We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barmy spring evening, sublime Kilcamb Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First, the Kilcamb itself is a pure gem. The service, rooms and food are exceptional. The location is breathtaking.

If that's not enough to book this into your plans, there's more! If staying, visiting, passing by or whatever you MUST experience dinner in the dining room. Superlatives can not reach the praise the whole dining team deserve. Spellbinding dishes prepared by a chef who cares using perfect ingredients. A great wine list as well and all served by a delightful and knowledgable girl who shames any maitre d' I've come across.

Business, couples, family, friends, solo or outer space, get here and enjoy life!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirelesskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relation at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you very much for your incredible comments and for taking the time to review us. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay and we will pass on your praise to the whole of the Kilcamb team. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I loved staying at this hotel. It is very beautifully situated near a large loch. It is a quiet place with a lot of space. The hotel is beautiful, our room was absolutely beautiful and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. At first we doubted whether it would be a good choice to have 'half boarding', but it is absolutely a 'must'. Dinner is absolutely delicious! The hotel is an ideal location to discover the rest of the peninsula. Kilcamb lodge was an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on a returning trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great quiet location overlooking the Loch with comfortable rooms but the restaurant as the highlight. Excellent service and food in a Highland location that allows access to the wonders of the Ardnamurchan peninsula ...... and a good stepping stone for Skye and the west coast generally.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. We are very proud of our restaurant and feel privileged to be located here, so it is always nice to hear that our customers appreciate this also. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed ay Kingairloch Highland Estate and traveled to Kilcamb Lodge for lunch in the new brasserie. Food was exceptional! Best fish and chips I have ever had. We loved it so much that we visited twice for lunch in the same week.

Highly recommend this hotel for lunch or dinner. Also Strontian for the lovely woodland walks and views!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your lunch, and are always happy to welcome returning guests! We hope that if you come to stay in Strontian again, you come in and say hi :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tucked away with an extensive frontage on Loch Sunart, this is a very special country house hotel. Service was "just right" from arrival to departure - friendly, helpful but not at all overbearing. The half board arrangement works really well, from pre-dinner nibbles in the lounge to coffee in the elegant drawing room. The food itself is beautifully prepared and presented - the main challenge is to select from a most attractive menu. We stayed two nights and the menu was the same, so perhaps over a longer stay it wouldn't have felt so innovative?

Our room was stylish and comfortable, well equipped and the bright bathroom lighting was most welcome - so often it's too dim to see things properly. The only snag was our room (No 3) was adjacent to the kitchen extraction system, so there was a constant hum. We asked to change rooms but only a premium cost suite was available the first night. The hotel were prepared to change us for the second night, but with the system turned off overnight, we decided to stay in Room 3. WiFi in the room was a bit hit and miss.

Ardnamurchan is a remote, interesting area in a bit of a "get away from it all" style. Kilcamb Lodge is an excellent base, offering fine rooms and fine dining (and wining!) in a caring, yet relaxing style.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are extremely proud of our menu and always love to hear that guests appreciate our food.
I am sorry to hear that you were initially unhappy with your room, however, where possible, we are always happy to change your rooms, although we are glad you were enjoyed the second night.

We are very grateful for your comments and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but would love to have stayed longer.

We were with friends and family and received excellent service in a beautiful hotel in a lovely location.

We will certainly visit again and stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryRiches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in room 7 for one night (double room overlooking the loch) and we had a very comfortable stay.


Beautiful setting, peaceful and warm staff. We also took a full board including three course dinner and breakfast.

The dinner was very good, as well as the service in the intimate dining room.


Thoroughly recommended for a cosy, romantic getaway in the Scottish countryside.


I would imagine it being equally cosy on a cold winters day with a log fire burning in the drawing room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
170 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
909 reviews
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
531 reviews
20.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range: £159 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing