We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay in great surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious stay in great surroundings”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay at Kilcamb Lodge, run by Sally and David Ruthven-Fox. I was hoping for a relaxed family trip (with dog in tow) and the visit surpassed my expectations. The accommodation was plush yet comfortable, the service subtly attentive and the food outstanding. The chef is clearly a great asset, with a varied menu appealing to all tastes: attention to detail like the flavouring of the dinner rolls and the variety of petit fours was gorgeous.
Can highly recommend this place for couples, families or business travellers.

Room Tip: We had both a loch view room and a side room (for dog accommodation): both had lovely views. Loch vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    55
    22
    11
    0
See reviews for
59
386
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was our first stay at Kilcamb and we received a lovely warm welcome after a long drive. The settng is stunning, set back from the loch. The room was comfortable and welcoming.
Dinners were delicious - I couldn't eat such good food every night, but for a couple of nights it was a real treat. Service was relaxed, efficient and friendly.
We were blessed with good weather too so could go and explore the area - a wonderful part of Scotland that is well worth the effort to see. I hope we can return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location Friendly staff quality accommodation and exquisite food breakfast to dinner although we didn't do afternoon tea!! Thank goodness I though the whole experience was that of quality and staff could not do enough to satisfy every need. Cleanliness and comfort of the "suite" as a provision against the weather, but although the weather was good and we enjoyed the extra space. Wine, a little too expensive for my palet I thought having stayed in higher class accommodation in Scotland but that was the only criticism

Get that right and we will return!! Thanks from us both

Room Tip: Corner suite was a lovely location and outlook and the little extra space makes a big difference es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A warm welcome, very friendly helpful staff, excellent food, attention to detail was superb. Avery comfortable well run hotel in a magnificent setting.



Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Having returned for three nights (June 2012) after well over ten years absence, we found Kilcamb Lodge to be superb. It's a lovely small hotel in an absolutely stunning position, and it comes complete with a warm cozy atmosphere, excellent service, lovely rooms and absolutely gorgeous food. We even saw an Otter from our bedroom window!!! We'll be back.

John & Mary Croft
(Shropshire)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr.Mole.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level 6 Contributor
676 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is just the nicest hotel ever! Friendly , unpretentious, efficient, great food , great room, wonderful views (from room 7) of mountain and loch. Can't fault it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband treated me to a weekend break for my Birthday at the end of May and I wasn't disappointed, right from the time we arrived to when we left everything was spot on and as I work in the hotel trade I feel I know what should be expected, the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us, even down to someone mending a broken bracelet ( which was only a cheap store one) I had put in the bin, a big thank you to whoever that was. The room was spotless and spacious and had a wonderful view with stunning scenery. The food we had during our stay was very well presented, of a high quality and very tasty and the porridge we had for breakfast is highly recommended. Mind you we did have the added benefit of the hot weather the whole time we stayed which made the whole weekend even better, we would defiantly return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asmith654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
145 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
334 reviews
8.7 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing