We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
35
23
2
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
23
2
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed at this Hotel as part of a group of Mountain Cyclists in August this year. The service was friendly and most helpful, rooms were a reasonable size and most had a bath to wallow in, there was also a Sauna if we wanted it. The food at dinner that night was excellent and many people had come quite some distance to eat there, the waitresses were great. Breakfast in the morning was first class, defnitely stay there again

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but not all have baths, so if you want a bathroom ask in advance
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobTheDogsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had booked a night at the Ben View on our way to Mull. However, it was such a friendly place to stay, with an amazing menu to boot, that we rejected Mull and came back. It has to be admitted that the rooms are basic but they are clean , plus there is the bonus of a drying room for the inevitable wet walking gear, with a choice of sauna or hot tub at the end of the day. What more could you ask of £40 per night accommodation! Graham is a host par excellence, and he and Ronnie together serve up wonderful meals - the scallops were especially good...but so were the lamb chops...and the steak...and the breakfasts. Plus there are some excellent malt whiskies for the night-time toddy if you want one. A great little place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I cannot recall how I first found the Ben View Hotel, but find it I did and return I have - several times! On first glance you might wonder how a wooden structure built around an old cottage could have such an attraction - dont't be deceived! This is truly a family run hotel, with nine en-suite bedrooms. If you so desire you could use one of their self catering cottages across the car park from the hotel,taking meals in the hotel. Hosts Graham and Jo will guarantee you will enjoy your stay at this hotel. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and the exuberant Graham always seems to be there when needed. This is a non-smoking a hotel and the rooms are clean and tidy. They do not boast televsion but there is a very confortable television lounge in which, courtesy of satellite TV, you can pick up the home news for your part of the UK. Also available should you need it is free wifi. The bar is well stocked and you can eat there, as many locals do. There are two chefs, host Graham who is complemented by Ronnie. The food they produce, with local produce which includes such delights as scallops and venison, is excellent and frequently shows inovation beyond your expectations. I am not sure who dreams up the wonderful food combinations but long may they do so. An ideal base to explore the great wilderness area of Ardanmurchan.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cyffyllog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I spent 5 days at this hotel with a group of friends. This is an ideal location to explore this remote and unspoilt part of Scotland. The rooms were basic but well maintained and functional and I felt very comfortable . The food was superb and I cannot fault the menu which gave plenty of choice and quality food. The owner /manager is a great personality and really looks after his guests

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rontess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I've stayed here on numerous occasions and have fully enjoyed the location, staff and exceptional level of service and food in this wonderful family run business.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews