We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely out of the way inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely out of the way inn”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a lovely place to stay for a quiet night in western Scotland. Most importantly, they boast a top-class dining facility. We had a truly terrific dinner, based on seafood but w/lots more. Staff were friendly and we had a nice chat w/the owners.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taconic26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Kilcamb Lodge.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
With best wishes from all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    52
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
54
365
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay at Kilcamb. Very friendly welcome to my husband, the dog and me. Enjoyed afternoon tea outdoors with amazing views. Dinner is flawless. Beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. Waiting staff were as attentive as you would like without being pushy. Enjoyed breakfast outdoors on our last morning which was served to perfection.
Amazing grounds which our dog thoroughly enjoyed exploring. Very tranquil location in stunning scenery.
Highly recommended!


Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank loudonsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcambfoxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
What a lovely review and thank you so much for all your comments.
We are so pleased that you and your dog enjoyed our hotel and grounds
As well as our outside dining area. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enjoyed a restful 3night stay. Peaceful location, peaceful hotel. Staff were very friendly and paid us just the right amount of attention. Food was superb and our room was very comfortable. We loved it here and look forward to returning :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very glad you got the peaceful stay you were looking for, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. We found the atmosphere very friendly and welcoming, the staff very professional. We loved our rooms, and so did our dogs who were made welcome. The dogs and we all adored the setting, close by of the grounds and further afield of the local area. We had some lovely walks.
The food was mouthwatering and catered well for vegetarians with our own menu.
This was as a country hotel should be and we most definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. We are always happy to welcome dogs into our hotel, and are glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Kilcamb Lodge just gets better and better. This was our third stay and it is simply one of the best hotel experiences ever. The scenery is breathtaking - as the light changes over the loch during the early evening it is so beautiful. The welcome is wonderful, especially after a long drive. The homemade shortbread in the bedroom is just the pep-up you need to keep you going until dinner. This was the third room we'd stayed in, and it was just lovely - a small sitting area, big windows onto the loch and a lovely bathroom (room 5). Very comfortable bed and lovely linen. And then there's the food - just an unbelievably high standard. Hake poached in coconut was a highlight. Breakfast too was excellent - proper freshly squeezed juice, homemade granola, sausages cooked to perfection, gorgeous homemade marmalade and jam. The staff are very friendly and professional - just the right level of attention with lots of smiles. Full marks and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 5 has great loch view and lovely bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BargeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are always happy to welcome returning guests and are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Back at Kilcamb Lodge, this time with family who love seafood. They declared their dishes the best they had enjoyed in years and you can't say better than that. The other meals were excellent and they were flexible about creating and serving the meal for our granddaughter. When she went outside and tripped, banging her head, the staff were again great. Instant ice pack and lollies of their own and she was happy again in short order. Good hotels and restaurants are about so much more than the bed or the meals. Service is paramount and they know how to deliver it here! And the view... it's to die for!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Guest Relations Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your wonderful comments. We always like to take care of our guests, and ensure they have the best experience with us! We feel very privileged to be located where we are, and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June and really enjoyed the hotel. The food is the real highlight as the hotel is quite remote and yet the food is such a high standard. We stayed in a loch view roomand the view is superb. if you want to pay the extra i would recommend it. It is important to know that this is a very small quiet hotel and the guests seemed quiet too, i almost found myself whispering. This is not a bad thing, in fact it made the stay very peaceful but don't expect the usual buz of a hotel. i do have one criticism however. I felt that for the price, the quality of the mattress and pillows was not to my expectation. The pillows were very lumpy, whereas i would have expected them to be really top quality. A small but important point. Otherwise the room was lovely and the WiFi worked! Something i have noticed in many hotels with advertised WiFi, is often not the case.

Room Tip: Loch View rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyannaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcambfoxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely and positive review of your stay with us in June.
It is always great to hear reports from happy guests who have stayed with us and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I am very sorry that your bed and pillows did not meet your expectation.
We regularly replace beds to ensure that they are up to standard so I will do just that with the bed you slept in and it will be immediately replaced if needed. Pillows too are soft duck down and feather or composite man made (for guests who cannot tolerate feathers.) The man made pillows are firmer than feather. I wish you had said something during your stay as these things can easily and willingly be corrected in a moment. However, I am very sorry if this marred an otherwise enjoyable stay.
The hotel can be very quiet at times and at other times quite lively, it all depends on the number any type of guest we have staying at the time. As you rightly recognise however, the true essence of Kilcamb is the peace and tranquility it exudes, which is largely due to its wonderfully peaceful and serene location which many or our regular guests return time and again to escape the hectic pace of modern life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
299 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
188 reviews
12.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing