or ultra-stylish, although there are a few hints of 50s retro charm here and there.
The place is absolutely spotless and our room was just fine - fresh, clean, warm, comfortable and spacious with nice linen and flat screen tv. The only slight downside was the soundproofing - we didn't feel quite so insulated against the outside world and the room next door as we would have in a more modern (or thick-walled Victorian) hotel - not enough to worry about though unless you are a very light sleeper. And it may have just been our room.

As for the food - it's exceptional. Breakfast was first rate. The lunch menu was ideal (and the freshly made pancakes not to be missed). And the evening bar meals were fantastic, especially the superb fresh fish and desserts (my caramel shortcake was made to order with the shortbread base straight from the oven - heaven!)

Location-wise, the scenery all around is stunning, and the Lochgair is an ideal base for touring Argyll - Inveraray Castle, Inveraray Jail, Auchindrain, Crinan Canal, and the gobsmacking Kilmartin Glen all just a short drive away. We also did some good walking nearby and the village itself is picture-postcard.

All in all, a great hotel, very welcoming and superb value for money especially on DBB.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sixteen-o-four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

I was looking for a hotel to go to with my Fiancee for Valentines weekend this year & came across the Lochgair Hotel on Google. They were offering a special Valentines package & I have always enjoyed travelling to the west coast, although my previous experience was that the hotels in Lochgilphead were a bit hot & cold. We are now happy that we have found a place that we both like & where we were made to feel very comfortable.

I must say that we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lochgair Hotel. The staff & the owner could not have been more helpful & were extremely nice to chat to. We had a double room on the 1st floor & it was a good sized, extremely clean, well decorated room with everything we needed in it. The tv only had the standard 5 channels, but apart from that we were very happy with what we were given. We had the normal menu on Friday night & the special Valentines menu on Saturday. We really enjoyed both & also had a couple of nice malts from their selection after. Breakfast was also very good, with a nice selection of fruits & cereals followed by smoked salmon & scrambled eggs for me & a Scottish cooked breakfast for my partner. We left on Sunday feeling very refreshed(although a bit hungover after the whisky!) & feeling that we had gotten good value for money.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet small hotel in a beautiful rural part of Scotland. The cost is not excessive for a 3 star hotel, although I would suggest contacting them before you book to see if there are any special deals on. The owner & staff are very attentive & the hotel itself seems to be in very good condition.

Even though we do like trying other places, I think we will be back hopefully in summer when the weather is a bit kinder! Although the log fire in the whisky bar did keep us nice & warm!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pachy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

I have to agree with the other comments regarding the hotel being a littled tired - i don't think there's much scope for debate regarding that, however, it's certainly not as bad as a lot of similar hotels and certainly not at the point where it's a massive problem. It was certainly clean.

The food was superb and it's location perfect if visiting the area.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 10 in Lochgilphead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horseshoe Inn
Horseshoe Inn
#4 of 10 in Lochgilphead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochgair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochgair Hotel

Property: Lochgair Hotel
Address: Lochgilphead PA31 8SA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lochgair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run traditional Scottish hotel with an award winning whisky bar which houses more than 200 whiskies, 2 restaurants, residents lounge, games room, function suite & most important of all a friendly welcome! All our food is freshly prepared by our chef patron & team and our seafood is quite simply the best in the world. You can be sure of a relaxing & enjoyable stay here at the Lochgair Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lochgair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochgair Hotel Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing