We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Strontian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We booked late and the only room they could give us was the Sunart Suite: the best room in the house for the same price as a normal room. This suite had a separate sitting area with a couch and chaise longue. From here a bay window and another widow looked out over the Loch. In good weather, the view is stunning. I cannot speak for the other rooms, but this one was excellent. The restaurant is a good place to eat with a good menu. Hotel staff were not much in evidence most of the time and were efficient enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    59
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
108
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at The Strontian Hotel whilst having a wonderful weekend of Dru yoga at Summer School. The excellent vegetarian food, attentive staff and accomodation all added to the relaxing experience. Michelle & James are wonderful hosts - nothing being too much trouble. The view over Loch Sunart is stunning, the surrounding area is beautiful for walking and we were spoiled by the summer sunshine.... and few midges! In addition to Dru Scotland having run two retreats in Strontian, Michelle - a qualified yoga teacher- also runs her own yoga retreats from the hotel - so keep an eye out for her next event - you'd be in for a treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifeScotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Small is beautiful. Had a very relaxing weekend from 6-8 July. Accommodation and food excellent and owners offered lots of helpful advice on where to visit. Would happily recommend this hotel and hope to revisit before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as views of Loch Sunart are spectacular and a joy to waken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEEJEANIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnesswood
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I had this as an overnight for a 720 mile cycle tour. So I was most pleased to have a comfortable room in a hotel which was easy to relax in. The food on the adjoining bar was very good and service prompt and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil4993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights here and can't fault anything from arrival to departure. Lovely owners who offered much advise on trips out. We stayed in room 3 which has lounge area and gorgeous views. Very tasty meals and good choices with some meal changes both nights. Hope to make another longer trip to this hotel sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandChris86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A real home-from home of a hotel, in a beautiful, tranquil setting. After carefully researching other accommodation in the area, I chose The Strontian Hotel for our short break away in March 2013. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by cheery, friendly staff. The manageress, Michelle, couldn't have been more helpful or considerate. She explained she had been redecorating one of the rooms in our corridor and offered us a free upgrade to the Master Suite room in case we noticed the paint smell. We viewed both rooms and decided to stay put in the room we'd booked, as the paint wasn't noticeable - and our room had a better loch-view from the bed! Over our four-night stay, we ate in every evening - eating in the less formal Bothy bar until the last night when we were served in the Dining Room. This, in itself, was a departure from the norm, but was at the suggestion of Michelle and her parner, James, out of concern we might otherwise be disturbed in the Bothy Bar... as it was due to be used by the firefighters who'd been on the surrounding hills all day tackling heathland blazes. Every evening we enjoyed coffee by the roaring fire in the residents' lounge. The meals we ate were excellent, as well as filling. The same was true of breakfast. The hotel provided a perfect base for exploring the Ardnamurchan peninsula, as well as the Morvern and other surrounding areas. The accommodation was very comfortable, with a clean, tidy and spacious bedroom. Extra toiletries were readily provided on request, as we'd forgotten to bring some of our own. All in all, we'd highly recommend staying at The Strontian Hotel. Comfortable accommodation; great food; excellent service; stunning local scenery - we even saw a family of otters outside when eating dinner one evening. Michelle and James were great hosts, with nothing too much trouble. The offer of the free room upgrade, and the concern for us the night the fire crew were in, shows how seriously they take guests' comfort. Anyone booking a stay at The Strontian Hotel won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 6 - great view of the loch; and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolag536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Strontian Hotel is in an enviable position overlooking Loch Sunart; a view that can't fail to melt away the stresses of urban dwellers like us. I can't think of many better locations from which to explore the exceptional scenery of this part of Scotland.

We ate here twice (in their 'Bothy Bar') during a recent stay in Strontian. Both times the food was very good - hearty fayre; just what's needed after a day's walking! They were able to accommodate us at short notice despite there being 8 of us on our second visit. The surroundings are homely and welcoming and the hosts are very attentive and clearly care about running the place well. They have some decent real ales which again went down well after a long hike.

We will definitely be back in the future to recharge our batteries!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
9.0 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
76 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
14.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
12.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Property: The Strontian Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing