We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed several times at this wonderful hotel and our recent stay was just as good as ever. The rooms are extremely well-appointed and scrupulously clean. We ate in the dining room each night with its elegant atmosphere and enjoyed the excellent food on offer. The hotel staff were efficient, attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay. John and Judith

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have to say most of the food was out of this world. Fortunately we have very small appetites and prefer quality to quantity so were satisfied even though the delicious morsels were exceptionally miniscule.. Fortunately also, we had ordered a side portion of chips so were able to fill up on a few of these .Again excellent big chunky crispy chips.
The receptionist was very good, but showed us straight to our seats in a noisy pub type room. On the phone we had been offered the choice of a formal dining room. We asked instead to relax and have a pre drink in the lounge which was fine. When we returned to our seats (carrying our own drinks) the room had quieted a little, but it still felt cramped. We had to ask twice for water. The one choice of bread roll (white) was served cold and had a very doughy texture.I don't think they can really justify their very high prices until they attend to these few important details and serve very slightly larger portion sizes.We were non residents so cannot comment on rooms etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you thought our food was "out of this world", but sorry to read that your expectations were not fully met regarding portion size and ambiance. I am very surprised as your comments are completely out of character with our establishment. After a total refurbishment in January 2013, our Brasserie has met with resounding acclaim for both the ambiance and it's "New England" style decor, with never a complaint about portion sizes being small; quite the contrary in fact. I regret we were unable to offer you a table in our restaurant on this occasion, sadly it was fully booked over an extremely busy Easter period. I wish you had commented to our staff at the time however, since we may well have been able to offer you a restaurant table, after a short wait with an aperitif by the fire.
Thank you nevertheless for taking the time to review us and we do hope your experience will not prevent you returning again soon when I hope that we can offer you our best table in our lovely loch view Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently spent two nights at Kilcamb Lodge in a peaceful location on the edge of Loch Sunart and surrounded by beautiful countryside.

After a very warm welcome things just got better. Our loch-view room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. The bathroom, with large shower, fluffy towels and a wide range of luxury toiletries was delightful. We appreciated having the bed turned down each night.

We ate all of our meals in the intimate dining room where the tables were laid with crisp table linen and sparkling glasses. The delicious meals were served by attentive, inobtrusive but friendly staff.

We hope to enjoy staying at the Lodge again in the future, and to explore more of the surrounding area.

A huge thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Mo and Jim

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Kilcamb for two nights on our honeymoon. It really is special - we went for the smallest room but it was still perfect, comfortable and peaceful with lovely views. We ate in the brasserie both nights, and the food was absolutely excellent - keep an eye out for the seafood specials, the lobster was one of the best I've ever eaten.

Despite the hotel boiler packing up and there being a two-hour power cut one evening, neither problem affected us at all - we had an electric heater in our room and eating lobster by candlelight is difficult to beat! The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at kilcamb Lodge, 3 couples with dogs in tow and so we were allocated doggy suitable rooms, we had our own little entrance to take dogs in and out of and blankets, bones, mats etc were all provided, even a toy to take home.

THe lodge is lovely, clean, nicely furnished and feels just like staying in a friends house, the staff are wonderful, Magdalena, Carmen and the young male waiter ( his name escapes me ) nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was delightful, everything from Scottish smoked Salmon to porridge with cream and a wee dram of whisky, suitably full we went off on a lovely walk to the Singing Sands, we even managed to have afternoon tea twice, once outside in the sunshine and once in the second drawing room surrounded by lovely books and old games.

The highlight of our stay had to be the evening meal though, beautiful from start to finish, the chef was amazing, Fresh Scallops with local Black pudding, beetroot and chilli jam was fabulous, we ate both evenings in the dining room, at our lovely table which we also used for breakfast.

I would say the 'doggy friendly rooms' could probably do with an update but it certainly didn't detract from our stay at all, they were clean, warm and comfortable, just a little old fashioned for my taste, very Scottish is how I would describe them.

I would have no hesitation in saying it was one of the nicest weekends away in a long time, especially if you like good food and relaxing, stunning surroundings……..just please don't tell too many people !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveskiing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My first time to strontian and kilcamb and the only downside is it was only for one night
The hotel is situated on the shores of loch sunart in strontian and as they say in the red guide definitely worth a special trip ! Excellent food and hospitality

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank theflyingwineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first visit to Kilcamb lodge hotel and we would say that it lived up to its reputation.We were met with a very friendly Magdalena who was very efficient and showed us our room which was number 5 with views over Loch Sunart.The room was tastefully decorated with a separate sitting area and TV,s in the bedroom and sitting room.The room and bathroom were extremely spacious and well appointed.After a pleasant walk round the grounds we got ready for dinner and drinks,the dining room was a joy to behold with sparkling glassware and cutlery.The service was first class as was the meal.All the courses were cooked and presented to a standard that would be hard to find in a Michelin starred restaurant.Cleanliness was apparent in all areas of the hotel.We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent with views over the ground and Loch Sunart
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
207 reviews
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range: £176 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing