We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The Corran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Corran
Ranked #5 of 7 Lochgilphead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We loved The Corran, the bedrooms were utterly charming, the views amazing, breakfast delicious. The guest lounge was very comfortable. Nothing has been overlooked. The garden is a haven for small birds who dart in and out of the feeders constantly. Joanna and her husband are so lovely. A perfect choice for the area.
We spent some time exploring the Crinan canal which was very interesting. Next time we will make sure that we stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

Can't fault our stay in The Corran. Comfortable and immaculately clean bedroom / bathroom, great breakfasts, cosy guest lounge and very helpful staff. The views are also stunning. Would highly recommend, we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyJo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Decor was eclectic - Dr Finlay's Casebook meets Anouska Hempel (in a nice and tasteful way). Stayed in cottage and in main house - the upstairs bedrooms were the best imho - but I see from the other reviews that other people have their own favourites. Continental breakfast does not actually include stuff like croissants - so better described as toast/cereal/yogurt/fruit breakfast - but there was loads. The full breakfast was great - and they did boiled eggs on request for faddy children, with no fuss - and so I was very impressed at the level of service. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless, and we walked along the Canal - which was just across the road - and highly picturesque. Staff were lovely, and there was a cute dog there as well.

Lovely garden - full of birds (in laws were less impressed as birds pooed in large quantities on their car - other cars were not affected. Perhaps the local sparrows don't like Jags?).

Room Tip: I thought the upstairs rooms inside the main hotel were really excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PelerinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Corran and its wonderful staff - Special Thanks to Joanne, Martin and Jean, simply the best. The price per person included accommodation as well as the very best Scottish breakfast. We were fortunate enough to stay in the separate cottage. Ask about the availability of the two bedroom cottage with the sun room. The cottage provided us with our own small kitchen so we were able to cook the occasional dinner, thanks to the wonderful selection at the local butchers. We had our own livingroom to relax in at night. Our cottage would have easily accommodated a family of 5. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the near by stream lulled us to sleep. The Crinan Canal and the town of Lochgilphead are an easy walking distance to The Corran. The Corran's location was perfect in that it is centrally located at a cross roads - north to Inveraray, south to Campbeltown and west to Oban. The town of Lochgilphead offered everything needed - great fish and chips, wonderful selection of produce and local meats at the butcher shop ( especially loved the home made steak pie), liquor store, great craft/gift shops, gas station and everything you need grocery store chain. While in Lochgilphead make certain to take a few days to explore Kilmartin ( Museum and historical sites) and hike along the Crinan Canal. Take a day trip to Campbeltown along the west coast and then return along the east coast of the Kintyre Peninsula - stop into Tarbert and have dinner at the Victoria Hotel. For another great day trip take the A816 for a lovely drive to Oban. Even if it is raining, there is lots to see in the town and along the way. If you are doing ancestry research in the area, be sure to stop by the Argyll Bute Council Office located in the town center of Lochgilphead. Here you can have access to extensive information that will assist you in your research and great people who are more than willing to help. Throughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to be back some day soon. Thank you again to the wonderful staff at The Corran and the lovely friendly people of Lochgilphead. Hospitality at its Best.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is a lovely B&B. We stayed in room 1, and there was adequate space for 2 adults and 2 children. The ensuite was lovely and big, one recommendation would be to install a bath, as the ensuite is huge and would be helpful with bathing children. The room was lovely and clean and all home comforts were provided. Would suggest blackout blinds or heavier curtains for windows, but that is a minor recommedation.
Breakfast was great too, well cooked and alot of choice.
We would definately stay here again and recommend.
Well done

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlegem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief 3 day stay. We were in one of the cottages which was spacious ,clean and very comfortable
The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and served in a beautiful dining room with stunning views.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing.
I am sure that if we visit this area again The Corran will be first on our list.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BilkoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I am sorry to say we found our one night stay at the Corran disapointing.
The issue that disapointed us was that on the day of our arrival, the double room we had booked turned into a twin room. I remarked that we had booked a double a number of weeks ago, to which the member of staff agreed, but told us she had to make some changes to fit other people in. Okay we still had a bed for the night, but if I book a specific type of room I expect to get what I booked.

Although the member of staff was pleasant, at least some form of apology regarding the situation might have been appropriate under the circumstances, but none was forthcoming.
In addition it might be a good idea to have given us a quick guided tour, i.e. back door dining room etc.
We both opted for a continental breakfast, and were slightly disappointed at the choice, maybe we should have gone for the cooked option.
I don't give a negative review lightly, and from the previous reviews I seem to be in the minority, and maybe this was a bad weekend for them, but a review is based on personal experience, and on this occasion our experience was not a favourable one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikestoWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lochgilphead
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
141 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,499 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 7 in Lochgilphead
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran

Address: The Corran Poltalloch Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lochgilphead
Price Range: £50 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corran 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Corran Hotel Lochgilphead
The Corran Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing