We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guest house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Travel Lodge

Empire Travel Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Empire Travel Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is my 3rd time I have stayed at The Empire working away from home. I told my boss after my 1st stay, if you send me back to Lochgilphead please book me into the Empire. I do like this b&b, the rooms are clean, spotless, warm & cozy, the bed is very comfy, every night I had a good sleep. Jim & Ellie, the owners are very friendly. The breakfast is fab too:-)
Des Allen, Glasgow

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
47
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked the whole hotel for my sister's birthday in late December.On arrival on a particularly blustery day we were greeted by co-owner Ellie.Who immediately made us feel very welcome.The rooms are spotlessly clean and warm.Later in the evening,we had booked dinner for 18.The food was homecooked,substantial and delicious.Service was swift,friendly and informative.After dinner eveeything was cleared away with the minimum of fuss,allowing us all to enjoy a good West of Scotland party.Complete with lots of alcohol and singing of variable quality!Astoundingly in these parts not a single penny was charged in corkage.The following morning,Jim and Ellie prepared a fresh breakfast,and were delighted that we'd had such a memorable evening.Many people(especially on the north-east of Scotland!)could study this couple as a template for genuine,committed hospitality.A pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanchoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Travelling on business can be tedious so when you arrive at your base for the night you just want everything to be 'just so' and the Empire Travel Lodge provides that. Spacious room, bath and shower with plenty of hot water, super fast free WiFi and a comfortable bed. Being able to control the heating in the room meant it was hot when I wanted it and off when I was sleeping (too many places provide you with no control, resulting in a stuffy room you cannot get to sleep in) tea and coffee making in the room, comfortable armchair so I don't have to sit on the bed when working or watching TV.

Breakfast cooked to order (perfect poached eggs!) and served very quickly.

All in all a great stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

Also enjoyed the history of the house (but won't spoil that for you, you will have to stay to find it out!)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IslayAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Jim and Ellie welcomed me at the door on arrival, lovely couple who make you feel right at home from the second you arrive, the reception area is spotless as is the whole place, shown to my room which is very spacious, clean and has personal touches like shower gel and shower cap in bathroom, hair dryer, a kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits to name a few, Jim showed me how to work heating in room which is very simple and can be turned on timer for half an hour, 1 hour or 2 and comes on anytime which is great as I was never cold. The rooms have free wifi which isn't slow. The bed is a good size and very comfortable with 2 pillows each. I had my evening meal and breakfast and both were delicious and home made, They have a good selection to choose from. Honestly could not pick any faults with this place and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We only stayed one night but would happily stay here again and for longer next time. We were given a warm welcome and shown the layout. The room was spotless, well equipped with those little personal touches and very comfortable. The breakfast was superb and definitely set us up for the day. Jim and Ellie are excellent hosts and we a looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Comfortable bed. Spacious and spotlessly clean room. Great breakfast. Home cooked food is served in the Bistro in the evenings. Jim and Ellie were very welcoming hosts. Definitely a place to return to if in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Empire Travel Lodge on one of our last nights during a two week trip to Scotland and could not have been happier. We found it to be the perfect base to explore the ancient monuments located in Kilmartin. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room layout is similar to an upscale motel and you don't get the claustrophobic feeling of invading someone's home as with some B&Bs. The bathroom had a very comfortable bath which I loved and the breakfast was delicious. It was a real bonus to be on the ground floor: we were able to bring in and consolidate two weeks of accumulated purchases and luggage from the parking lot. No need to lug suitcases up narrow staircases in someone's home. The wifi was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Power18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
10.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
12.0 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Travel Lodge

Property: Empire Travel Lodge
Address: Union Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Empire Travel Hotel Lochgilphead
Travel Lodge Scotland
Empire Travel Lodge Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing