We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay”

Empire Travel Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Empire Travel Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night and couldn't have been made more welcome. Rooms were clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Quiet location with a freshly prepared breakfast.
We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townfan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
48
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel provides clean, comfortable accommodation and an excellent breakfast. It is in a quiet location so a good night's sleep is pretty much guaranteed. Ele and Jim the "hands on" owners are very friendly and informal and keen to ensure that guests needs are met. An added bonus is that the evening meals cooked by Ele are the best you will find in Lochgilphead! Remember to book in advance you won't regret it. It is good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a very spacious twin with a large shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 522maggiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 5 days & couldn't have been made more welcome. Clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast & a good choice of food at night (would recommend broccoli & Stilton soup if its on the menu ).good place for a stay when in argyll Would recommend very much.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbain11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Stanley, UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is located off the Main Street and has a lot of history (the building was a cinema in two locations before being converted). Rooms are spacious and well appointed with all the things you need to make you comfortable. The owners, Ele and Jim, were excellent from the moment they open the door to greet you. Food is also very good with a wide range of tasty evening meals and an excellent breakfast. Safe parking round the back and a short walk for a number of pubs and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: As they don't have a licence for alcohol, if plan to eat in the hotel they are happy for you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Empire. We were greeted by Elle with a huge smile and shown to very pleasant ground floor rooms, a real relief after climbing numerous flights of stairs at other stays. Breakfast was great and off street parking was a bonus. Highly recommend you consider the Empire Travel Lodge when visiting this wonderful area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice And Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There will be a very warm Argyll & Bute welcome waiting for you at The Empire Travel Lodge! Ely & Jim made us feel more than welcome during our 12 night stay and were also very happy for us to take our Border Collie pup' with us too! The accommodation was very comfortable, breakfasts were excellent and the evening meal we had was of very good quality indeed. A lovely place to stay in an absolutely breathtaking part of the country ~ beautiful scenery, excellent fresh Scottish air and lovely people ~ highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are of good quality as far as I am aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcaucin, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is an ideal place to stay when travelling on business. All facilities that you might need were available. The owners Ele and Jim could not have been more helpful and their attention to detail was first class. If you are looking for a pretty, chintzy styled hotel with a good view of the loch book elsewhere but for good value for money, a very well equipped, comfortable room and being well looked after this this the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniePie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
2.3 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
7.1 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Travel Lodge

Property: Empire Travel Lodge
Address: Union Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Empire Travel Hotel Lochgilphead
Travel Lodge Scotland
Empire Travel Lodge Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing