We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A complete gem. .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A complete gem. .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Just spent a blissful 2 days at this gem of a place tucked away on the Ardnamurchan peninsula. ...what an utter joy! Room was fabulous. ..food was fabulous and the attentive staff were outstanding. ..nothing was too much trouble. ...contrary to many country house hotels, the atmosphere was decidedly unstuffy and meant we relaxed completely. ...can't wait for our return Twixmas visit!

Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    51
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
50
359
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here numerous times and even got married here but last time we were here the manager had left and Anne was manageress and we actually thought the place was not as good as it used to be.
We even got our friends from Wick to get married here, we were married under the tree 6 years ago on the 5th November and they were married out at the anchor, we traveled up to their wedding in July 2011, I don't think we have been back since, sad but I'm not sure.
We thought the place wasn't anywhere near as good as when we first went, and rumour was it was up for sale.. But going by recent reviews it seems as if it's picked up again... Anne the German lass was a credit to the place, she took our wedding photos, bless her.
We even stayed with 3 chihuahuas in a room at the front on the right as you look at the place.
The menu wasn't as good as when we first stayed there, that I do remember well, anyway just thought I leave a we review and maybe someday I will return, if only to find the note I left in the old tree out the front

Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxs, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. As you have observed, our Trip Advisor rating is very high and I think you will find that whatever your feelings and passed experiences, the Lodgehas moved on a pace since your last visit and has entered a new and exciting era.
After much re-investment over the past three years, we have transformed the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms after refurbishments, installed a new Brasserie to compliment our existing restaurant and also have a new manager and assistant manager who have breathed new life into the hotel and its operations. Our highly acclaimed head chef has been with us since 2011 and has also re-vamped our menus with more choice and flair than ever before. Our reviews speak for themselves... We also have exciting new plans for the coming year including a lovely vintage boat for our guests enjoyment and also a delightful 2 bed self catering cottage.

With more refurbishments taking place this January, I think perhaps you should come and see for yourself and we can help you re-kindle those romantic wedding memories on one of our lovely romantic breaks. Perhaps that secret note you left is still there in the old Lime Tree where you said your wedding vows? We would really love to see you again as well!

Kindest regards
Sally & David Fox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2015

Very Nice hotel, wonderful welcome, super food. Dog friendly.
Food was very good. Dog friendly rooms are separated from normal folk so as not to disturb them.
Very enjoyable and super if you have a dog or children.
Those without seemed to be having a very nice time too. I remember those days.

Stayed July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbenettonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2015

Lovely location, and super hospitality from the owners and the staff alike!
Rooms comfortable and dog friendly too.
Bistro and restaurant both fantastic and we were waited on by excellent youngsters who really made our stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have pleasing views but try to get Loch View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2015

We held our small wedding here this weekend. From start to finish we were overwhelmed with the beauty of the location, the stunning hotel and the exceptional attention to detail and amazing enthusiasm from staff.
From the moment we arrived Paul and his team welcomed us and made us feel very relaxed and at home. All aspects of our wedding were taken care of so we could just relax with family. We had an itinerary for the weekend already planned and printed for each room. So organised, thanks.
The food was out of this world and service was fantastic.
I could write pages and pages but to summarise. An unforgettable experience and our wedding was made perfect by the staff, stunning rooms with amazing views and attention to detail.
I would certainly recommend a small or large wedding here. The views and location are so romantic and I can't wait to see all the beautiful photos.
Each member of my family and friends had a fantastic time.
Thank you kilcamb lodge xxx

Room Tip: Each room is unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kandis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2015

This is an excellent place to stay and dine. The room was spacious (room 8). The view was the loch. The service was extemely friendly and efficient. The food was limited but excellently prepared. It is in a remote location but accessible by ferry. Walking the grounds and the lock shore was very relaxing and beautiful.

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2015

This lovely small hotel certainly punches above its weight. From the moment you arrive you receive a warm welcome from the manager, Paul, and you feel immediately at home. Our splendid corner bedroom had every facility and when we asked for a tea tray one was delivered promptly with a flask of fresh milk - no cartons here ! The highlights of this hotel are its decor and ambience, the friendliness and professionalism of its staff and, above all, its amazing food. With a daily special list of fish dishes, over and above its comprehensive a la carte menu, you are certainly spoilt for choice. The food is superbly presented, of the highest quality and a credit to the chef and his team. Where else, at breakfast, would you be offered home made Danish pastries as well as porridge with cream and whisky in addition to a very wide range of the usual breakfast dishes containing the very best of local ingredients. Anyone fancying a Scottish hideaway overlooking the loch where you can view the seals basking could not do better than Kilcamb Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
22.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
18.1 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
14.7 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strontian Hotel
The Strontian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Strontian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.6 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Strontian PH36 4HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Romantic Hotel of the year, and one of the Daily Telegraph's top 10 most cosy Highland Hotels; Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant is a small luxury 4 star hotel, perfectly situated on the tranquil shores of Loch Sunart in the Highlands of Scotland. The hotel now has two restaurants; the new and less formal Driftwood Brasserie, or the renowned Restaurant, both offering friendly yet professional service and 2AA Rosette award winning food. This newly appointed 4 star hotel is perfectly situated in its 22 acres of loch side meadow, surrounded by stunning mountain scenery which adds to to the sense of peace and tranquility, hard to find in today's modern world. Local wildlife on the door-step such as otters, eagles red squirrels and pine martens only add to the sense of remote Highland serenity. Kilcamb Lodge Hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcamb Hotel Strontian
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant Strontian, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing