We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poshweare”
Review of The Argyll Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Argyll Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were made so welcome at this lovely hotel for a three night stay. The new owners and the staff (since February 2012) were very friendly and helpful, especially as the previous owners had not passed on our booking details from the previous October! Our room was clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom and we were not disturbed by late night noise, even though the bar is open until 1am!
The breakfast was excellent and the evening meals either in the bar or the restaurant were really good too, combined with excellent service, so that after the first evening we continued to eat there from a varied and reasonably priced menu. The new owners are making a big impact with a current refurbishment of the bar area and a future upgrade for the accommodation. We were made to feel very much at home and will stay there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poshforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We overnighted here whilst touring and found the room very clean and comfortable. We were not bothered by any noise from the bar and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight in the hotel during a quick week-end away. Our room was basic, but spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and the service was excellent. Good food as well - a great breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed here and was in room 5 and yes there is a droning noise but the new owners are aware of the noise problem and switch the air conditioning unit off at night and then the noise stops.
I was speaking to the new owners and they have been here since february this year and seem to be doing a great job. The hotel has not got any great views but is comfortable and clean and has a great atmosphere about it. The staff are very attentive and helpful. Some of the rooms are over a bar but during the week it is not overly busy so I dont think it would be too much of a problem for noise. I paid £60 B & B per night for a double room for myself and husband and the breakfast was very good. We also ate dinner in the hotel and I cannot fault it as it was excellent in taste and value(You can get 2 courses for £12 but the meals are generous and I couldn't manage a second course). I will certain use again when in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVD359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We popped in twice for a lunchtime snack..it's a 'real' pub with noisy, cheery customers and big comfy sofas either side of a real open fire. Staff friendly too and v obliging. My husband had the excellent home cooked soup and I had a delicious melted goats cheese on ciabatta with salad leaves.

Room Tip: we didnt stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a busy town pub and restaurant so don't expect peace and quiet ! Some might find the bar area a bit intimidating - locals quite lively, watching footie, playing pool etc. The rooms are clean, basic but in need of updating. However very good value and the food makes up for the rooms. Breakfast very good, meals in the restaurant interesting and good value, substantial portions - you won't go hungry !! Simple but good wine list in the restaurant. Owners, chef & staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant appeared to have a lot of locals eating there as well as visitors. Good wifi connection.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Arrriving at the Argyll Inn to spend the weekend in Scotland for a friend's wedding, for £75 a night for a twin room, we were expecting a little more than a badly decorated room with a horrendous noise problem! The room was dull with off-white wood chip wallpaper, two clean but fairly indiscriminate beds, and possibly the worst noise problem in Scotland! We were staying in room 6 which is directly above the bar, and its safe to say that we didn't get to sleep until gone 3am due to the noise downstairs in the bar! The pissheads rolling out into the street we're followed by people running up and down the stairs, opening and closing doors and we could hear every step. Basically, if someone farted or sneezed, you heard it! Quite possibly the worst night's sleep I've ever had! We alsonoticed that there was a halloween party booked in the bar until 2am on the saturday night so awoken bleary - eyed by noise from the road, we decided to look for another B+B for the saturday night.

Having said that, once we got downstairs to breakfast, we almost forgot how bad a night's sleep we'd had because the lady was so friendly and the breakfast was delicious!!! The bar and restaurant downstairs is newly refurbished and the menu also looked impressive. The lady as incredibly appologetic for the noise, but unfortunately it still wasn't enough to get us to stay another night and we checked out just after breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huggy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lochgilphead
81 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
706 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,505 reviews
11.9 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Argyll Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Argyll Inn

Address: 69 Lochnell Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair and Steven welcome you to The Argyll Inn, a wee gem in the heart of Argyll. Our main bar is a lively, sports oriented bar with snooker table, darts board and serving an array of popular drafts, bottles, and spirits, as well as soft drinks. We are open 11am - 1am daily, 7 days a week. With almost weekly events, we are sure that you will enjoy the welcoming atmosphere and great caric from our staff and locals alike. Come and sit a while by the log fire, have a dram & relax. The Argyll Inn is undergoing a period of substantial renovation, including a full new kitchen and construction of a lounge bar next door to the main bar. Here we hope to offer a wide range of specialty whiskies, bottled craft beer and a low key atmosphere. We hope to cater to the discerning punter who enjoys a quieter place for a drink, soundtracked with regular acoustic sessions from local and not so local musicians. Out room offerings are a combination of single, double, twin and family rooms which can accommodate any type of guest. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable and are suitable for those who are looking for a stop over in Lochgilphead at great value. Currently we are offering room only rates but once our kitchen is up and running at the end of August we will offer B&B and dinner packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Argyll Inn Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing