We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Excellent Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenhurich Lodge

Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Glenhurich Lodge with Ben Resipole in the background
The garden at Glenhurich Lodge
Glenhurich Lodge towards Loch Sheil
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room fire
Glenhurich Lodge sitting room
Glenhurich Lodge dining
Glenhurich Lodge kitchen
Landing
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Road into Glenhurich
Glenhurich Lodge and Loch Sheil from Resipole summit
Viewpoint over Loch Shiel
Loch Sheil
Paddle boarding on Loch Doilet
Forestry Road from Lodge to Glenfinnin
Lochan Dhu - The Black Lochan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“An Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

If you want seclusion, peace and quiet in high quality accommodation, then Glenhurich Lodge is an excellent choice. The lodge is stunning and has excellent facilities (although be prepared for more-or-less zero internet access for your stay) - it is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the UK, with fantastic walking, biking and other outdoors activities on your doorstep - and it's just as good to take a load of good food and drink and stay put! Well worth a visit, we will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buna95
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacularly Secluded Getaway”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
4
people found this review helpful

This place is simply superb and deserves all the superlatives that have been thrown at it. The house itself is huge and very welcoming, the center of the house is the fantastic kitchen where we tended to gather. The living room has a roaring fire and is a great evening place to gather, read from the large library or play one of the many board games, there is a TV but we never turned it on, a testament to the house. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms are spacious. The garden is fantastic with a babbling brook and the views around the house are stunning. Gordon provides a multitude of information and suggestions of things to do. He was very responsive on email and wiling to thoroughly answer additional questions. The housekeeper Marilyn is a joy and we loved chatting with her, she gave us some great tips too. The place is definitely remote and there is no cell phone service, but I recommend you embrace that and use it as an opportunity to disconnect completely and enjoy yourself. The walks around Polloch are many and vary in difficulty, so something for everyone. If you have a capable 4x4 you can also explore some of the forestry trails. We booked a boat tour from Polloch pontoon and was not disappointed, we saw white tail eagles and Jim the boat master is very knowledgeable on Loch Schiel. The landscape is breathtaking and we had an incredible time, just sorry we couldn't stay longer. I highly recommend you book this place, we plan to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clan_page...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, beautiful surroundings. We loved it!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Easy to book, great communication from the owner. The house is amazing, plenty of space for all our family. Dog friendly. Perfect for walking in unspoilt surroundings, even a loch nearby for swimming in. Marilyn the house keeper is friendly and helpful. Would definitely return again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant House for 50th celebration weekend”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 12 family and friends gathered here for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. There is so much space and the huge kitchen table was great to gather around. Plenty of outdoor space, we arranged our own Highland Games in the garden on the Saturday before scrubbing up for our formal dinner. We arranged for a private chef to come and cater for us that night. (Highland Kitchen - would highly recommend)
We loved our time at this comfortable and welcoming house, communications before and after were all spot on. Enjoyed a number of walks and just had a great weekend in a lovely large house that seems perfect to enjoy some time together in comfort with family and friends. A much talked about weekend and a place we intend to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudine...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect place to get away from the big city”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Glenhurich Lodge couldn't be set in a more perfect spot. The lodge has been stylishly and tastefully decked out - they really have thought of everything for the most relaxing and fun stay to get away from it all. We have already booked another visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PouletteP...
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Simple but not rustic, elegant accommodations in the Outdor Capital of Scotland”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking to truly get away from it all but not lack for comfort in the process, Glenhurich Lodge is perhaps the perfect solution. I almost hesitate to broaden its appeal: this is the kind of address you are tempted to keep for yourself. The home is spacious (6 bedrooms, a huge dining table, 3 bathrooms, a laundry room, well-equipped kitchen, and a nice-sized entrance hall/mudroom for sitting and removing your wellies or hiking boots. The decor is tasteful and relaxing, with soft colors and warm wood. If there's a bit of a chill to the air, fire up the wood-burning stove and sip a wee dram by the hearth. We preferred to come in a small, quiet group for some outdoor exploration and meals at home, but the house would lend itself well to large groups.
You will certainly want to come prepared for walking and hiking (waterproof shoes! Thick socks! Layers!) because the surrounding countryside is breathtakingly beautiful, even in winter. If for some reason, you tire of the walks off your doorstep, there are myriad possibilities for exploration in the surrounding area and Ardnamurchan.
Do be aware that the location is indeed remote (this was a plus for us), so you must come prepared with sufficient foodstuffs and perhaps a bag of kindling. There is no mobile phone access (but there is a landline) and very limited internet access. There is a store about 1/2 hour away, but while the selection is broad for such a small store, it's more for restocking basics like milk, bread, eggs and a few other things than for stocking major provisions. Do not plan to eat out at restaurants for every meal: it is simply not convenient to do so from here. But wouldn't you rather relax by the fireplace after your meal anyways? A nice cup of hot cocoa and a good book after a full day in the outdoors--followed by a steaming bath in the nice, unusually long bathtub.
Come here to digital detox and step off the treadmill: rediscover board games, discussions, books, fresh air, outdoor exploration, and incredible natural beauty. And then when you return to "civilization", dream of coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeff201...
Staindrop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect highland getaway!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 11, ranging in age from 18 - 53 enjoyed a fabulous week at Glenhurich Lodge. The house is clean, spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Our budget was pretty tight but we managed to find plenty to do without having to use the cars; just as well because one broke down half way through the week! Loch Shiel Garage were excellent and had it back to us very quickly. The walks from the doorstep were wonderful - quite challenging for our younger, inexperienced walkers but we made it to the top of Ben Resipole without too many grumbles! Seeing Golden eagles soaring above us made it very special. We got lost on one occasion, trying to find a beach but found ourselves, once again half way up Ben Resipole, this time on the other side which was breathtakingly beautiful! We bbq'd by the Loch, drank lots of beer, played table tennis and did quizzes in the evening with the stove lit. The isolation was perfect for us - even the teenage 'townies' enjoyed their highland retreat and willingly joined the walking expedition over the hills to Strontian and back to do the shopping! A perfect week...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and remoteness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing