We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover”
Review of The Argyll Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochgilphead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Argyll Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a 3 day trip to Argyle shire. The owner Karen and all the staff were very pleasant and good crack. A down to earth hotel with good food and decent bar prices. really enjoyed our stay. Even went the extra mile to help on of our group who arrived late and kept the kitchen open for him and partner to have some grub.
Absolutely brilliant service.
Would i stay here again .damn right I would.
Cheers Karen and staff for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Really friendly. good craik. no rip off prices. highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gogs11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
27
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Even though the kitchen had stopped serving the friendly barman and staff ensured that we got lunch, they even welcomed the dog too with a nice big bowl of cold water.
Very nice food and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I were looking for a weekend away for our 30th wedding anniversary and we could not have got a better place to stay the staff where very worm and friendly and the food was so good it was if we were eating in a top restaurant

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First impressions here were not good - a dingy set of stairs with ancient carpet leading up from the bar to a gloomy corridor. Initially, the room (room 8) failed to impress either, with the same tired and somewhat grubby carpet and very basic furniture with a tiny flat screen TV. However, it grew on me. Despite the mattress being lumpy and fairly old by the feels of things, the bedding was spotlessly clean. The shower room was good too - it looked like it has been recently refurbished and offered a really spacious and very clean shower along with plentiful fluffy towels.

The room overlooked the main street and although the window was double glazed there was still plenty of noise from early morning traffic..

Breakfast was quite superb, really excellently cooked with great quality bacon and a proper cup of tea. I found myself feeling that it was a shame that I had arrived too late the previous night to try the rest of the food.

For £50 for B&B (I think it would have been just £40 but I asked for a double room for single occupancy) there really wasn't too much to complain about. I wouldn't stay here for more than one night, but would use it again if I find myself in this little town set amongst stunning scenery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The worst nights sleep me and my partner have ever had. The noise from below the room continued untill 2am then started again at 5am from above.

The reception on the (postage stamp sized) television was unbearable and there was no internet connection. The breakfast however was incredible. Although staying awake long enough to eat it after such a poor nights sleep was an art in itself.

I would not give this Inn a second visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This pub had a warm and welcoming atmosphere and the person serving us was both friendly and effieient.

There were some well-kept ales and the food, such as the steak and ale pie that I chose, and the various fish specials on the board, were substantial and tasty pub fare and just what was needed on a rather grey and unpleasant May evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arderyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here one night on business.

Rooms are fine very B&B comfy and clean so no complaints. Room was spacious yet noisy as I was just above the kitchen so could hear fans and noise all night.

Ate at the hotel bar where the food was nice and also had breakfast the following day. Good selection of papers and cooked or ceral options. Very friendly service from all the staff.

Fine for a short stay and very resonably priced. No faults and good staff - not celubrious.

Room Tip: Back has noise from fans and kitchen - front looks onto main road. If I stayed on a weeknight I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgilphead
0.0 mi away
Lochgair Hotel
Lochgair Hotel
#3 of 3 in Lochgilphead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Allt-Na-Craig
Allt-Na-Craig
#1 of 2 in Ardrishaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kilfinan Hotel
Kilfinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilfinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Argyll Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Argyll Inn

Property: The Argyll Inn
Address: 69 Lochnell Street, Lochgilphead PA31 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Lochgilphead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochgilphead
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair and Steven welcome you to The Argyll Inn, a wee gem in the heart of Argyll. Our main bar is a lively, sports oriented bar with snooker table, darts board and serving an array of popular drafts, bottles, and spirits, as well as soft drinks. We are open 11am - 1am daily, 7 days a week. With almost weekly events, we are sure that you will enjoy the welcoming atmosphere and great caric from our staff and locals alike. Come and sit a while by the log fire, have a dram & relax. The Argyll Inn is undergoing a period of substantial renovation, including a full new kitchen and construction of a lounge bar next door to the main bar. Here we hope to offer a wide range of speciality whiskies, bottled craft beer and a low key atmosphere. We hope to cater to the discerning punter who enjoys a quieter place for a drink, soundtracked with regular acoustic sessions from local and not so local musicians. Out room offerings are a combination of single, double, twin and family rooms which can accommodate any type of guest. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable and are suitable for those who are looking for a stop over in Lochgilphead at great value. Currently we are offering room only rates but once our kitchen is up and running at the end of August we will offer B&B and dinner packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Argyll Inn Lochgilphead, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing