We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Strontian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Certificate of Excellence
Cornhill-on-Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent two nights here as we needed to get away from it all after a traumatic personal time. We were the only ones in the hotel for the first night and it was just like being at home. Michelle and James were absolutely tremendous hosts, couldn't do enough for us. The food was tremendous, even though the restaurant was technically closed to non-residents. Log fires in the lounge, which made us fall asleep - absolutely fabulous. Thank you Michelle & James
We will be back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flodden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    59
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
108
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed in the Strontian Hotel for business and was very impressed with the excellent customer service and cosy accommodation. I have eaten in the Strontian before and found the food to be incredible quality, and was not disappointed this time, despite the restaurant being technically closed. Sweet potato soup was delicious, and the portion of fish and chips was enormous for the cost.

Will definitely try to stay in the Strontian again!

Room Tip: If you are after a view, try to choose a room facing the Loch side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConundrumFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Second time here,just as good as the first,great food highly recommend the black pudding with the breakfast ,the quiche fish pie and soup all homemade and nice size portion, can't wait to go back, very soon

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acharacle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We are local to the area and ate here for the first time last weekend and were not disapointed! Lovely freshly made food at very good prices and plenty on the plate....what more do you need? Owner came out to meet us and ask if everything was ok which was nice. Lovely warm room and great views. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingarryPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fantastic small cosy hotel. The couple who run it could not do more for you, we were a group of ladies on a cycle trip who were met with great hospitality, very comfortable rooms/loved the big fluffy towels and log fire sitting room and a breakfast that would set anyone up for a long days cycle. Will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Quality of the management and the catering were excellent. Everyone in our party was pleased with their weekend. enthusiasm for Dru Yoga was what brought this group to this beautiful part of the Highlands. It was really worth the long journey and the ferry crossing to get onto the Ardnamurchan peninsula.

Room Tip: Must have a loch-facing room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrontianHotel, Owner at The Strontian Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is always so wonderful to have fellow Dru members stay here with James and I at the hotel and to be able to offer the Hotel as a yoga summer retreat was very special. It was a beautiful weekend. We are glad you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was a great stop on four day trip to Ardnamurchan. Enjoyed the pub and the food. The service outside was friendly and prompt. It was a full house the evening I visited with a mix of locals, boaters, and people like myself passing through. Recommend that you stop here on any trip to Ardnamurchan, even if only for a pint and company. The location above Loch Sunart is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strontian
9.0 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
76 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
872 reviews
14.4 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
139 reviews
12.5 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strontian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strontian Hotel

Property: The Strontian Hotel
Address: Acharacle, Strontian PH36 4HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Strontian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Strontian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a small highland Hotel at the start of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula. It is a beautiful spot in which to explore the wonderful peninsula and its amazing wildlife e.G otters, seals, pine martins, eagles and of course ideal for bird watchers. We have secluded white sandy beaches and beautiful hills to climb, amazing boat trips and fishing opportunities too !We have just six bedrooms with private residents lounge and dining room as well as a small highland bar serving great pub food. The Hotel is open all year except January and we really welcome cyclists, walkers and birdwatchers. We have drying facilities and storage for cycles. We can arm you with maps and suggest beautiful walks and excursions, provide you with packed lunches and cycle hire too. PS Pets are welcome also. Free Wifi in each bedroom and public areas. We are a great place to stop also on your way to the Isle of Mull - the ferry is just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Strontian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Strontian
The Strontian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing