We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but great”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Westward at Crinan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Lochgilphead
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lochwinnoch
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quirky but great”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had been for a walk along the Crinan canal and had worked up an appetite. We had wanted t Try the Crinan hotel for some time so took our chance when we had it. The restaurant, at first sight, looked a wee bit dowdy. But it was clean enough and smelled of very good food so we stuck to our guns and sat down. A good number of the seats looked like converted church pews but were very much more comfortable. My wife had a seafood stew in a cream sauce. She loved it. I had razor clams with salad leaves. Again, great. The atmosphere in the restaurant was very relaxed. No one rushed us to finish and they were fairly relaxed about the bill. During our meal I watched a fishing boat being unloaded and one of the seamen brought a case of razor clams into the hotel for the kitchen. I guess you can't get much fresher than that. The toilets were spotless with plenty of hot water and a choice of hand towel or drier. I will definitely be back here at the next available opportunity!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BioToxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Time travelling in the right direction.”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just go and experience this yourself. You will not be disappointed with anything, except maybe that everything is old but that's the point. The whole area and the hotel is trapped in time and it's great. It's a true life Brigadoon. Not that I'm suggesting that Brigadoon isn't real. But this is.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Having had a meal in the Seafood Bar on Monday night, we decided to eat in the more formal Westward on Wednesday and what a treat it was!! We had a round table at the back of the restaurant and although we ended up by ourselves, it was just fabulous. There were 4 choices of starters; I had the scallop brochettes and my husband had the smoked salmon. Both were lovely. The soup was a shellfish veloute and was super. There were again 4 choices for the main course and I had halibut and my husband had lamb; again both wonderful. For dessert I had peach sabayon and my husband had cheese and we both thoroughly enjoyed them. The service was very good without being overwhelming, as it might have been considering we were on our own. The whole experience was just wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quine19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By yourself no problem”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Sometimes, being by oneself is awkward, not here, made to feel welcome, the service was brilliant, the food (scallops) fantastic. Despite weather, the view and the spectacle of watching boats negotiating the locks are well worth a visit. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fish, chips and a view”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Cosy bar with excellent fish and chips andview of the comings and going at the entrance to the Crinan canal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gogarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Westward at Crinan Hotel also viewed

Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Westward at Crinan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing