We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dining and Welcoming even to Vegetarians!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently spent a week in Ardnamurchan just outside Strontian. On a wet day we wanted somewhere for a decent lunch so called in to the Kilcamb Hotel and were warmly welcomed and immediately shown to a table in the Driftwood Brasserie - a very small intimate area next to the bar. The carnivores in the party chose twice cooked belly pork (with all important crackling!) and battered chicken with oriental dip - note chunky chips were extra - do ask what comes with the mains. The vegetarians had one choice - Butternut Squash Tortellini – Sun-blushed Tomatoes, Rocket & Parmesan - pesto sauce. This was very rich and tasty and we were glad we ordered a salad to accompany it. (keep reading for vegetarian info)
The waiter was very attentive and appeared to be "in-training" but could not be faulted - pleasant and very apologetic if he thought he had not understood us. He offered us the choice of coffee in the lounge - a very bright and comfortable room as you enter the hotel. This was a very relaxing way to finish a most enjoyable lunch.
When we came to pay my husband explained we had already reserved a table in the Brasserie for that coming Friday evening. He pointed out that as myself and my sister are strict vegetarian he was concerned that as the menu is a set menu we would not have any choice for our return visit. He was immediately assured that if the chef knew in advance he would
add further vegetarian dishes to the menu.
So we returned on the Friday - the Brasserie filled up - another table of 4 and two other couples meant only one free table. Tables are quite close to one another but as other reviews explain the hotel has another restaurant for a more formal dining experience.
We had not been seated long before the manageress came over and offered us the "special vegetarian menu" This was brilliant! We had thought there would be just another choice on the specials board. Not so we had our own menu with 4 starters, 3 mains and the usual desserts. I began with the asparagus spears and poached egg- lovely and followed this with tomato and olive tart topped with melted brie which came with a very good salad of lettuce leaves, walnuts and baby tomatoes. I was glad I had not ordered additional chips or potatoes as this was filling enough. My sister began with the mushroom risotto and repeated the butternut squash tortellini as she had enjoyed it so much earlier in the week!! Carnivores well catered for from the set menu and the specials board which was mainly seafood. My husband is still raving about his dessert -Iced whiskey parfait with earl grey soaked prunes!!
Many thanks for being so accommodating to us vegetarians. We left promising a glowing review - we had excellent lunch and evening meals and cannot fault the friendliness of the informal service. Heartily recommend you visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnSafariAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice lounges, decor and service. Menu is fixed but extensive and varied. it can by supplemented with the specials. Each meal starts with"nibbles" - olives, hummus and mini bread sticks which seems a poor substitute for canapes or amuse bouche for an establishment which promotes fine dining. Meals are well presented and cutlery & crockery are beautiful.
Room 1 is noisy as there is a huge freezer below which switches on and off throughout the night. when this was mentioned to Lizzie we were immediately moved without any fuss to room 5 which is a beautiful suite.
The view across Loch Sunart from the hotel is stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcambfoxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were offered an upgrade after your problem with the noise in your room. I am glad you were happy with the upgrade to one of our suites. We have discovered that the problem arose because the fridge was malfunctioning and in fact broke down the following day. We have since had it repaired and it is now operating normally again. I am therefore confident that future guests will be able to enjoy a restful and peaceful night in room 1 in future but I am very sorry you suffered the inconvenience.

I am sorry you felt our canapes were in any way inadequate. The change has come about because we are now operating a much fuller A la Carte menu with more emphasis of our lovely new Seafood Specials as well. Whilst our restaurant is a very elegant room with crisp white linens, crystal gasses, fresh flowers and candlelight, we are now moving towards a more relaxed and less formal approach to dining which is reflected in many aspects of our food and menus including changing our canape service as well. We have removed all reference to fine dining from our web site and from Tipadvisor but we

With reference to your room tips: We have never had any complaints about noise from the fire door outside room 2. The door in question is controlled by a magnet which keeps it open all the time and only releases the door in the case of the fire alarm being activated.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope you will come and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We ate in the Basserie ,on a Saturday night when the dining room was full.Unfortunately, we were the only diners but this did not diminish our experience.The food was excellent as was the service. My husband and I had a cold fish starter which looked beauitful and tasted delicious.[£14.95 each] My main was fish pie with vegetables.The portion looked small but tasted wonderful and was sufficient.No pudding for me but my husband had enjoyed his. The restaurant seems to specialise on using local produce especailly fish.
The setting for this lodge is fabulous. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful couple of days at Kilcamb Lodge - a regular annual pilgrimage of ours and once again we were spoiled and cosseted every step of the way.

As a non meat eater, l was delighted to see a new seafood specials blackboard in the Brasserie (also served in the lovely restaurant) which featured some great choices of seafood and shellfish. I enjoyed Langoustines, Calamari, Oysters, Mussels and Crab during my two evenings and there was a fantastic Seafood sharing platter which l saw but did not try on this occasion. It looked stunning - lots of fresh fish but not too much shell to manhandle which suits me very well. Judging by the full Restaurant and Brasserie on both evenings, l would say that the seafood is a big hit, we have never seen it so busy. Keep it going please!!

Service as always was faultless, despite two new and rather nervous serving staff who were still in the training phase but they were nevertheless polite and charming at all times and displayed an eagerness to please which is such a feature of this hotel.

We also noticed a new WiFi system throughout the hotel so at last l had a good signal at all times. Something of a frustration on previous visits!!

This is a great place to enjoy a relaxing few days in a stunning and unspoiled corner of the west coast with exceptionally good food and attentive staff who always go the extra mile. Many Many Thanks for a great stay

Susan and Keith. Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Came ashore from our boat, moored to a boat off the hotel, on a wet evening to enjoy a warm welcome and eat delicious food, which was very well presented. The service was very attentive and we were made to feel most welcome. The fish was delicious and my wife and I had to share the yummy date and toffee pudding. A delightful evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed several times at this wonderful hotel and our recent stay was just as good as ever. The rooms are extremely well-appointed and scrupulously clean. We ate in the dining room each night with its elegant atmosphere and enjoyed the excellent food on offer. The hotel staff were efficient, attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All in all, a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay. John and Judith

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have to say most of the food was out of this world. Fortunately we have very small appetites and prefer quality to quantity so were satisfied even though the delicious morsels were exceptionally miniscule.. Fortunately also, we had ordered a side portion of chips so were able to fill up on a few of these .Again excellent big chunky crispy chips.
The receptionist was very good, but showed us straight to our seats in a noisy pub type room. On the phone we had been offered the choice of a formal dining room. We asked instead to relax and have a pre drink in the lounge which was fine. When we returned to our seats (carrying our own drinks) the room had quieted a little, but it still felt cramped. We had to ask twice for water. The one choice of bread roll (white) was served cold and had a very doughy texture.I don't think they can really justify their very high prices until they attend to these few important details and serve very slightly larger portion sizes.We were non residents so cannot comment on rooms etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank satellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you thought our food was "out of this world", but sorry to read that your expectations were not fully met regarding portion size and ambiance. I am very surprised as your comments are completely out of character with our establishment. After a total refurbishment in January 2013, our Brasserie has met with resounding acclaim for both the ambiance and it's "New England" style decor, with never a complaint about portion sizes being small; quite the contrary in fact. I regret we were unable to offer you a table in our restaurant on this occasion, sadly it was fully booked over an extremely busy Easter period. I wish you had commented to our staff at the time however, since we may well have been able to offer you a restaurant table, after a short wait with an aperitif by the fire.
Thank you nevertheless for taking the time to review us and we do hope your experience will not prevent you returning again soon when I hope that we can offer you our best table in our lovely loch view Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
166 reviews
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
530 reviews
12.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
904 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range: £159 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing